Sheffield Genealogical Records
Sheffield Birth & Baptism Records
An index to births registered throughout England & Wales. Provides a reference to order copies of birth certificates from the national registrar of births, marriages and deaths – the General Register Office.
Transcriptions of registers recording baptisms. Records may include parent's names, date of baptism, date of birth, place of residence and father's occupation.
A searchable database containing transcriptions of the baptism registers of Sheffield. These records may help trace a family as far back as 1687.
A name index linked to images of birth and baptism registers from West Yorkshire non-conformist churches. These records document the birth or baptism of over 275,000 people.
Transcriptions of registers recording over 110,000 baptisms from several churches. Records may include parent's names, date of baptism, date of birth, place of residence and father's occupation.
Sheffield Marriage & Divorce Records
An index to marriages registered throughout England & Wales. This is the only national marriage index that allows you to search by both spouse's names. Provides a reference to order copies of marriage certificates from the national registrar of births, marriages and deaths – the General Register Office.
Transcriptions of registers recording baptisms. Records may include parent's names, date of baptism, date of birth, place of residence and father's occupation.
Transcriptions of registers recording over 24,000 marriages. Records may include the bride and groom's: names, their marital status, their place of residence and other details.
A searchable transcript of marriages from the parish registers of Sheffield. They may list residence, marital status, witnesses and more.
A name index linked to images of marriage registers from West Yorkshire non-conformist churches. These records document the marriage of over 250,000 people.
Sheffield Death & Burial Records
An index to deaths registered throughout England & Wales. Provides a reference to order copies of death certificates from the national registrar of births, marriages and deaths – the General Register Office.
Transcriptions of registers recording over 31,000 burials. Records may include deceased's name, date of burial, date of death, place of residence, age and names of relations.
A searchable transcript of burials recorded at Sheffield. These records essentially record deaths in and around Sheffield between 1653 and 1719. Details may include the age of the deceased, their residence and name of relations.
A name index linked to images of burial registers from West Yorkshire non-conformist churches. These records document the death and burial of over 170,000 people.
A searchable transcript of Sheffield burial registers. They may list the age of the deceased, their residence and name of relations.
Sheffield Church Records
A name index linked to images of birth and baptism registers from West Yorkshire non-conformist churches. These records document the birth or baptism of over 275,000 people.
The primary source of documentation for baptisms, marriages and burials before 1837, though extremely useful to the present. Their records can assist tracing a family back numerous generations.
Documentation for those baptised, married and buried at Sheffield. Parish registers can assist tracing a family as far back as 1558.
Tens of thousands of entries from non-conformist records detailing churches' membership. Records can include details such as date & place of birth, residence, familial relations and occupations. Records are indexed by name and connected to original images.
The parish registers of Sheffield provide details of births, marriages and deaths from 1560 to 1752. Parish registers can assist tracing a family back numerous generations.
Sheffield Census & Population Lists
The 1911 census provides details on an individual's age, residence, place of birth, relations and occupation. FindMyPast's index allows searches on for multiple metrics including occupation and residence.
Transcription of a rare survival of the 1831 census, covering the township of Nether Hallam in Sheffield.
Sheffield Wills & Probate Records
Searchable index and original images of over 12.5 million probates and administrations granted by civil registries. Entries usually include the testator's name, date of death, date of probate and registry. Names of relations may be given.
An index to wills, proved by the Derby Probate Registry. Index includes name, residence and year of probate. Contains entries for Yorkshire, Cheshire, Lancashire, Staffordshire, Leicestershire, Nottinghamshire and other counties.
Transcripts of several hundred wills, contains an index to people named within.
A index to testators whose will was proved in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury. They principally cover those who lived in the lower two thirds of Britain, but contain wills for residents of Scotland, Ireland, British India and other countries. A copy of each will may be purchased for digital download.
An index and digital images of PCC wills, available on a subscription basis.
Newspapers Covering Sheffield
A database allowing full text searches of a newspaper covering local news, family announcements, obituaries, court proceedings, business notices and more in the Sheffield area.
This fully searchable newspaper will provide a rich variety of information about the people and places of the Sheffield district. Includes family announcements.
A searchable newspaper providing a rich variety of information about the people and places of the Sheffield district. Includes obituaries and family announcements.
This fully searchable newspaper will provide a rich variety of information about the people and places of the Yorkshire district. Includes family announcements.
Britain's most popular provincial newspaper, covering local & national news, family announcements, government & local proceedings and more.
The UKs largest repository of obituaries, containing millions of searchable notices.
A growing collection currently containing over 425,000 abstracts of obituaries with reference to the location of the full obituary.
A collection of 364 obituaries of Quakers from the British Isles. The volume was published in 1849 and includes obituaries of those who died in late 1847 through 1848.
This transcribed and searchable work by Sir William Musgrave contains 10,000s of brief obituaries. The work is a reference point for other works containing information on an individual.
An index to burials at Woodhouse, Revill Lane Municipal Cemetery, Sheffield. The index includes the name of the deceased, the date of their death or burial and their age.
An index to burials at Attercliffe Municipal Cemetery, Sheffield. The index includes the name of the deceased, the date of their death or burial and their age.
An index to burials at Tinsley, Park Municipal Cemetery, Sheffield. The index includes the name of the deceased, the date of their death or burial and their age.
An index to burials at Darnall Municipal Cemetery, Sheffield. The index includes the name of the deceased, the date of their death or burial and their age.
Sheffield Directories & Gazetteers
A comprehensive gazetteer of the district; to which are appended lists of their residents, trades and occupations.
A comprehensive place-by-place gazetteer, listing key historical and contemporary facts. Contains details on local schools, churches, government and other institutions. Also contains a list of residents and businesses for each place.
A comprehensive gazetteer of the district; to which are appended lists of their residents, trades and occupations.
A comprehensive gazetteer of the district; to which are appended lists of their residents, trades and occupations.
A directory of residents and businesses; with a description of each settlement, containing details on its history, public institutions, churches, postal services, governance and more.
Sheffield Court & Legal Records
Records of over 300,000 prisoners held by quarter sessions in England & Wales. Records may contain age, occupation, criminal history, offence and trial proceedings.
Over 175,000 records detailing prisoner's alleged offences and the outcome of their trial. Contains genealogical information.
From the late 18th century many prisoners in Britain were kept on decommissioned ships known as hulks. This collection contains nearly 50 years of registers for various ships. Details given include: prisoner's name, date received, age, year of birth and conviction details.
This collection lists brief details on 1.55 million criminal cases in England and Wales between 1791 and 1892. Its primary use is to locate specific legal records, which may give further details on the crime and the accused. Details may include the accused's age, nature of crime, location of trial and sentence. Early records can contain a place of birth.
Sheffield Taxation Records
A transcription of the Lincolnshire section of the Domesday Book, which records land ownership, use and value in the late 11th century; and similar survey completed in 1118.
This vital collection details almost 1.2 million properties eligible for land tax. Records include the name of the landowner, occupier, amount assessed and sometimes the name and/or description of the property. It is a useful starting point for locating relevant estate records and establishing the succession of tenancies and freehold. Most records cover 1798, but some extend up to 1811.
Sheffield Land & Property Records
A transcription of the Lincolnshire section of the Domesday Book, which records land ownership, use and value in the late 11th century; and similar survey completed in 1118.
This vital collection details almost 1.2 million properties eligible for land tax. Records include the name of the landowner, occupier, amount assessed and sometimes the name and/or description of the property. It is a useful starting point for locating relevant estate records and establishing the succession of tenancies and freehold. Most records cover 1798, but some extend up to 1811.
Sheffield Occupation & Business Records
Profiles of collieries in the north of England, with employment statistics, profiles of those who died in the mines and photographs.
Reports of mining distastes, includes lists of the deceased and photographs of monuments.
An introduction to smuggling on the east coast of England, with details of the act in various regions.
A searchable book detailing the Yorkshire Rugby Football Union around the time of the Great War. Contains the names of many players and other persons associated with the sport.
Sheffield School & Education Records
A name index linked to original images of registers recording the education and careers of teachers in England & Wales.
A name index linked to original images of short biographies for over 120,000 Oxford University students. This is a particularly useful source for tracing the ancestry of the landed gentry.
A transcript of a vast scholarly work briefly chronicling the heritage, education and careers of over 150,000 Cambridge University students. This is a particularly useful source for tracing the ancestry of the landed gentry.
A searchable database containing over 90,000 note-form biographies for students of Cambridge University.
Pedigrees & Family Trees Covering Sheffield
A searchable database of linked genealogies compiled from thousands of reputable and not-so-reputable sources. Contains many details on European gentry & nobility, but covers many countries outside Europe and people from all walks of life.
Over 600 pedigrees for English and Welsh families who had a right to bear a coat of arms.
A compilation of lineage-linked family trees submitted by Ancestry users. The database contains over 2 billion individuals and is searchable by numerous metrics.
Sheffield Royalty, Nobility & Heraldry Records
Pedigrees compiled from a late 16th century heraldic visitation of Yorkshire. This work records the lineage, descendants and marriages of families who had a right to bear a coat of arms.
Pedigrees compiled from a early 17th century heraldic visitation of Yorkshire. This work records the lineage, descendants and marriages of families who had a right to bear a coat of arms.
Sheffield Military Records
Three books detailing the unit's history from the period before and during WWI. Also contains a list of members, with dates of service and a roll of honours and awards.
An inventory of memorials commemorating those who served and died in military conflicts.
Lists of officers by rank, regiment and name.
Biographies of hundreds of men who served as officers in The Green Howards, an infant regiment in the King's Division. Details given include parentage, date of birth, military career and later professional career.
Sheffield Immigration & Travel Records
A name index connected to original images of passenger lists recording people travelling from Britain to destinations outside Europe. Records may detail a passenger's age or date of birth, residence, occupation, destination and more.
A full index of passenger lists for vessels arriving in the UK linked to original images. Does not include lists from vessels sailing from European ports. Early entries can be brief, but later entries may include dates of births, occupations, home addresses and more. Useful for documenting immigration.
Details on over 600,000 non-British citizens arriving in England. Often includes age and professions. Useful for discerning the origin of immigrants.
Details on thousands of 17th century British immigrants to the U.S., detailing their origins and nature of their immigration.
A list of over 40,000 passengers traveling from North America to the British Isles. Details of passengers may include: occupation, nationality, gender, age, martial status, class, destination, and details of the vessel they sailed on.
Sheffield Histories & Books
Biographical Directories Covering Sheffield
A listing of the prominent residents of the county of Yorkshire, giving details on family, education, careers, hobbies, associations and more. Also includes details on the county's government officials, military officers, members of parliament, religious leaders and demographics.
Biographies of hundreds of men who served as officers in The Green Howards, an infant regiment in the King's Division. Details given include parentage, date of birth, military career and later professional career.
A name index linked to original images of short biographies for over 120,000 Oxford University students. This is a particularly useful source for tracing the ancestry of the landed gentry.
A transcript of a vast scholarly work briefly chronicling the heritage, education and careers of over 150,000 Cambridge University students. This is a particularly useful source for tracing the ancestry of the landed gentry.
A number of maps of northern England with the locations of collieries plotted.
Maps showing settlements, features and some buildings in mainland Britain.
A sprawling website setting out and describing the historical divisions of Britain. Also contains countless maps of various sorts. Covers the UK, Ireland, Isle of Man & has fleeting details of other localities.
High-quality digital reproductions of maps plotting, settlements, roads, natural features and other features in England & Wales.
Sheffield Reference Works
Compiled in 1831, this book details the coverage and condition of parish registers in England & Wales.
A comprehensive guide to researching the history of buildings in the British Isles.
A service that provides advanced and custom surname maps for the British Isles and the US.
A dictionary of around 9,000 mottoes for British families who had right to bear arms.
Civil & Ecclesiastical Jurisdiction:
Sheffield is pleasantly situated upon an eminence, at the confluence of the rivers Sheaf and Don, over each of which is a stone-bridge. That over the Don is called Lady’s bridge, consisting of three arches; and leads to Barnsley, to the north, to Rotherham to the northeast; supposed to be so named from a religious house, which anciently stood near it, and was dedicated to the Virgin Mary, which was afterwards converted into almshouses for poor widows; but when the bridge was widened, in 1768, these houses were pulled down. It was erected originally in 1485, for one hundred marks; the town finding all the materials. The bridge over the Sheaf was rebuilt by Edward, Duke of Norfolk, in 1769, consisting of one arch, and leads to Sheffield-park, Hansworth, Woodhouse, &c. to the east.
The extent of the town from east to west, and from north to south, is nearly a mile.
In the northeast part of the town, where the two rivers meet, there was formerly a strong castle of a triangular form, defended on two sides by the rivers Don and Sheaf; having a strong breastwork before the gates, which were palisaded, with a trench twelve feet deep, and eighteen feet wide, full of water, and a wall round five yards thick. This castle, with the lordship of Sheffield, was granted to Thomas, Lord Fournyvale, 39 Edward III., to be held by homage and knight’s service, and the payment to the king and his heirs, of two white hares yearly, on the feast of St. John the Baptist.
It was surrendered, upon articles of capitulation, to the parliament forces, by Gabriel Hemsworth, Samuel Savile, and Thomas Robson, commissioners authorized by the Governor, Major Beaumont, August 10, 1644, and was afterwards demolished; so that there is but little of it remaining at present, to note its former site, except that the streets and places thereabouts still retain the names of the Castle-hill, Castle-ditch, Castle-fold, Castle-green, &c.
The corporation here relates only to the manufactory, and is styled "The Company of Cutlers of Hallamshire," incorporated by act of parliament in 1625. It is governed by a master, two wardens, six searchers, and twenty-four assistants.
As a certain portion of ground, or tenements in the town, belongs to the freeholders at large, so seven of them (four of the established church, and the other three dissenters) are appointed, under the title of town collectors, to grant leases, receive rents, and apply the produce of the estate to public uses, such as lighting the streets, &c.
Here are four churches, viz. Trinity Church, St. Paul's, St. James’s, and the chapel belonging to the Duke of Norfolk's Hospital. Trinity Church, formerly called St. Peter’s, which stands near the centre of the town, was erected about the year 1100. It is a vicarage, and did in former times belong to the priory of Worksop, in Nottinghamshire. The vicar’s income chiefly depends upon the small tithes, Easter-dues, and fees for marriages, churchings, and burials, the glebe being but small, though improved latterly. The vicar has three assistant ministers, who were first appointed, and a donation of land made for their support, and other purposes, by Queen Mary, in 1553. They are elected by twelve capital burgesses, as they are styled, who are trustees for the donation. The church is a Gothic structure, with a handsome spire in the centre, has eight very tuneable bells, and a set of chimes made in 1773. In consists of a nave, two side aisles, and a large chancel. On the north side of the communion table are the vestry and library, over which is a room where the burgesses before-mentioned transact business. Here are interred three earls of Shrewsbury, and Judge Jessop, one of the nine judges of Chester, and his lady, of Broomhall, near this town.
St. Paul’s church is an elegant modern structure, in the Grecian style. It was begun to be erected in 1720, being founded through the benefaction of 1000l. from Mr. Robert Downes, a silversmith in this town, together with the subscriptions of several other gentlemen in the town and neighbourhood. It was finished in 1771. It has a tower at the west end, with a bell and clock, presented by Francis Sitwell, Esq. Within is a good organ, erected in 1755, and the galleries are supported by two rows of Corinthian pillars. It is a chapel of ease to Trinity church.
St. James’s is a handsome modern building, erectcd by subscription, upon the glebe land belonging to the vicarage, according to an act of parliament passed in 1788, and was consecrated the 5th of August, 1789.
The chapel at the Duke of Norfolk’s hospital, rebuilt in 1777, is of an octagon form; and was principally designed for the use of pensioners, who have daily prayers performed here. It is calculated to contain a large congregation, but its construction is unfavourable to the hearers.
There are seven different meetinghouses, and one for Quakers, besides a Romish chapel.
On the eastern side of the river Sheaf, near the bridge, is an hospital, erected in 1670, by Henry Earl of Norwich, great grandson of Gilbert, Earl of Shrewsbury, in pursuance of his last will and testament, and endowed with divers estates. March 3, 1770, Edward Duke of Norfolk gave by deed 1000l. for the augmentation of the funds of the said hospital, which sum was applied by the trustees towards building a new chapel on the site of the old one. This hospital maintains 15 men, and 15 women, aged, decayed housekeepers, for each of whom is provided a house and garden, with a pension of five shillings per week, besides clothes and coals. The other hospital was founded in 1703, by Mr. Thomas Hollis, a merchant in London, for the benefit of 16 poor cutlers’ widows. They have each a separate habitation, and 6l. 10s. a year, which is paid in measure quarterly, two cart loads of coals annually, and a brown gown and petticoat every second year. Upon the same foundation 4l. a quarter is paid to a master for teaching 40 boys to read; and 5l. per annum to a writing master for instructing a number of boys during three or four of the summer months.
At the northwest corner of Trinity churchyard, is the Charity School for poor boys, instituted in 1708, and supported by annual subscription.
At the opposite corner of the same churchyard, there is another Charity School, for clothing, feeding, and instructing poor girls, erected in 1786. They are admitted at the age of seven, and continue till they are fourteen or fifteen, at the option of the trustees, after which age they are hired out to proper places. This charity is also supported by annual subscriptions.
West from hence is a Free Grammar-School, the patent for which was granted by James I. It has a head master (who must be a graduate in one of the universities), and an usher. The head master has a good house adjoining to the school.
About half a mile west from the town, on 4th September, 1793, was laid the first stone for an infirmary; towards which near 17,000l. had been then subscribed.
In 1762 was erected, on the southeast part of the town, in Norfolk-street, an assembly-room and a theatre, by the joint subscription of about 30 gentlemen of the town. The theatre has been since pulled down, and built upon a larger plan.
On the south side of Trinity churchyard, is the Cutlers’ Hall, where business relative to the corporation is transacted, erected in 1726.
At the southeast corner of Trinity churchyard is the Town Hall, built in 1700, where the town affairs are settled, and the sessions held.
On August 31, 1786, a new marketplace was opened, containing extensive and commodious shambles, and other conveniences, erected by the Duke of Norfolk.
The population of Sheffield in 1811, amounted to 35,840 persons, and the houses 7652. The markets are held on Tuesdays and Saturdays: the fish-markets on Monday and Thursday are well supplied from the eastern coast.
It appears from the town-seal, and other circumstances, that Sheffield has been a staple for iron manufactures from the year 1297, especially for falchion heads, arrow piles, and an ordinary sort of knives, called whittles; but in process of time, other articles of more importance being invented, the cutlery trade was pursued in the town and neighbourhood, consisting of the manufacture of sheers, knives, scissars, scythes, and sickles, &c. About the year 1600, began to be manufactured an ordinary sort of iron tobacco boxes, and a musical instrument called a Jew's trump. In 1638 files and razors began to be made. In 1640 clasp or spring knives began to be manufactured, with iron handles, which, in a short time were covered with horn, bone, tortoiseshell, &c. still, however, it appears, that, for near a century succeeding, the Sheffield manufactures discovered more of industry than ingenuity: the workmen durst not exert their abilities in labour for fear of being overstocked with goods. Their trade was inconsiderable, confined, and precarious. None presumed to extend their traffic beyond the bounds of this island; and most were content to wait the coming of a casual trader, rather than to carry their goods, with much labour and expence, to an uncertain market. The produce of the manufactory used to be carried weekly by pack-horses to the metropolis. About sixty years ago, Mr. Joseph Broadbent first opened an immediate trade with the continent; and the river Don being made navigable up to within three miles to the town in 1751, greatly facilitated the conveyance of goods abroad. Master manufacturers began to visit London in search of orders with good success. Several factors now established a correspondence with various parts of the continent, and engaged foreigners as clerks in their counting-houses. The roads began to be improved, and Britain and Ireland were thoroughly explored in search of trade. The fairs in different parts of the kingdom annually decreased in their importance, because shopkeepers could be easily supplied with goods at any time of the year. Buttons of plated metal had been made by Mr. J. Bolsover for a considerable time; but about 1758 a manufactory of this material was begun by Mr. Joseph Hancock, an ingenious mechanic, comprehending a great variety of articles, such as saucepans, tea-urns, coffee-pots, cups, tankards, candlesticks, &c. &c. Since that time, this branch has been pursued by numerous companies, which has greatly contributed to the wealth and population of the town.
The cutlers’ and smiths’ manufactures are encouraged and advanced by the neighbouring mines of iron, particularly for files, and knives, or whittles, and it is reputed to excel Birmingham in these wares, as that does this town in locks, hinges, nails, and polished steel. The first mills in England for turning grindstones were also set up here. Many of the houses here look black from the continual smoke of the forges. Here are about six hundred master cutlers, incorporated by the style of the Cutlers of Hallamshire, (of which this is reckoned the chief town), who have employed not less than forty thousand persons in the iron manufactures, and each of the masters gives a particular stamp to his wares. The act for the establishment of this company was passed in 1625, and an amendment made in 1791. It is governed by a master, two wardens, six searchers, and twenty-four assistants. The master is elected annually on the last Thursday in August, after having passed through the inferior offices.
The river Don, which being joined with the Sheaf, runs hence to Rotherham, is navigable at about three miles distant from Sheffield: and from thence to and above the town, great number of works are erected upon it for forging, slitting, and preparing the iron and steel for the Sheffield manufactures, and for grinding knives, scissors, sheers, &c.
The rising ground on every side of Sheffield is covered with plantations, and it has the advantage of Leeds in clean streets, as also in the appearance of the neighbouring country.
Sheffield Manor-house, about a mile distant to the east, is mostly in ruins, except that one part of it which has been converted into a farmhouse, and other parts have been made into dwellings for poor people, one large turret of the original building being now only left standing; this was formerly the seat of the Earls of Shrewsbury. Here Cardinal Wolsey was taken ill, in his way to London, and died at Leicester; and here Mary Queen of Scots was for some time kept prisoner.
The environs of Sheffield are finely romantic; the eminence on which the town stands is surrounded by hills of much greater height, making it appear as if situated in a valley.
A large portion of sandy soil in Sheffield-park, in the summer of 1820, engaged a number of labourers in its cultivation by spade-husbandry; a laudable mode of employing the poor, which had been previously adopted at Birmingham.
The parish of Sheffield extends about nine miles from northeast to southwest, and about five miles from north to south, and about six from east to west. It has two chapels of ease under Trinity church, viz. Attercliffe, one mile and a half northeast, and Eccleshall, three miles southwest from the town.— Topography of Great Britain, written: 1802-29 by George Alexander Cooke
SHEFFIELD the great seat of cutlery, plated wares and other hardware, iron and steel manufactures, is a large and populous market town, municipal and parliamentary borough, and polling place for the Southern division of the Riding, in the unions of Sheffield and Ecclesall Bierlow, Southern or upper division of the wapentake of Strafforth and Tickhill, rural deanery of Sheffield, archdeaconry and diocese of York, and in the ancient liberty of Hallamshire. It is the seat of county and bankruptcy courts and of quarter sessions, forms part of the North Eastern circuit, and is the second largest town in the county of York, being inferior only to Leeds.
This borough returns two members to Parliament, and consists of nine wards, governed by a Town Council, consisting of a major, 14 aldermen, and 42 councillors, a magistrates’ meeting being held every day.
Sheffield is situated at the junction of the sheaf with the river Don, and is near the confluence of the Porter, the Rivelin, the Loxley and other streams, which supply the neighbouring mills and forges: it occupies part of the hilly ground on the eastern side of the Pennine chain, in latitude 53° 23' north and 1° 29' west, and is distant from London 162 ½ miles by the Great Northern railway and 175 ¾ by the Midland; from Aberdeen 313 ½, Alnwick 174 ½, Abingdon 149 ¼, Basingstoke 186 ½, Birmingham 86 ¼, Barnsley 17 ½, Bath 188 ¼, bolton 52, Boston 70 ¾, Berwick 203 ¾, Bradford 42, Brighton 213, Bristol 176 ½, Burton-on-Trent 56, Burslem 75 ¾, Cardiff 195, Carlisle 162, Cheltenham 132 ¼, Chesterfield 20 ¾ by rail and 12 by turnpike road; Darlington 97 ¾, Derby 45, Dorchester 279, Doncaster 19, Dudley 85 ½, Durham 119 ¾, Dundee 312 ¼, Edinburgh 262 ¾, Exeter 252 ¼, Gainsborough 33 ¼, Glasgow 267, Gloucester 139 ¼, Grantham 57 ¼, Great Grimsby 69, Gravesend 212, Hartlepool 112 ¾, Halifax 37 ¼, Hereford 169 ¼, New Holland (Hull) 65 ¾, Hull 76, Huddersfield 26 ¾, Huntingdon 103 ¾, Kendall 112, Lancaster 93, Leamington 109 ½, Leeds 39, Leicester 74 ¼, Lichfield 68 ¼, Lincoln 39, Liverpool 72 ¾, Macclesfield 58 ¾, Maidstone 230, Malton 74 ½, Manchester 41 ¼, Middlesbrough 102 ¾, Milford 310, Morecambe 96, Newark 42 ½, Newcastle-on-Tyne 139 ¾, Normanton 38, Oxford 142, Peterborough 86 ¼, Perth 307 ¾, Plymouth 285 ¼;, Portsmouth 227 ¾, Preston 72, Reading 171, Rugby 94 ½, Salisbury 233 ¾, Scarborough 94 ¼, Selby 45 ¾, Settle 75 ¼, Shrewsbury 114 ¼, Skipton 60, southampton 211 ½, Southport 79, Stafford 85, stoke-upon-Trent 78 ¾, Stockport 47, stroud 151 ¾, Swansea 241, Tamworth 69, Thome 45 ½, Todmorden 49, Wakefield 27, Walsall 79, Wellington (Shropshire) 104, Warwick 107 ¼, Warrington 59, Westwood 10, Wolverhampton 92 ½, Worcester 112 ¾, Worksop 15 ¾, York 52 ¾.
The river Don, communicating with the general canal system and flowing into the Trent and Humber, is navigable to Shelfield, and thus connects it with the seaports of Goole, Hull and Great Grimsby. Sheffield is within 30 miles of ship navigation, but is as near Liverpool and Birkenhead by railway as it is to Hull and Great Grimsby. Regarded as a great railway centre, it stands connected with Manchester and Liverpool on one side and with Boston, Great Grimsby, and Hull on the other, united to the leading northern and Southern lines by the Masbrough branch, and communicating by a chain of small railways with the whole Yorkshire and Lancashire system, and has thus a direct transit to all parts of the kingdom.
In 1838 the Sheffield and Rotherham railway was opened; in 1840, the Midland; and in 1845, the Manchester and Sheffield railway. The south Yorkshire railway (amalgamated with the River Dun Company) was opened in 1855, and on its amalgamation with the Manchester, Sheffield and Lincolnshire Railway Company a loop line was constructed, placing the railway in connection with the Victoria station of the Great Northern and Manchester, Sheffield and Lincolnshire lines, a large building admirably fitted for the public convenience. The new Midland station, with approaches from the Old Haymarket, Pond street and sheaf street, is a large, convenient and handsome building on the Sheffield and Chesterfield line, completed in 1870, and forming part of the main line of the Midland railway, which passes under part of the town by a tunnel, and is carried across the valley of the Don by a viaduct of four large arches and by one arch over the road leading from Sheffield to Rotherham, a more important viaduct of forty arches and an embankment conducting it along the valley of the Don, until it joins the Old Sheffield and Rotherham railway near the Brightside station, so making this the main line from London to Scotland. The Manchester, Sheffield and Lincolnshire railway crosses the Wicker by a viaduct, consisting of one large and two small arches of massive masonry, supported by a long range of piers and arches on the other side of the Don.
Hallamshire is one of several districts within Yorkshire, formerly having a separate jurisdiction, and includes the three parishes of Sheffield, Handsworth and Ecclesfield, comprising about 100,000 acres.
The parish of Sheffield is large, including six townships, in two poor law unions, and reaches to the borders of Derbyshire, its extreme length being about ten miles, and its average breadth three miles, with an area of 19,651 acres; in 1861 the population was 185,157; in 1871, 239,946; and is now estimated to reach 304,938. The number of municipal voters in 1866 and 1867 was 24,143, and of parliamentary voters in 1871, 31,329. The town has thus very rapidly increased in size and importance; for in 1615 the population was only 2,207. In 1736 the township of Sheffield consisted of 2,152 houses, with a population of 9,695. These statistics, tabulated for the respective townships, are as follows:—
|Place||Acres||Populatioin 1871||Occupied houses|
|Total of parish and municipal and parliamentary boroughs||19,651||239,943||49,334|
The following table shows the net rateable value of property in the several townships of the parish in comparison with
some previous years.
The greater portion of the increase arises from the extension of new manufactories and buildings, chiefly in the put-townships, for while the township of Shelfield has in 30 years increased in value from £166,991 to £335,538, the out-townships have risen in the same period from, £123,949 to £620,516.
Sheffield union comprises the four following townships:-Sheffield, Attercliffe-cum-Darnall, Brightside Bierlow and Handsworth. with a population in 1871 of 162,271. The Union Workhouse is a large building, situated in Kelham street, and has lately been very much improved.
The parish farm, leased from the Duke of Norfolk, is situated at Hollow Meadows, near the Glossop road, about seven miles west from Sheffield.
The Manor House is in Sheffield township, about 2 miles east-south-east of the town, and stands principally on the ruins of the ancient manor house of Hallamshire; of the tower, where Mary Queen of scots was so long confined, little remains but the basement, now filled with the debris of the ruined walls. Sheffield township is on an acclivity rising from the sheaf, and contains many scattered farmhouses and beautiful villa residences. Near Park Grange is Queen’s Tower, the castellated mansion of Samuel Roberts esq. J.P. and The Farm, the grounds of which were much improved, and the mansion considerably enlarged and beautified, a few years ago, by the late Duke of Norfolk, as his occasional residence. Beyond The Farm is the extensive and picturesque Norfolk Park, which was tastefully laid out and planted about the year 1865 by the late Duke’s father as a place of recreation for the public.
The township of Attercliffe-cum-Darnall includes the villages of Attercliffe and Darnall and the hamlet of Carbrook.
Brightside District includes Grimesthorpe, the Midland Railway station, the north side of Saville street, and the east side of Ellesmere road, and all the rest of Brightside township within those limits.
Ecclesall Bierlow union comprises the seven following townships:-Ecclesall, Nether Hallam, Upper Hallam, Norton, Totley, Dore, and Beauchief, the four latter being in Derbyshire; total population in 1871, 87,432. The Union Workhouse is situated at Cherry Tree Hill and erected at a cost of about £9,000, in the Elizabethan style, is a fine building of freestone, and has room for about 500 paupers, exclusive of the imbecile wards, erected in 1860 at the cost of £1,500.
The Vestry Hall for the township of Ecclesall Bierlow, built in 1857, is situated in the Cemetery road.
The Vestry Offices for the township of Nether Hallam, erected in 1854—5, are situated at Crookesmoor, on the site of the old workhouse.
The suburbs of Sheffield are extensive and picturesque, and surrounded by scenery renowned for its beauty; there is scarcely a street in the town from which a view of the country cannot be obtained, nor an eminence in the vicinity that does not command a panoramic view of the town and suburbs.
Sheffield is justly distinguished throughout the world for its cutlery and hardware; at the Great Exhibition of 1851, the jurors awarded no less than 60 council or prize medals to the exhibitors of this town, which again distinguished itself at the Paris Exposition in 1856, and at the International Exhibition, London, 1862. In the International Exhibition at Paris, 1867, Sheffield manufacturers exhibited with great success; several first-class medals being obtained, including the gold medal for excellence in armour plates, awarded to John Brown & Co. Messrs. Burys and Co. also obtained a gold medal for the superiority of their goods.
In addition to the staple trade of cutlery, files, saws, machine knives, edge tools, joiners’ tools, skates, engravers’ tools, engineers’ tools, hammers, planes, horticultural tools, sheep and garden shears, scythes, sickles and reaping hooks, hackle and gill pins, needles, wire, cast steel wire ropes, anvils, vices and portable forges, stove grates, fenders and fire irons, silver, plated and Britannia metal goods, iron, brass and German silver castings; horn, ivory and bone are cut and converted into their various uses: there are also many employed in the manufacture of other articles, amongst which may be enumerated cast steel hay forks, curriers’ and tanners’ knives, sugar cane knives, ledger blades, spiral cutters, calico webs, steel busks, surgical instruments, dressing-case instruments, corkscrews, nutcrackers, snuffers, button hooks, steel toys, horse scrapers, singeing lamps; horn, bone and German silver buttons, livery buttons, powder flasks, shot pouches, shooting tackle, dram bottles, cabinet cases; ivory, horn, tortoiseshell and india rubber combs; curled hair and hair seating; drawer, door and umbrella furniture; bread and butter platters, spectacless telescopes, glass cutters; gold and silver are refined and bells and type cast; wire, strand fencing, hurdles, gates, screws, bolts, nuts, washers, spindles, flyers, shuttle tips, heel tips, rivets, cut nails, awl blades, rules, tape measures (Clieatetman’s) chains, sewing machines, gas meters, gasometers, gas fittings, chandeliers, coach and railway lamps, marks, brands and figures, polishing paste, furniture polish, plate powder, harness blacking, paper, organs, tobacco and snuff are manufactured. There are several chemical works, and brewing is extensively carried on.
During the last thirty years many new branches of iron and steel manufactures have been introduced into Sheffield, among which are rails, railway carriage tyres, axles, wheels, buffers, springs, turn-tables, railway waggons, bridges, girders, steam engines, steam boilers, ship and boiler plates, armour plates for ships of war, and all kinds of castings and forgings for fixed and rolling stock.
The most important establishments are those of John Brown and Co. Limited, Charles Cammell and Co. Limited, and Brown, Bayley and Dixon Limited, the celebrated manufacturers of armour plates, each firm employing several thousand men, and having works covering more than 40 acres; in the numerous experiments made by Government for testing the resisting powers of armour plates, those of the above named firms have been registered “Al,” the introduction of this and other branches of the heavy iron trade being due to Messrs. John Brown and Co. who in 1857 commenced the manufacture of iron, and in 1860 made arrangements to meet the demand that had arisen for massive iron plates to protect our ships of war, and in recognition of the service thus rendered to the nation, Her Majesty by letters patent conferred the honour of knighthood on the head of this firm now Sir John Brown. Messrs. Cammell and Co. Limited, a few years later, embarked in the same manufacture, and these two firms have now distanced all other competitors in the resisting power of their plates. The nominal capital of the company of Charles Cammell and Co. Limited is £1,000,000, in 10,000 shares of £100 each, with £80 per share called up: the property consists of iron and steel works, as follows:-The Cyclops steel and Iron Works, Savile street, Sheffield, for the manufacture of all kinds of crucible cast steel and Bessemer steel, steel rails, axles, forgings, steel ship and boiler plates, railway springs and buffers, tiles, steel gun blocks, shot and shell, armour plates &c. and consisting of steel foundries, rolling mills, steel and iron forges, fitting and machine shops; leasehold under the Duke of Norfolk for an unexpired period of 79 years; area 8a. 0r. 34p. The Grimesthorpe steel Works, near Sheffield, for the manufacture of crucible cast steel tyres and railway springs, and consisting of steel foundry, forges, tyre mills, spring works, and machine shops, are held leasehold under the Duke of Norfolk for an unexpired term of 96 years; area, 20a. 3r. 18p. The Yorkshire steel and Iron Works, Penistone, near Sheffield, for the manufacture of Bessemer steel, consisting of rail and plate mills, forges, tyre mills; these are freehold, area 16a. 3r. 14p. Other extensive steel works belong to Messrs. Vickers, sons and Co. Limited, William Jessop and sons Limited, Sanderson Brothers and Co. Limited, Thomas Turton and son, Henry Bessemer and Co. Limited and Thomas Firth and sons, the latter of whom manufacture steel cannon and shot. The quantity of steel manufactured in the town was estimated in the official report of the Exhibition of 1851 at 39,000 tons per annum. In 1855 Messrs. Naylor, Vickers and Co. now Vickers, sons and Co. Limited, purchased a German patent for casting steel in large masses, and although they have not attained the power of making castings so large as Mr. Krupp, they have fully equalled him in soundness and beautiful finish up to a weight of seven tons, and nave since erected works at which they are enabled to reach a much greater size. The Yorkshire Engine Co. Limited have extensive works at Blackburn Junction, 2 ½ or 3 miles from Sheffield.
A very considerable trade is carried on in the heavier branches of engineers’ tools, as lathes, planing, shaping, slotting, drilling, punching and shearing machines, and lifting jacks. There are other large classes of manufacturers too numerous to mention; and, besides manufactories, there are six banks, a large body of merchants, solicitors, surveyors and stock and share brokers.
Many freehold land and building societies have been formed in Sheffield, by whom large plots of land on all sides of the town have been purchased and divided into allotments of from 500 to 1,200 yards; upon which many houses have been erected. There are now more than 50 of these freehold allotment estates comprising several hundred acres in the neighbourhood of the town.
In 1875—7 the Town Council obtained powers for a series of street improvements now in progress; these are comprised in fourteen separate schemes, and involved the purchase, by compulsory sale or otherwise, of more than 200 propel ties, containing 63,769 square yards of land, or upwards of 13 acres, of which, up to the present date, nearly 56,400 square yards have been actually or prespectively purchased. Schemes 1—3 include the formation of a new street, 60 feet wide, from Moorhead to Fargate and a continuation of Charles street, from Union street into Cambridge street. Scheme 4 contemplates the widening of Fargate to a minimum width of 60 feet. Schema 5, which dealt in a similar way with High street, has for the present been abandoned. Scheme 6 provides for the acquisition of property between Market street and the new extension of Norfolk street, in order to form an open space for cabs &c. Scheme 7 concerns the formation of a new street, 50 feet wide, from surrey street to Fargate and Barker-pool. Scheme 8 projects the formation of a new street, 60 feet wide, called Leopold street, from the bottom of Bow street to the junction of Fargate with Barker-pool, and will contain the central schools and offices of the Sheffield school Board and the new university buildings erected by the late Alderman Firth. extending from Bow street to Orchard lane. Scheme 9 proposes the widening of Townhead street to 50 and of Pinfold street to 40 feet. Scheme 10 applies a like treatment to that part of Church street lying between Bow street and St. James’s row, the width of which will be increased to 50 feet. Scheme 11 relates to Blonk street and the bridge over the Don, both of which will be widened to 60 feet, the widening to begin at the approach to Victoria station and to continue on that side to the Wicker. Scheme 12 provides for the removal of certain property in Nursery street at its junction with the Wicker and the widening of the street at that point. Schemes 13 and 14 affect Attercliffe, and include the widening of Washford bridge to 50 feet, and of High street to the same extent, the additional space being gained by the removal of property on the right-hand side of the street proceeding from the town. The ultimate cost to the town of the whole of these improvements, after allowing for the resale of surplus lands, has been estimated at £200,000.
Ecclesiastical Districts.-in 1855 the Archbishop of York constituted the parish of Sheffield a separate deanery, and in 1846, the Ecclesiastical Commissioners, with the sanction of the Queen and Privy Council, determined that the large and populous parish of Sheffield should be ecclesiastically divided into twenty-six parochial districts, each having a church and incumbent. The Vicarage District or mother parish of St. Peter is bounded by the rivers Don and sheaf, from the Iron bridge to sheaf bridge, and has for its other boundaries one side of Shude hill, Bakers’ hill and part of Norfolk street; one side of Norfolk row and thence across Fargate to Orchard street; along Lea croft, silver street head and Scotland street to Furnace hill, and down the latter, and Bower spring and Cotton Mill walk to the Iron bridge. Under Peel’s Act Darnall, Heeley, Eldon, Wicker and St. Matthew’s districts have been ecclesiastically constituted new parishes, entirely independent of the vicar of Sheffield, and for all practical purposes the other district churches were placed on the same basis by an act passed in 1844.
The parish church of St. Peter is, in its original portions, a structure of the fourteenth and fifteenth centuries, although detached stones have been found indicating the previous existence of a much older building, assigned by some authorities to the reign of Henry II: in plan it is cruciform, and consisted, before the recent restoration, of chancel, nave, aisles, transepts, and a central tower, surmounted by a lofty crocketed spire: the nave was rebuilt and the church repewed in 1805, the exterior being also extensively repaired, probably about the same date. Rickman, describing the church in 1825, speaks with some severity of the treatment to which it had been subjected: “The whole,” he says, “except parts of the tower and spire, has been cased and modernised by very barbarous hands, but with some curious attempts at imitation, though in a very bad style; and in the interior very little old is left, but that is sufficient to cause much regret that more has not been preserved:” prior to 1842 a gallery extended across the tower under the arches as well as across the north transept, so that there were galleries on every side, the organ being placed on that under the tower, while the chancel was separated by an intervening wall from the rest of the church, and approached by folding doors: in the year 1842 the gallery under the tower was reduced in size, the organ being set back, and a front given to it towards the chancel, the walled up arches between the chancel and transepts being at the same time opened and set with stone tracery, partly filled in with stained glass; but the division of the chancel and nave was maintained until 1857, when the organ with its gallery and the wall beneath it were removed, and the organ placed in the north transept: in 1866 some improvements were effected outside the church, a portion of the churchyard adjoining Church street being added to the footpath, and the old railings replaced by new, and in the year following the railings in St. James a row were renewed, and new gates set up at the cost of Sir John Brown kt. J.P.: the recently completed restoration was begun in 1876 by the present Bishop of Sodor and Man, then Vicar of Sheffield, and has been energetically and successfully carried out by his successor, the Rev. Canon Blakeney, the church being eventually re-opened on Tuesday, October 26th. 1880, by his Grace the Archbishop of York: the total cost of the work amounts to about £20,000, of which the munificent sum of £10,000 was contributed by Mrs. Thornhill-Gell especially for the internal restoration of the edifice and the improvement of the organ; £2,500 was also given by Mrs. Parker, widow of Samuel Parker esq. physician, of Sheffield, for the erection of a transept in memory of her husband; £500 by Mark Firth esq. £250 by Mrs. Wolstenholm, £100 by Sir John Brown, £100 by Thomas Wilson esq. £100 by Mrs. W. Overend, £100 for the tower, by S. Roberts esq. £100 by an anonymous donor, together with a long list of other contributions, ranging from £50 to 10s. furnished by persons of every rank and class, the result being that the whole amount, with the exception of about £1,500, has now been subscribed: in the alterations and additions thus effected the chancel, with its aisles, retains internally its original design, both in its arcades and roofing, the work in each being of very excellent character, while its general dimensions remain unaltered; the floor of this part of the church has been raised, the central portion laid with encaustic tiles, and the sides, with the ancient inscribed stones, on a bed of concrete twelve inches thick: the floor of the sacrarium, two steps higher than that of the chancel, is also tiled: the chancel has in addition been furnished with new stalls of carved oak for the clergy and choir: the piers and arches beneath the tower have not been touched, except in the case of the arches opening into the nave aisles, these are modern, and no doubt much larger than the older ones, some traces of which have been discovered: previous to the restoration, the transepts, though retaining their original dimensions, had entirely lost their chief characteristic as projecting features in the design, since the nave aisles had, in rebuilding, been widened to the full extent of the transepts, thus converting the plan of the church into a parallelogram: the new south or Parker transept is built of dressed ashlar inside and out, and has one five-light and two three-light windows of the curvilinear period, with moulded jambs and mullions, all these being filled with stained glass: the roof is of oak and the floor space, 22 feet 4 inches by 17 feet, fitted with oaken benches for 60 persons: the memorial character of the work is recorded on a marble tablet let into the wall: the new north transept is of similar size and is partly built of the old stone work, and lined with ashlar; the north window of this transept was formerly at the west end of the nave, the stained glass it contains being the gift of the late Rev. Or. Sale; that to the east is an original window of the rectilineal period, found in the centre of the wall between the north aisle of the chancel and the vestry; the south window formerly occupied a place in the aisles; this transept has also an oaken roof, and is to be fitted with benches of the same material: the nave has been extended about 25 feet, an immense improvement to the church in every way; this addition is of ashlar, the new west front containing a large window of six lights with elaborate curvilinear tracery; beneath this window and between the buttresses is a highly decorated porch forming the western entrance, finished with a parapet of open traceried work and fitted with an interior porch of oak; on either side of the nave extension are two larger porches, opening by lofty arches into the nave aisles, and constructed with inner porches of stone and elaborately carved oak; these porches have ample external doorways, with shafted jambs and moulded arches, and are finished at the angles with pinnacled buttresses: new choir and clergy vestries, provided with separate entrances and lavatory, have been built at the eastern end of the north aisle, adjoining which is a room for the church burgesses: the whole of the galleries and pews have been removed, and a new floor of wood, with flagstones for the aisles, laid down; the church generally has been re-furnished with oaken benches, moulded and carved, in the construction of which much of the old oak has been incorporated; the remaining spaces have been filled with chairs: the screens formerly dividing the chancel from the transepts have been also removed, the reading desks set against the eastern piers of the tower, and the old pulpit fixed for the present against the north-west pier; the walls and roofs, cleared of plaster and paint, now disclose, as at first, their true material character, and in place of the plastered ceiling of the aisles, panelled oak has been substituted; while that of the tower has been raised and similarly treated; the gas fittings have been renewed throughout and pew warming apparatus introduced; the Shrewsbury chapel and the monuments it contains have been thoroughly cleaned and repaired by the instructions of the Duke of Norfolk: the entire internal length of the church is now 152 feet 6 inches and the breadth at the transepts 99 feet 6 inches: of all the changes recently effected none, perhaps, has been more completely satisfactory than the removal of the east window and its replacement by another in ft higher style of ecclesiastical art, and in other ways much more suitable to the position: the former window, erected to the memory of Montgomery, was the gift of Mr. I. Newton Mappin, who has generously undertaken to defray the cost of the new one, a striking and harmonious composition, by Mr. W. F. Dixon, of Sheffield and London: the whole design, while sufficiently bold to be effective, is at the same time perfect in detail, rich and soft in tone, and though carefully subordinated to the architecture surrounding it, admirably develops the fine proportions of the east end, and may be justly pronounced a distinct advance in the art of stained glass; the most remarkable portion is the chapel, with monuments of the Shrewsbury family, founded in the time of Henry VIII.; here are some fine altar tombs of Francis, “Lord Talbot,” dated 1582 and George, 1577; that of George, fourth Earl of Shrewsbury, who held several military commands under Henry VIII. and was sent to put down the Pilgrimage of Grace, is a high tomb, with spiral columns and an inscription on brass running round a ledge on the upper portion, with three recumbent effigies of himself and two wives, dated 1538; George, sixth earl of Shrewsbury, died 1590; here is likewise interred Elizabeth. Countess of Lennox, sister-in-law to Mary Queen of Scots; there are some beautiful monuments by Chantrey and others; here are buried Dr. Short, a medical writer, and William Walker, author of the “Vindiciae contra Tyrannos,” and Henry Howard esq. of Glossop, who died 1577; in the vestry is a small parochial library: the tower has 12 bells, a set of chimes and a handsome illuminated clock, erected in September, 1867; it is made after the fashion of the clock at the Leeds Town Hall, which was the first public clock driven by the double gravity escapement, invented by E. B. Denison esq. Q.C. now Sir Edmund Beckett; ten of the bells have been re-cast, at different periods, since 1798, and have the founder’s name, Thomas Mears, London, with the dates and other inscriptions; the other two were the gift of Henry Wilson esq. of Sharrow, in 1808; Robert Stainbank was the founder: the quarter bells give the true time of the quartet’s and the hour bell gives the true time of the hour. The parish register is very voluminous; it begins in 1520 and is in good condition. The living is a vicarage, yearly value £1,000, in the alternate patronage of the Rev. A. W. Hamilton-Gell and Simeon’s Trustees; the present vicar is the Rev. John Edward Blakeney D.D. of Trinity College, Dublin, who is also rural dean of Sheffield and canon of York and proctor in convocation for the archdeaconry of York. There is one assistant minister endowed, namely, the Rev. Samuel Earnshaw M.A. St. John’s, Cambridge.
The Vicarage and a handsome building, called the Church of England Educational Institute, have been erected in St. James street.
The parish of All saints, Brightside, was formed in 1869: the church, situated on a rising ground overlooking the valley, in Ellesmere road, was built in 1868 at a cost of £12,000 given by Sir John Brown, and is a cruciform structure in the Geometric style, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles, north and south transepts, organ and vestry, with a tower and spire attaining a height of 190 feet: the chancel is tastefully decorated and has a stained window the gift of Lady Brown: the church will seat about 1,000 persons. The register dates from the year 1868. The benefice is a vicarage, yearly value £230, in the gift of trustees, and held by the Rev. Joseph Busby Draper. There are schools attached to the church.
The chapel of Shrewsbury Hospital in Norfolk road is a very commodious building in the Gothic style, of which the Rev. John Stacye M.A. Christ’s College, Cambridge, is chaplain.
Christ Church, Pitsmoor, is a stone building in the Early English style, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles, transept and bell tower: the interior has a gallery at west end for organ and choir; there are two stained windows at the east end and one at the west in memory of Mrs. Barlow, wife of the Rev. Henry Barlow M.A. the first incumbent; this church was erected in 1850 at a cost of £2,500, towards which the Ecclesiastical Commissioners and the Incorporated Church Building society gave £500, the rest being defrayed by subscription: there are sittings for 800 persons, 529 of which are free. The register dates from the year 1850. The living is a vicarage, yearly value £300, in the gift of the Crown and Archbishop of York alternately and held by the Rev. Samuel Chorlton M.A. of Trinity College, Dublin, and surrogate. The parish of Pitsmoor includes Woodside lane, Pyebank, Burngreave road, Barnsley road and all the rest of Brightside Bierlow not comprised in All Saints, Holy Trinity, Emmanuel, and St. Michael and All Angels’ parishes, and in Grimesthorpe district.
The church of The Holy Trinity in Nursery street was erected in 1848, at the sole cost of the Misses Harrison, of Western Hall, and consists of chancel, nave, aisles and western tower; the interior is surrounded by galleries, that at the west end being occupied by the organ: the east window is stained, and there is a tablet in memory of the late vicar, the Rev. John Aldous; there are 1,000 sittings, one-third of which are free. The register dates from October 15th. 1848. The living is a vicarage, yearly value £300, in the gift of the Church Patronage society and held by the Rev. Thomas Rigby B.A. of Corpus Christi College, Cambridge; the curate is the Rev. Andrew Pryde, of St. Bees. Holy Trinity parish was formed in 1845, and includes the Wicker, the Nursery, the south side of Savile street and most of the Bridgehouses, having for its boundaries the river Don and one side of Pyebank, Fox street, Gray street, Burngreave road and the Ellesmere road as far as Burngreave.
The parish of St. Andrew was formed in 1870. The church at Sharrow is a building of local stone in the Geometric style, and was erected in 1867, at a cost of £4,500, towards which Sir John Brown gave £600 and the site: it consists of chancel, nave with aisles, separated by arcades of clustered columns, with carved caps and carrying a clerestory pierced with traceried windows, north and south transepts, and a tower with spire, rising to a height of more than 130 feet; the chancel is lighted by a large window of five compartments and has on the south side an organ chamber, and on the north a vestry; the roofs are open, timbered and boarded: the benches of red deal, stained and varnished, will seat 750 adults. Messrs. Blackmoor and Mitchell-Withers, of Sheffield, were the architects. The register dates from the year 1870. The living is a vicarage, yearly value £250 with residence, in the gift of the archbishop, the vicar of Sheffield and Sir John Brown, and held by the Rev. Frederick Wildman Goodwyn M.A. Brasenose College, Oxford.
St. Barnabas church, Highfield place, London road, is a stone building in the Early English style: the foundation stone of which was laid on St. Barnabas day, June 11th. 1874, by Miss Roberts, daughter of Samuel Roberts esq. of Queen’s Tower, and the church was opened October 16th. 1876: it consists of chancel, nave, aisles, a tower 22 feet square and 100 feet high, erected at a cost of £1,000, given by Samuel Roberts esq. organ chamber, vestry and porches; there is no clerestory, but the aisles, being carried up to nearly the height of the nave, permit the introduction of lotty windows in the side walls; two circular dormer windows in the nave roof give extra light to that portion of the building where the prayer-desk, lectern and pulpit are fixed, and a fine four-light window of geometrical design is inserted at the west end; the chancel, which terminates in a semi-octagonal apse, has three two-light windows with geometrical tracery: the roofs, all high-pitched and partly open-timbered, are continuous from east to west, the division between chancel and nave being marked by additional columns and a massive timber arch following the form of the roof; the floor of the sacrarium is paved with Minton’s encaustic tiles; the communion-rail and the lectern are both of highly wrought brass: the church has 800 sittings, one half of which are free and unappropriated: the estimated total cost, including site, was £7,000, defrayed by subscription. Messrs. Flockton and Abbott were the architects. The register dates from the year 1876. The living is a perpetual curacy, yearly value £300, in the gift of the Church Burgesses, and held by the Rev. Charles Alfred Goodhart M.A. of Corpus Christi College, Cambridge.
Dyers Hill district, formed in 1846, is bounded by and includes one side of Duke street park, Talbot street, Bungay street, Harmer lane, Pond street, Flat street, Bakers’ hill, Shude hill, Sheaf bridge and Broad street as high as Duke street: in 1879 a part of Heeley ecclesiastical parish was added to Dyers Hill and a part of Dyers Hill to Heeley. Sale memorial church of St. Luke, situated in south street park, was erected by public subscription in 1878 at a cost of £10,000, in memory of the late Rev. Dr. Sale, vicar of Sheffield, and is a structure in the Early Painted style, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles, vestry and organ chamber, with a lofty tower and spire rising to a height of about 100 feet. The register dates from 1879. A vicarage house has been erected at a cost of £1,900. The living is a vicarage, yearly value £260, in the gift of five trustees and held by the Rev. Frederick Williams M.A. Trinity College, Dublin. The schools and school-house, built in 1856 at a cost £1,600, having become inadequate, a strenuous effort is being made to extend them.
St. George’s church, in St. George’s terrace, erected in 1824, at a cost of £19,000, in the 15th century style, is a handsome edifice, consisting of nave, aisles, small chancel, gallery and contains a good organ, stands in a burial ground of about 3 acres, and has 2,000 sittings 600 of which are free, with a tower containing 1 bell and an illuminated clock: a painting of Christ Blessing Little Children, presented by Mr. Paris, in 1831, hangs on the south staircase: the stained east window was erected in memory of the late vicar, the Rev. William Mercer M.A. The register dates from the year 1825. The living is a vicarage, yearly value £400, in the gift of the vicar and held by the Rev. Henry Arnold Favell M.A. of Caius College, Cambridge. This parish includes a great part of West street, Glossop road and Wilkinson street, and all Portobello street, Beet street, Brookhill and Western bank; its boundary line runs from the top of Western street to Western Hall and Mushroom Hall and thence along the north side of Northumberland road, Wilkinson street and West street to Bailey lane, by the west side of the latter to Broad lane, crossing which it skirts the Southern sides of Red hill, Corn hill and Leicester street to Western street.
St. James’ church, St. James’ street, was erected in the latter part of the last century at a cost of more than £3,000, raised in £50 shares each of which entitled the holder to a pew as his freehold, and was restored in 1876, at a cost of £1,800, raised by public subscription: the church is a rectangular building of stone in the Classic style, and consists of chancel, nave and aisles with galleries and a bell turret; there is a stained window at the east end. The register dates from the year 1789. The living is a vicarage, yearly value, £360, in the gift of the vicar; the present incumbent is the Rev. James Battersby, of St. Aidans. This district includes one side of Orchard street, Vicar lane, Lee croft, silver street head, Tenter street and Broad lane as high as Bailey lane; also one side of the latter, one side of West street to Holly street, one Bide of the latter to Barker’s pool, and one side of Fargate down to Orchard street.
The parish of St. John the Evangelist was formed in 1849. The church on Park hill is a modern Gothic building, standing on a bold eminence overlooking the town, and consists of chancel, nave, aisles and a fine tower containing 1 bell, and a clock, with a spire rising to the height of 100 feet; the interior contains a gallery and an organ, erected in 1877, at a cost of £1,200, defrayed by subscription; the site, with a burial ground of 3 acres, was given by the Duke of Norfolk; £3,000 being subscribed for building purposes. The church has been restored and renovated at a cost of nearly £1,200, and was reopened on the 1st of July, 1880. There are sittings for about about 1,000 persons. The register dates from the year 1836. The living is a perpetual curacy, yearly value, £250 with residence, in the gift of trustees and held by the Rev. James Gilmore, of Trinity College, Dublin. This parish includes all the populous portion of Sheffield Park bounded by the river Don and Attercliffe township, the sheaf as high as the Corn Exchange and the north eastern sides of Duke street and Intake road.
The parish of St. Jude, Eldon, was formed in 1846; the church in Eldon street is a structure in the Early English style, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles and bell turret with 1 bell, erected at a cost of £2,000, defrayed by subscription and grants, on a site given by Samuel Younge esq. who also laid the first stone June 14th. 1848, the church being opened June 16th. 1849. The construction of this church is in some respects unique, since its foundations rest on 33 stone pillars, rising from a disused coal mine; it has a stained east window and an organ; there are 730 sittings, two-thirds of which are free. The register dates from the year 1849. The living is a vicarage, yearly value £300, in the alternate gift of the Crown and the Archbishop of York, and held by the Rev. George Wakefield Turner M.A. of Trinity College, Dublin. This parish extends along the south side of West street, from Westfield terrace to Fitzwilliam street, traversing both this and part of Broomhall street to Thomas street, along the east side of which it runs to south street, and through this to the intersection of Rockingham street and Button lane, thence up the west side of Trafalgar street and Westfield terrace.
The parish of St. Jude, Moorfields, was formed in 1846; the church situated in Cupola street, and closely surrounded by old dwellings, is a plain Gothic structure, consisting of chancel, nave and aisles, and was originally erected by subscriptions in 1849—52, of which John Gaunt, of Darnall, gave £1,000; but on Sunday, November 7th. 1852, when nearly finished, the church, owing to some defect in the foundations, fell down; the present church was consecrated June 5th. 1855, and cost about £2,400; it has three galleries with separate entrances, and in the chancel a stained window; all the sittings, 950 in number, are free. The register dates from the year 1855. The living is a vicarage, yearly value £300, in the gift of the Crown and the Archbishop alternately, and held by the Rev. John Edward Johnson M.A., of Sidney Sussex College, Cambridge. This parish comprises Gibraltar street, shales moor, Moorfields, part of Allen street, Russell street, Sheffield Workhouse, Kelham Island and its boundary lines are the river Don, Dun street, Matthew street, Doncaster street, Smithfield, Furnace hill, Bower spring, Cotton Mill walk, Alma street and Union buildings.
St. Luke’s, situated at the junction of Solly street and Garden street, is a stone building in the Early Pointed style, erected in 1860, at a cost of about £3,500, raised by subscription and public grants, and consisting of chancel, nave and aisles, with tower and bell turret, and has an organ gallery at the east end: there are sittings for 625 persons. The register dates from the year 1861. The living is a vicarage, yearly value £300, in the alternate gift of the Crown and the Archbishop of York, and is held by the Rev. Samuel George Potter D.D. of Trinity College, Dublin, chaplain to the Earl of Dysart. This parish was formed in 1846, and includes Hollis croft, Pea croft, White croft, Broceo street, two-thirds of Solly street, one side of Scotland street, Red hill and Cornhill, one side of Broad lane from Red hill to Tenter street, and one side of Allen street from Cornhill to Meadow street; also all courts and lanes within these limits.
St. Mark’s, Broomfield, consecrated on Wednesday, May 31st, 1871, by his Grace the Archbishop of York, stands on a rising ground near the Glossop road, in the centre of the most beautiful suburb of the town. The site was given by the late W. Butcher esq. of Five Oaks, and the foundation stone laid laid October 27th. 1868, by Mrs. John E. Cutler; the church is built in the English Middle Pointed style, and is cruciform in plan with a tower and spire, consisting besides of a chancel, nave and aisles, with north and south transepts; on the south side of the chancel is an organ chapel, a similar space on the other side serving as a vestry; the tower, arising from the south-west corner of the church, faces the Glossop road, and with the spire, attains a height of 160 feet; it is of dressed stone, richly ornamented in its upper portions, and has gurgoyles of some beauty; while the lower division is relieved by a porch, similar in design to that on the north Bide of the church; all the windows have traceried heads and deeply-moulded mullions and jambs; the roof is open-timbered and covered with green slates; the seats, which are open, and constructed of pitch pine, are uniformly cushioned and carpeted; and are available for 900 persons; the pulpit is formed of alabaster richly carved and is supported on pillars of green Connemara marble. The reredos of Caen stone and alabaster, extends across the whole width of the chancel, the central portion, exquisitely carved, representing the Last supper; on either side are two medallions in slabs of alabaster, and above all are carved figures of angels, while underneath is the following inscription:-“To the glory of God, and in memory of William Butcher, of Five Oaks, who died Nov. 8, 1870: erected in loving remembrance by his daughter, Rose Elizabeth. and her husband, John Edward Cutler.” The pulpit was the gift of Mrs. Waterhouse, of Broomgrove; and a complete set of books for the use of the church, richly bound in morocco, that of Mrs. John Wing, of Glossop road; the fittings of the altar table, including the highly decorated altar cloth of rich crimson silk velvet, with kneeling stools and pede cloths, were given by Miss Mountain, of Collegiate crescent. There is a fine eagle lectern, which, as well as the communion rails and the gas fittings is of polished brass; the font is of Caen stone, with polished marble pillars: the stone used for the outer walls is from Eyam and Dunford Bridge. Mr. W. H. Crossland, of Carlton chambers, Regent street, London, was the architect. The iron church has been removed to Carbrook, near Attercliffe, and was the gift of the late Dr. Sale to that populous district. The register dates from the year 1870. The living is a vicarage, gross income, augmented by pew rents, £600, of which £150 is furnished by “the church burgesses and commonalty of the town and parish of Sheffield,” who are the patrons, and is held by the Rev. William Milton M.A. of Worcester College, Oxford; the Rev. Walter Michael Tomlinson M.A. Caius College, Cambridge, is the curate. The parish of St. Mark, formed in 1867, comprises that portion of Ecclesall Bierlow bounded on the east by Hanover street and the east end of Ecclesall road, on the south by the river Porter, on the west by the same stream and Upper Hallam township, and on the north by Fulwood road, Broomhill, Northumberland road and Wilkinson street; it includes Broomhall, Endcliffe, the Collegiate school, Wesley College, the Botanical Gardens, a large portion of Glossop road, the Mount, Westbourne &c.
St. Mary’s parish was formed in 1848; the church, situated in Bramall lane, is a handsome Gothic building, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles, vestries, gallery and ante-church, where funeral services are performed and meetings held, the first stone of which was laid by the Countess of surrey on the 12th of October, 1826, the cost of erection, £12,650, being defrayed out of the Million fund, and the church consecrated on the 21st of July, 1830; it stands in a burial ground of about 3 acres, given by the late Duke or Norfolk, and contains 2,000 sittings, about 800 being free; there are five stained windows; the organ was purchased by subscription in 1853 and has since been repaired; an illuminated clock was added in 1867 at the expense of the congregation. The register dates from the 7th of September, 1830. The living is a vicarage, of the yearly value of about £600, and is in the gift of the vicar of Sheffield and is held by the Rev. Ahbot Roland Upcher M.A. of Trinity College, Cambridge. There is a vicarage house, erected by subscription, at a cost of £1,878, the site for which was given by the late George Wostenholm esq. In 1840, schools for boys, girls and infants, with a teacher’s house, were built at a cost of £2,000, and, in 1860, additional schools for girls and infants and a teacher’s house erected in Leadmill road, on a site given by the then Duke of Norfolk, at a cost of £1,445. This district extends south and south-west from Suffolk Works and the Lead Mills, including all the streets between the rivers sheaf and Porter, as far as Heeley Bridge, Snuff Mill Bridge and Cherry Tree Hill road.
St. Mary’s, Walkley, is a building of stone, in the Decorated style and consists of nave, tower and spire; was consecrated August, 1869; the nave was erected in 1862 as a chapel of ease to St. Philip’s, and the remainder of the edifice completed by the Church Extension society, at a cost of about £4,500: the sittings, 700 in number, are all free and unappropriated. The register dates from the year 18 ½9. The living is a vicarage, yearly value about £200, in the gift of trustees and held by the Rev. Thomas Smith of St. Bees. The vicarage house was erected in 1873, at a cost of £1,919, on a site given by the late Henry Wilson esq. of Westbrook schools in connexion with the church were built in 1870—1, at an outlay of £2,179 6s. 5d. A burial ground of about 4 ½ acres in extent has been formed at an expense of upwards of £1,700, and was consecrated in July, 1880.
St. Matthew’s church, in Carver street, erected by subscription and grants in 1854—5, is a stone structure, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles and tower, with a spire 125 feet in height, containing a cast steel bell: the church cost about £3,800, including £600 given for the site, and has sittings for 720 persons, 450 of which are free: there is a good organ which has been enlarged and improved. The register dates from 1855. The living is a vicarage, yearly value £300, in the gift of the Crown and Archbishop alternately, and held by the Rev. Charles Robert Job B.A. of Queen’s College, Cambridge. St. Matthew’s parish was founded in 1847; the boundary runs along the south side of West street from Holly street to Westfield terrace, down the latter and through Trafalgar street to the foot of Rockingham street, thence up south street, Cambridge street and Holly street.
The ecclesiastical parish of St. Matthias was formed in 1880, from that of St. Mary and St. Mark, Broomhall; the church in Summerfield street, built in 1878—9, at a cost of £8,000, is an edifice in the Early English style, consisting of chancel, nave and aisles; the foundation was laid in the summer of 1878 by Mrs. Thompson, wife of the Archbishop of York, and the church consecrated by His Grace on St. Matthias’ day, 1880; the interior of the church is very chaste, the chancel is furnished with choir stalls of solid oak; these together with the reading desk and pulpit, all beautifully carved, were the gift of the late Henry Wilson esq. of Westbrook, who also filled the chancel windows with stained glass, provided an organ at a cost of £600, and endowed the living with £400 yearly; the patronage was vested in him until his death and is now in the Church Patronage society. The register dates from the year 1880. The living is a vicarage, yearly value £400, and held by the Rev. George William Clapham, of the University of Halle, Prussia. There are 720 sittings, half of which are free and unappropriated.
The parish of St. Michael and All Angels was formed in 1868. The church at Burton road, Neepsend, erected in 1866, by the Sheffield Church Extension society, at a cost of £4,500, is a building of Matlock stone, in the Early English style, and consists of chancel, nave, aisles, north and south transepts and a central bell turret: the nave is separated from the aisles by arcades of three arches, 23 feet in span, on stone columns two feet in diameter, enriched with carvings well relieved; the east window was the gift of the vicar and in memory of his parents: the architect was Thomas C. Sorby esq. Brunswick square, London. The register dates from the year 1866. The living is a vicarage, yearly value £200, in the gift of the archbishop, the vicar, Earl of Wharncliffe and B. Wake esq. and held by the Rev. Thomas Wilkins, formerly curate of Ecclesfield. The parish was formed in 1868, with a population of about 7,000, and is bounded on the north by the Manchester, Sheffield and Lincolnshire railway, on the south by the river Don, and extends east and west from Corporation street to Wardsend, Wardsend cemetery being extra parochial.
St. Paul’s church, Norfolk street, was built in 1720, but owing to a dispute between the vicar of Sheffield and the principal donor, as to the right of presentation, it was not opened until 1740; it is a stone structure in the Italian style, consisting of apsidal chancel, nave, aisles and tower containing 1 bell and an illuminated clock, the interior being surrounded with galleries supported by massive Corinthian columns; the church was restored in 1870, by subscription, at a cost of £2,600, and the organ, originally by Schnetzler, of Germany, rebuilt by Brindley and Foster, of Sheffield; there are five stained windows, three of which are in the apse, also a monument by Chantry; sittings are provided for 1,500. The register dates from the year 1740. The living is a vicarage, yearly value £600, in the patronage of the vicar of Sheffield, and held by the Rev. William Hugh Falloon B.A. of Christ’s College, Cambridge. This district, with a population of about 6,000, includes both sides of Pond street, from Boardman’s Bridge to Harmer lane, and the gardens between the Porter and the Sheaf; from Harmer lane its boundary extends along the west side of Pond street to the end of Flat street, and thence by the south side of Norfolk street, up Norfolk row, Fargate, and Barkers pool, down the eastern sides of Cambridge street and Furnival street, to the confluence of the sheaf and Porter.
St. Philip’s church, standing at the junction of the Infirmary and Penistone roads and consecrated July 2,1828, is a Gothic building, consisting of nave, with a fine clerestory, aisles and a lofty tower; the east window is stained, and there is an organ in the western gallery; there are sittings tor 2,200,800 of which are free. The register dates from the year 1828. The living is a vicarage, yearly value £300, in the patronage of the vicar of Sheffield and held by the Rev. James Russell M. A. of St. John’s College, Cambridge, and surrogate. This parish is the largest in Sheffield and includes part of Portmahon, Upperthorpe, Daniel hill, Bloomsbury place, Barber Nook, Philadelphia, the Infirmary, the old Barracks and Penistone road, all in Nether Hallam township; its Southern boundary extends from the river Don along Dun street and Matthew street to its junction with Burnt Tree lane, thence to Hoyle street, part of Meadow street, Netherthorper Watery lane, and up Dam lane, as far as the foot road leading across Crookesmoor Valley to steel Bank. The new parishes of St. Mary, Walkley; St. John the Baptist, Owlerton and St. Bartholomew, Langsett road, have been formed from St. Philip’s; the last two during the time of the present vicar.
The parish of St. Silas, Gillcar, was formed in 1866; the church, in Hanover square, at the junction of Broomhall street and Hanover street, was erected at a cost of about £8,000, given by the late Henry Wilson esq. of Sharrow, and is a stone building, in a simple Geometric style, from a design by Messrs. Blackmoor and Mitchell-Withers, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles, north transept and lofty square tower; the nave is separated from the aisles by an arcading of four bays, the arches being supported by stone columns with carved capitals; the church is seated with open benches for 800 persons, all free and unappropriated. The register dates from the year 1866. The living is a vicarage, yearly value £340, £150 of which is furnished by the church burgesses, who are the patrons; the Rev. Henry Henton Wright T.A. of Kings College, London, is the incumbent. There is a good vicarage in Broomhall park. The parish boundary line runs along the south side of Wilkinson street from Hanover street, and thence along Convent walk; on the west it extends down one side of William street to Ecclesall road, and thence to south street and through this to Thomas street, then along part of Broomhall street to the top of Fitzwilliam street.
St. Simon’s church, situated at the junction of Eyre street and Matilda street, is a plain Gothic brick building, originally erected in 1841 as a Baptist chapel, and purchased by members of the Church of England in 1857 for £2,200; in 1866, it was enlarged and remodelled at a cost of £2,000, by the Sheffield Church Extension society, and was consecrated on the 19th of May, in that year, by the Archbishop of York. The church was endowed by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners in 1867, with a yearly income of £200; there are sittings for 900 persons, all of which are free. The register dates from the year 1858. The living is a vicarage, yearly value £200, in the gift of four trustees and held by the Rev. William Odom, of St. Bees. The parish was formed in 1867, and contains a population of about 6,500. The boundary extends along the east of side of south street, Moor, following the course of the Porter Brook to the foot of Furnival street, thence along the south side of Furnival street to Moorhead and includes all intervening streets.
St. Stephen’s church, situated at the junction of Bellefield and Fawcett street, was erected in 1857 for Netherthorpe and Jericho district, at a cost of upwards of £4,500, being the gift of Henry Wilson esq. who has also endowed the vicarage with £280 a year, arising from ground rents; the church is a cruciform structure, in the Early Decorated style, and consists of chancel, nave, aisles and south transept; at the east end is a stained window, presented by the congregation in memory of the Rev. John Burbidge, late vicar. The register dates from the year 1857. The living is a vicarage, yearly value £450, in the gift of Henry Wilson esq. and held by the Rev. Robert Douglas M.A. of Trinity College, Dublin. St. Stephen’s parish, with a population of about 9,000, was formed in 1859 and comprises a part of Allan street and St. Phillip’s road, Leicester street, Jericho, Watery lane, Radford place, Weston street and part of Winter street, St. Stephen’s road.
St. Thomas’ church at Crookes, erected by subscription in 1840, is a building in the Early English style, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles and clock tower with 1 bell; the church was repaired and an organ purchased by subscription in 1875, at a cost of £1,000; there is a tablet to Francis Owen M.A. late incumbent. The register dates from the year 1840. The living is a vicarage, yearly value £300, in the gift of five trustees and held by the Rev. Charles George Coombe M.A. late fellow of St. Peter’s College, Cambridge, and surrogate. Crookes parish was formed in 1849 and includes the village of Crookes, the western part of Crookes moor, Mount Pisgah and the north side of Hallamgate road, Broomhill, part of Walkley and all the north-western parti of Nether Hallam.
The Sheffield Church Extension society was formed with the object of promoting the building of new churches within the rural deanery of Sheffield, and is managed by a committee of 24 gentlemen, 16 of whom are laymen and the remainder clergy. The committee consists of the following gentlemen, viz.:-The Rev. Canon Blakeney D.D. Rev. William Milton M.A. J. B. Draper, Rev. Samuel Chorlton, C. J. Coombe M.A. H. A. Favell M.A. H. H. Wright B.A. Frederick Thorpe Mappin esq. M.P. Arthur Thomas esq. Samuel Roberts esq. J.P. Thomas B. Gainsford esq. Henry Vickers esq. T. W. Rodgers esq. Abraham Brooksbank esq. Thomas Wilson esq. Henry E. Watson esq. Walter Brown esq. J. W. Harrison esq. Henry J. Dixon esq. Charles Macro Wilson esq. David Ward esq. Arthur Jackson esq. and Charles H. Firth esq. The Rev. Canon Rowley Hill, consecrated Bishop of Sodor and Man on the 24th of August, 1877, is chairman; the Rev. Canon Blakeney D.D. vicar of Sheffield, vice-chairman; Charles Macro Wilson esq. treasurer and Charles Edmund Vickers esq. hon. Secretary. The successful organisation of this enterprise is due to the Bishop of Sodor and Man, who collected about £25,000 towards a sum of £50,000, this being the amount originally estimated as necessary for the carrying out of the scheme.
The Presbyterian church of St. Andrew, is in Hanover street; the Rev. James Breakey, minister.
St. Marie’s Catholic church, in Norfolk row, opened in September, 1850, was erected from designs by Messrs. Weightman and Hadfield; and is a building in the Decorated style, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles, transepts, and a fine tower with spire at the south-west angle rising to a height of 200 feet, and containing a peal of 9 bells; the length of the building is 164 feet, width of transept 92 feet, height to ridge of nave 60 feet; the aisles are 30 feet in height; the organ was erected at a cost of £2,000, half of which was given by his Grace the Duke of Norfolk, who has recently built new sacristies at a cost of £2,000; the interior of the church with its numerous chapels, altars, and shrines, presents one of the most perfect restorations of Catholic church architecture in England: the chapel of Our Lady of Mercy ascended by a winding staircase may be considered as unique: the marble statue of the Blessed Virgin is by an eminent sculptor in Rome: in St. Joseph’s chapel may be seen a statue of St. Winifrede in alabaster, by Bolton of Cheltenham: there are some very beautiful stained windows, representing chiefly the saints: the church is heated throughout, and well lighted with gas, with sitting accommodation for 1,500 persons. The Very Rev, Canon S. Walshaw and the Rev. John Hewison are priests.
St. William’s Catholic chapel, Lee croft, was purchased from the Congregationalists in 1860, enlarged and decorated, and is now served by the priests of St. Marie’s.
St. Vincent's Catholic church, Whitecroft, erected in 1856, at the cost of £3,700, is a stone structure and will hold about 800 persons.
St. Charles’ Catholic chapel, Attercliffe, is a building in the Gothic style and was erected in 1868; the cost together with the schools and rectory house adjoining was about £4,500.
St. Catherine’s Catholic school chapel in Andover street, built in 1875—6, at an expense of £3,000, defrayed by the Duke of Norfolk, is also used as a place of Divine worship.
The Friends’ Meeting house, situated in Meeting House lane, was rebuilt in 1764 and again in 1806, is a large brick structure with an extensive but disused burial ground attached, upon which school buildings were erected in 1871 to hold 700 children.
The Unitarian chapel, in Norfolk street, commonly called Upper chapel, was built in 1700 and rebuilt in 1848. Upperthorpe Unitarian chapel is a neat Gothic structure, and was built in 1861.
The Catholic Apostolic church in Victoria street, a building in the Early English style, with two small towers and a spire, was erected in 1850—1, and has 400 free sittings.
The Congregationalists have eleven chapels in the town. The oldest, Nether chapel, Norfolk street, was built in 1715, and rebuilt in 1826—7. Queen street chapel was built in 1874 and new fronted and enlarged in 1853—4 at a cost of £1,840, in 1880 it was re-pewed and renovated, and a new oak pulpit added, the gift of Mr. W.G. Hall, as a memorial of his deceased mother. The chapel in Garden street was built in 1780 and rebuilt in 1867. Howard street chapel was built in 1790. Mount Zion chapel, Westfield terrace, is a stone structure, built in 1834—5 and there are also chapels at Tapton hill and at Zion lane, Attercliffe. The Wicker Congregational church, situated at the junction of Ellesmere and Burngreave roads, was built in 1854—5 at the cost of about £4,500, and is a building in the Early Decorated style, with sittings for 1,000; the south-east end contains a large six-light window, ornamented with tracery. The Congregational church in Cemetery road, a stone structure in the Early Decorated style, was erected in 1858—9, at a cost of about £3,000. The Tabernacle is a large and very commodious chapel in Oxford street, built in 1862. Broom Park Congregational church, completed in 1870, is a Gothic building in Newbould lane, Glossop road, opposite to Wesley College chapel. Burngreave Congregational church, Pye bank, was erected in 1868, at a cost of £2,500.
The Baptists have four chapels: one in Townhead street, built in 1813, and restored and improved in 1878; one at Portmahon, built in 1831; one in Cemetery road, erected in 1858—9, at a cost of about £2,300; and a fourth in Glossop road, which is a Gothic stone building, occupying a prominent position also in Sherwood road and erected at a cost of between £6,000 and £7,000; the main entrance is on the Glossop road side, and has a tower with an octagonal spire rising to a height of 140 feet; the sides of the church are lighted with tracery windows of two and three lights, placed alternately: the principal roof is open-timbered and massive in its proportions; the roofs above the side galleries being boarded over with red pine and varnished; the galleries extend round the building and are supported on light iron pillars; at one end of the chapel is a stained window of four lights, presented by F. E. Smith esq. of Whirlow, in memory of his late parents: here also on one side is a baptistery; on the opposite side a room for the pastor and a vestry.
The Wesleyan Methodists have twelve commodious chapels: Carver street chapel, built in 1804; Ebenezer chapel, south parade, Shalesmoor, in 1823; Norfolk street chapel, in 1780; Park chapel, in 1841; and Brunswick chapel, south street, Sheffield moor, in 1833, with sittings for about 2,000; Montgomery chapel, Union road, Sharrow, in 1867, at a cost of £4,500; and Ellesmere Road chapel in 1869, at a cost of £3,500: they have also small chapels at Owlerton bar, Crookes, Heeley, Attercliffe, the Manor and Princess street, besides the chapel at Wesley College, and Mission rooms at Pond hill, Common side, Crookes and Millhouses, Abbeydale road: the chapel in Fulwood road, Broomhill, was opened in June, 1867, and is a cruciform building in the Gothic style with a lofty spire: the architect was Mr. Hill, of Leeds: the cost, including the site, was about £5,000.
The London Road chapel was begun in 1877, from the designs of Mr. J. D. Webster, of Church street, and is a building in the Early Pointed style, consisting of nave, aisles and transepts, with a tower and spire at the junction of London road and Highfield place, reaching a height of 140 feet: the chapel has sittings for 907 persons, with schoolroom and vestries beneath.
The Methodist New Connexion have nine chapels, via.; Scotland street chapel, built in 1764 and rebuilt in 1828; south street chapel, Sheffield moor, built in 1828; Talbot street chapel, Park, built in 1851, at a cost of £1,600, on land given by the late Duke of Norfolk; Broomhill chapel, built partly by the bequest of £1,000 left by the late Thomas Firth and partly by subscriptions, amounting in the aggregate to £3,500; Andover street chapel, built in 1864—5, together with smaller chapels at Walkley, Shortridge street, Attercliffe, Wallace road, Parkwood Springs, and in the surrounding villages.
The Primitive Methodists have a large chapel in Cambridge street, built in 1835—6; and others in Stanley street, Wicker, rebuilt in 1854—5; Heavygate road, Walkley; Hoyle street; Atterclifle common; Duke street lane John street; Petre street; Newhall; Heeley; Carlisle street east; New Grimesthorpe; and a room in Hereford street where divine service is performed.
The Wesleyan Reformers have chapels at Gatefield; Heavygate road, Walkley; Watery street; Gower street; Weston street, Duke street, Park, Bramall lane, Cricket road, Abbeydale, Sharrow Vale road, Cromwell street, Pyebank, and at Surbiton street and Orchard street, Attercliffe; Robert street, Infirmary road and at Darnall.
The United Methodist Free Church have chapels at Mount Tabor, in Wellington street, and in Upper Hanover street, the latter being a very large and noble building of stone, built in 1859—60, at the cost of £6,000; and renovated and repaired in 1875, at a further outlay of £1,100; and seating 1,800: at the west end of this chapel are two stained windows, presented by the late Mr. John Tasker, during his year of mayoralty. Surrey street chapel was erected in 1831, and has been enlarged and new-fronted: this denomination have also chapels in Shrewsbury road, Park, built in 1861; at Pyebank; Oak street, Heeley; Cherry Tree hill; Oxford street, Upperthorpe, built at an expense of £4,600; Clifton street, Attercliffe; and at Cundy street, Walkley.
The Brethren have meeting-rooms in St. Mary’s road, and Cavendish street.
The Jews’ synagogue and schools are in North Church street.
The Sheffield General Cemetery, situated at Sharrow, and then consisting of about six acres, was opened in the year 1836 by a company of shareholders, who had expended upon it £13,000: the estate has since been enlarged by the addition of about eight acres, consecrated to the use of members of the Church of England: the new portion cost about £12,000, and has an elegant mortuary church in the Decorated style, with a lofty tower and spire: the first stone of which was laid by the late Dr. Sutton, then vicar, May 8th. 1848, and the ground consecrated by the Archbishop of York, June 27th. 1850: the cemetery now comprises upwards of fourteen acres of land, tastefully laid out and planted, and has also a chapel in the old portion of the cemetery, in the Grecian Doric style: the principal entrance is in Cemetery road, with a subsidiary entrance in Eccleshall road: the office of the Cemetery Company is within the grounds.
Brightside Bierlow Cemetery, established under the Burial Acts, is situated on the north side of the town, about a mile from the parish church; and is bounded by Pitsmoor, Ellesmere road and Burngreave road: it was opened in 1860, and extends over about twenty-seven acres of land, purchased and laid out at a cost of about £5,400; about two-thirds of the whole space is consecrated ground. There are two elegant chapels, connected by a tower and spire in the Early English style, from the designs of Messrs. Thomas Flockton and son, architects.
St. Philip’s Burial Ground, situated on a picturesque high bank at the foot of Old Park Wood, and about 1 ¼ rniles from St. Philip’s Church, contains about 5 ½ acres, and was consecrated in 1859; it has a mortuary chapel and a lodge for the sexton, and contains two approaches, one from Neepsend and the other from Owlerton.
Rivelin-glen Cemetery, for St. Vincent’s Catholic chapel, was opened 1862.
In the year 1850 six acres were set apart for a Public cemetery in Attercliffe township, the outlay amounting to £2,300.
Darnall Cemetery, which occupies the site of the old cricket ground, was opened in 1859, and comprises about 5 ½ acres, with two small chapels.
In 1877 the Darnall Burial Board purchased 50 acres of land for a cemetery from the Duke of Norfolk, at a cost of £13,625, on a site extending from Intake road backwards up the hill towards Manor Lodge: it has been fenced round, and contracts have been let for the erection of entrance lodge, board-room, offices, houses for the superintendent and sexton, and mortuary chapels. The entrance to the Protestant part of the burial ground will be from Intake road: seven acres, near the Manor will be appropriated to Catholics, with an entrance from Manor Lane: the Duke of Norfolk providing the chapel and other requisite buildings for this part on plans to be approved by the Burial Board: the total cost, including the outlay of the Duke of Norfolk, will probably exceed £40,000. The Cemetery is within the township of Darnall tor which it is provided, the site being probably the best that could have been selected, on a dry and rocky subsoil.
A Cemetery is in course of formation, in Tinsley Park road, containing 19 ½ acres of land; purchased by the Attercliffe Burial Board, at a cost of £5,000, which, together with two chapels to be erected and the laying out of the ground, will make an estimated total cost of £ 15,000.
St. Mary’s Cemetery, Matlock road, Walkley, was consecrated by the Archbishop of York, July 16th. 1880, and comprises 4 ½ acres of land, bought from the late Henry Wilson esq. at a cost of £637 10s. The total cost, including the erection of a chapel, making of fence walls and construction of gravel roads, amounted to £1,700.
Intake Road Cemetery for the township of Sheffield, contains 50 acres, for the Church of England, Nonconformists and Catholics: the principal entrance gateway from the Intake road is under a tower 120 feet high, in which are a clock and chimes: here are the offices of the board: there are two chapels, one for the Church, and one for Nonconformists, in each is formed a mortuary aisle with glazed screen separating it from the chapel: there is a second entrance near the old manor for the Catholic portion of the ground, with waiting rooms and a lodge for porter: the style of architecture is of the Tudor period, and all the buildings are executed in stone: there is a grand flight of steps to the chapels, opposite the main entrance: the cemetery is surrounded by a wall, 7 feet high: the total cost of the cemetery, including land and all expenses, will be about £50,000. Messrs. M. E. Hadfleld and son are the architects.
The Free Grammar school, situated in St. George’s square, Charlotte street, was founded in July 1603, by the will of Thomas Smith. an attorney of Crowland, in Lincolnshire, and supposed to have been a native of Sheffield, who bequeathed £30 a year to the township of Sheffield, “as long as the world shall endure,” for the maintenance of “two sufficiently learned men to teach and bring up the young children there in godliness and learning;” he vested the power of electing the masters in the vicar, and twelve “of the best and most sufficient parishioners.” The present school is a building of stone, in the Tudor style, erected by subscription in 1842, in lieu of the ancient school, which stood near the top of Townhead street, and was built in 1648, partly of material brought from the ruins of Sheffield castle. On the 4th of May, 1604, King James granted letters patent, incorporating the thirteen governors with a common seal; the endowment now produces nearly £300 a year, paid to the masters, who are required to teach thirty boys (nominated by the governors), at half the usual terms of the school: the advantages of the school are not confined to any sect: Joseph Edward Jackson D.C.L., M.A. headmaster, and M. T. B. Baddeley B.A. Second master, are the masters on the foundation. The present governing body consists of the Rev. Canon Blakeney D.D. Messrs. Richard Bayley, Edward Hudson, Samuel Roberts, Sir John Brown, Henry I. Dixon, Thomas Wilson, T. A. Sorby, Francis Hobson, Henry Rodgers, Thomas Turner and James William Harrison. Mr. John James Wheat is law clerk.
The Free Writing school, in school croft, was founded by William Birley, in 1715, and rebuilt in 1827; the master receives £120 a year from the endowment, for the instruction of forty foundation scholars in reading, writing, arithmetic, grammar, geography, mensuration, music and shorthand writing; and is allowed to admit private pupils.
Wesley College, Glossop road, is a large and somewhat imposing building in the Classic style, consisting of a long facade with a lofty central portico of the Corinthian order, and two projecting wings, of which the westernmost contains the chapel, and that to the east the principal schoolroom: it was completed in 1838, at a cost of about £15,000, raised in shares, of which £4,500 were paid for the six acres of land, a portion of which, in front of the college, is used as a recreation ground. The Rev. W. H. Dallinger F.R.S. is governor, chaplain and Professor of natural science; George Bassett esq. treasurer; Rev. D. Barley and Charles A. Branson esq. Secretaries; H. M. Shera LL.D., M.A. of Trinity College, Dublin, headmaster; R. Shindler M.A. Second master, assisted by nineteen masters and professors. This institution is now constituted a College of the University of London, and is empowered to issue certificates to candidates for examination or University degrees.
The Sheffield Collegiate school is a building in the Tudor Gothic style, pleasantly situated in Broomhall Park, and was erected in 1835 at a cost of £10,000, for the purpose of affording a practical and useful education to the sons of gentlemen, and generally to prepare pupils for the Universities; it has scholarships to the amount of £300 a year. The grounds tastefully laid out, comprise about 3 ½ acres, and contain in addition to the school, the principal’s house and rooms for forty boarders. Patron, the Archbishop of York; principal, Rev. J. J. Dyson M.A. late scholar of Gonville and Caius College, Cambridge; vice-principar, Arthur H. Anglin B.A.
The Mechanics’ Institution, originally founded in 1832, is situated in Tudor street, the foundation stone of the present building having been laid by the Earl of Arundel and surrey on the 1st of September, 1847. The library of the institution was incorporated in 1854 with the Borough Free Library, which occupies several of the principal rooms in the building:. The lecture hall is capable of seating a thousand persons. The Town Council hold their meetings here.
Firth College, situated at the corner of Bow street and Leopold street and forming part of a line of buildings containing the central schools and the school board offices, was erected at the sole cost of the late Ald. Mark Firth J.P. who also endowed it with £8,000, a further sum of £11,000 being subscribed by the inhabitants of Sheffield, making in all an endowment fund at present of rather more than £19,000; Messrs. Edward and Charles Henry Firth also gave a special donation of £1,000 to be applied to the purchase of fittings and apparatus for the chemical laboratory. The building, which cost £20,000, was designed by Messrs. Flockton and Abbott, of Sheffield and Mr. E.R. Robson of London, and contains a large lecture hall and gallery, lighted entirely from the roof and capable of seating about 500 persons. There is a chemical theatre holding about 180, and a well furnished laboratory, besides several smaller class rooms, a council room, registrar’s offices &c. The college is open to persons of either sex who have attained the age of 17. The Principal is not yet appointed; Mr. Ensor Drury is the registrar.
The Girls’ High school.-in 1876, a committee of ladies and gentlemen having been formed for the purpose of establishing a high-class school for girls in Sheffield, entered into negotiations with the London Public Day school Company, and secured for the purpose the old Music Hall in surrey street: this building having been thoroughly renovated and adapted to school purposes, was opened as a Girls’ High school, in March, 1878, and contains a large central hall, capable of seating about 600 persons, and used as a playroom, the adjoining rooms being arranged as class-rooms, cloak-rooms and lavatories. There are boarding houses in connection with the school, and a Preparatory Department for pupils from four to seven years of age. Mrs. Woodhouse (late of Clapham High school) is headmistress, assisted by a large staff of assistant mistresses and masters. The number of pupils is now over 200, with available room for 100 more. Several scholarships, in connection with the London Girls’ Public Day school Company, are open to pupils of this school.
The Sheffield school of Art in Arundel street, a building of stone and variegated brick in the Byzantine style, was erected in 1855 at a cost (including purchase of land and other expenses) of about £7,200, raised by subscription, and was opened in January, 1857; it contains rooms for the elementary and ladies’ classes, a sculpture gallery and room for geometrical and freehand drawing; there is also an entrance lobby and handsome staircase. The rooms are well stored with casts, models, drawings, specimens of English and foreign manufactures, and works of art. The average attendance varies from 150 to 200, and the number of students instructed annually from 350 to 400, but the school is capable of giving instruction to many more; the charges for instruction to apprentices are trifling; in the classes for ladies and gentlemen a somewhat higher fee is charged. The school is in a flourishing condition, and generally secures a high position in the national competition of Art schools held yearly at south Kensington. Local prizes are annually offered by the Duke of Norfolk, the Mayor, the Master Cutler and others.
The Church of England Educational Institute, situated in St. James’ street, and one of the most popular educational institutions in Sheffield, was erected at a cost of £2,000 raised by public subscription, and opened for students in 1860. There are about 400 who receive instruction from nearly 100 teachers, all of whom, except the French and German master, render their services gratuitously. Greek, Latin, French, German and English are taught, as well as mathematics, arithmetic, bookkeeping, shorthand writing, and other elementary subjects. The educational year is divided into two terms and so arranged as to allow a long vacation in the summer. The Rev. Canon Blakeney D.D. the vicar, is president; the Rev. C. Clementson B.A. with Messrs. Henry Pawson and Harold Thomas, honorary secretaries; Mr. Darwen, librarian and assistant secretary.
The first school Board for Sheffield under the provisions of the Elementary Education Act, 1870, was elected on November 28, 1870. The offices of the Board are in Leopold street.
The Board has built eighteen sets of schools of three departments each, three sets of two departments and one school only one department, and in addition carries on four temporary schools. A new school has also been opened in Burgoyne road, and additional departments are being provided at the Brightside and Woodside schools. The Springfield and Crookesmoor schools are being enlarged, and additions to the Carbrook school are in contemplation. A scheme has been sanctioned for a new school at Duchess road for 1,000 children. The Sheffield Ragged and Industrial schools having been purchased by the Board at a cost of £8,273, were opened as Board schools in March, 1880. Arrangements are also in progress for the transfer of the Lancasterian schools to the Board, the Education Department having approved of the buildings as Board schools for the accommodation of 363 boys, 262 girls and 244 infants.
The Central, or Higher Elementary schools, in Orchard lane, erected by the Sheffield school Board and intended to form a link between the ordinary Board schools and Firth college, were opened July 15th. 1880, by the Right Hon. Earl spencer K.G. lord president of the council: the buildings, constructed of Huddersfield stone, are in the Early English Renaissance style, and form three sides of a quadrangle, the offices of the Board in Leopold street constituting the centre of the group: the ground floor comprises a classroom for infants, a junior mixed school accommodating 233 scholars; an infants’ school accommodating 193, a deaf and dumb school, accommodating 48, gymnasium, and classrooms: on the first floor are eight class-rooms and apartments for the headmaster and mistress, with a library: the next storey is devoted exclusively to the large hall, estimated to hold 1,500 persons, and intended for lectures and similar purposes: the total cost of the buildings, including fittings, furniture and site, was £50,319 12s. 2d.: Messrs Flockton and Abbott were the architects; Mr. Alexander F. McBean M.A. is the principal.
The sites for the 21 schools already in operation have cost £53,074 (including Brightside and Woodside), although the payments are not yet completed, and the present enlargements of play grounds, building expenses, including architects’ commission, and erection of caretakers’ houses, amount to £178,402 18s. 11d. making a total of £239,751 4s. 6d. including £8,273 19s. 6d. paid for the Ragged schools. This amount, together with the cost of the other works in progress, is borrowed from the Public Works Loan Commissioners, under the powers of the Education Acts of 1870 and 1873, the interest being fixed at 3 ½ per cent, per annum. The repayments are spread over a period of 50 years, so that an annual charge upon the rates of £4 5s. 3d. per cent, on the total amount borrowed will provide for both payment of interest and repayment of principal within that period.
Board schools already Completed.
|Name of schools||Accommodation|
|1. Central Upper||250||250||-||500|
|2. Central Junior||142||141||193||476|
|14. Darnall Road||237||226||290||753|
|20. Langsett road||300||320||340||960|
|21. Heeley Bank||300||300||300||900|
|24. Burgoyne Road||934|
The National school in Carver street, built in 1812, the central school of the Sheffield National society, is attended by about 200 boys and 250 girls, and with its numerous branch day and Sunday schools, both in the town and suburbs, affords education to a considerable number of children.
St. Peter’s National schools, built in 1851, are in Queen street, and have an average daily attendance of about 240 boys, 220 girls and 200 infants, as well as a large number of Sunday scholars. A Ragged school is also held here every Sunday evening during the winter months, when instruction is given to nearly 1,000 poor children.
St. Mary’s church has large and well attended schools in Hermitage street and Leadmill road.
St. George’s school, a stone building in the Norman style, at the head of Beet street, was erected in 1844—5 at a cost of about £4,000, including £1,200 given for the site, and will accommodate 1,200 children.
St. Mary’s National school, Walkley, built in 1870—1, will hold 300 children—100 boys, 80 girls and 120 infants.
St. Paul’s National schools, Charles street, were built in 1844: larger schools were erected in 1869 in Cambridge street, at a cost of about £4,500.
Neepsend National schools were erected in 1857.
There are also schools in connection with the churches of St. Matthias and St. Barnabus; the former is in Napier street and the latter in Alderson road.
The Lancasterian school in Bowling Green street was established in 1809, rebuilt in 1866—7, and is attended by about 900 boys, girls and infants.
St. Stephen’s schools in Finlay street, are very commodious and cost £2,200.
There are also various other day and Sunday schools attached to the Church and Dissenting places of worship.
The Wesleyans opened their large Sunday school at Redhill in 1832 for day scholars; they have since done the same with the schools at Norfolk street, Brunswick, Park, Ellesmere road, Princess street, Heeley and Ebenezer and other chapels; these being now available for day scholars, who pay from twopence to four pence per week.
The Sunday school in connection with Queen street Congregational chapel was rebuilt in 1879, and will hold several hundred scholars.
There are also several Infant schools; four of these being under the care of the Infant school society connected with the Established Church.
The Boys’ Charity school, East parade, built in 1710, and rebuilt in 1825—6, affords board, lodging, clothing and education to 100 poor boys, who are admitted at the age of eight and remain until they are fourteen: the expenditure amounts to £1,400 a year, which is met by endowment, voluntary subscriptions and collections at the various churches.
The Girls’ Charity school, established in 1786, was removed from St. James’ row to Mount pleasant, London road, in 1874, purchased by the trustees for the sum of £5,500, including several acres of freehold land; the object of this institution is to clothe, support and educate 60 poor girls for domestic service; they are admitted at the age of eight and remain until they are fifteen, when they are put out to service: the expenses amount to about £650 a year, met by annual subscriptions of about £100, legacies, collections at churches and chapels and interest on stock.
The Catholics have schools in Whitecroft, St. Mary’s road, Solly street and Shoreham street.
St. Vincent’s house, Red hill, is the residence of the sisters of Charity, who visit the sick and poor, and assist in the schools.
St. Wilfred’s Catholic schools in Shoreham street, were erected in 1879 by the Duke of Norfolk, at a cost of £10,000, for 800 children: the building is in the Tudor style, and was erected from the designs of Messrs. M. E. Hadfield and son, architects of this town: a portion is temporarily used as a chapel.
The Yorkshire Catholic Girls’ Reformatory school, Howard hill, certified by Government as a reformatory school for girls, was opened on the 18th August, 1861, and is intended for the reception of Catholic girls from all parts of England and Wales, being the only institution of the kind in this part of the country; it is under the management of sisters of Charity of the Order of St. Vincent de Paul, The Convent of Notre Dame, established in 1863, in Springfield, Convent walk, in an educational establishment, conducted by the Bisters of that name, and includes select boarding and day schools for young ladies of the higher classes, with a large day school tor girls of the humbler classes.
The Female Refuge, Gell street, was established for the purpose of reclaiming fallen women to the paths of virtue.
The Ragged schools in Pea croft, established by the Rev. John Manners, and erected in 1848, were on the 10th of May, 1869, totally destroyed by fire; in 1871 new and mors commodious schools were erected at a cost of over £2,000, and in March, 1877, being transferred to the Sheffield school Board, are now known as the “Crofts Board school.” There still remains on part of the premises a night refuge for 20 boys and an orphanage for 10 girls, who are taken at six years and stay till twelve years of age; all the children are well instructed in every branch of a plain English education.
With a portion of the amount realised from the sale of the above school, an Orphanage for boys and girls similarly conducted, has been erected in Lydgate lane, Crookes: a portion of the income of this establishment is derived from the interest of funds in the hands of the Charity Commissioners.
Cherry Tree Orphanage, first located at Cherry Tree Hill, Sheffield, now occupies eligible premises on about seven acres of freehold land at Totley, about 5 ½ miles from the town, erected at a cost of £2,300, for 70 children of all denominations and from all parts of the British empire, who are admitted at from five to ten years of age; the boys remaining until they are fourteen and the girls till sixteen years of age, when they are placed in suitable situations. A certificated teacher superintends the educational training, and a matron is employed to prepare the girls for domestic service. The Orphanage property, vested in trustees, is managed by a committee of Sheffield gentlemen, the household arrangements being conducted by a committee of ladies; the institution is chiefly dependent on voluntary contributions. Chairman of the committee, Alderman David Ward.
The Sheffield scripture Readers’ society employs several paid agents, in addition to others employed in the town by the Pastoral Aid and Reformation societies.
The Church of England Bible and Tract Depot is at 23 Church street.
The Sheffield Church Conference, established in 1869, has for its objects the development of the parochial system by the combined efforts of the clergy and laity; the increase of church and school accommodation; the establishment of mission house and schoolroom services and cottage lectures, in which laymen as well as clergymen may be engaged; the making of grants in aid of additional curates; and the extension of church work generally; it has already distributed £2,682 to thirty-four different objects in the various parishes in Sheffield: the Archbishop of York is president.
The Sheffield Christian and Educational Institute, established in 1844, was erected in 1862 under the auspices of the Methodist Free Churches, at a cost of nearly £2,000, and adjoins their chapel in surrey street: there are six Bible classes, each of which meets twice on Sunday, throughout the year, and fifty-four educational classes, or about eleven classes every evening except Tuesday: examinations take place at the end of each session, the marks of the first session being carried forward to the second, and prizes, consisting of useful books, distributed at Christmas to successful competitors, of the aggregate value of ten or twelve pounds: youths are admitted at the age of sixteen, girls at fourteen; there are upwards of 500 students: the system of instruction includes French, German, drawing, bookkeeping, elocution, theology, mathematics, English grammar, history, musical notation, reading, writing and arithmetic: the work of the year is divided into two sessions, the first commencing the third week in January and continuing till May, and the second commencing at the latter end of August and ending in December: the terms are two shillings for each session, with an extra two shillings for French and German, under a professional teacher: there are forty-six teachers, who (two only excepted) are voluntary: a sick and funeral society has been established in connection with the institute, in order to release the students from the necessity of joining such as meet in public houses: the library of the institute contains about 1,000 volumes.
The Sheffield Architectural and Archaeological society, established in November, 1867, holds its meetings at the school of Art, in Arundel street; the Rev. J. Stacye is president; J. D. Leader, vice-president; J. D. Webster, secretary.
St. George’s museum, founded by Mr. John Ruskin, the art critic, is at Upper Walkley, in the north-western suburbs of the town: Mr. Raskin, desiring to place within the reach of the humblest artizan, a taste and capacity for art, and as perfect an educational museum as the wealthiest student can command, purchased an acre of land with a stone cottage upon it several years ago, the principal room in which serves for the museum: this, however, is but a temporary arrangement until new buildings are erected, to include a picture gallery, library and reading room: the contents or the museum at present are:-(1) a small but rich and rare mineral collection, containing some of the finest specimens of precious stones the country possesses; (2) a natural history section, composed of the best illustrated works published, many of them containing original drawings of great beauty and value; (3) a botany section, composed of carefully executed drawings, some of the most beautiful being Mr. Ruskin’s own work; (4) a small collection of paintings and drawings, chiefly from the old masters, a few of them originals of great value, the rest careful copies and studies of the best works; (5) a small collection of classical literature, Greek, Latin and English, all valuable, and some of them rare old works and splendid specimens of typography: there are also a few busts and other studies: the St. George’s museum is not intended for the recreation of mere sight-seers, but as an educational institution for art students: the collections are carefully arranged with a view to progressive study, clear and exact instructions in drawing from Mr. Ruskin’s own pen being supplied for the guidance of elementary students: from forty to fifty students are now in attendance, some of whom, living at a distance, come to the town for a few weeks at intervals: many of the most laborious students are artizans: the museum is opened to students daily (Thursdays excepted) free of charge; visitors may obtain tickets from Mr. Thomas Rogers, Market place, or by letter from Mr. Swann, the curator.
The Literary and Philosophical society, established in 1822 occupies rooms at the Sheffield school of Art, Arundel street; it possesses a well selected library, consisting chiefly of scientific works and books of reference. The society meets for the reading of papers and general business on the first Tuesday in each month; not less than eight lectures are delivered and a conversazione held during the year.
The Sheffield society of Artists holds its meetings at the Kings Head, Change alley, and has on the books 20 members, 24 associates and 34 annual subscribers of one guinea each; William Poole is president.
The Sheffield Field Naturalists’ society was established in 1862 and numbers about 190 members; Frederick Brittain is president and J. Charles Burrell, King street, secretary.
The Sheffield Library, occupying part of the Music Hall, and including a spacious reading room, was commenced in 1771 and contains about 80,000 volumes, the property of the shareholders, who number about 280; the shares are £5 each and the yearly subscription 30s.
The Sheffield Free Public Library, surrey street, was established by the Town Council in 1855 and is supported by a small rate (included in the poor rates), levied upon all property in the borough: attached to the library are large rooms, suitably furnished, for reading and study, with a separate reading room for ladies: the total number of volumes now in the library is 37,926, 4,420 of which have been selected from the late Mechanics’ and Apprentices’ Library. The Upperthorpe branch library, opened 1869, contains 10,367 volumes: the Brightside branch library, opened 1872, 10,156 volumes, 5,196 of which were purchased by the committee at a cost of £737 1s. 1d. The Highfield branch library, opened in 1876, has 8,342 volumes, 4,373 being purchased at a cost of £612. The Free library is open to the public gratuitously every day from ten in the morning to half-past nine in the evening (Sunday excepted).
The Athenaeum was first established in 1847, and in December, 1858, removed to the present spacious premises in George street, at a cost of £3,500, of which £1,000 was expended in alterations and furnishing: in addition to the ordinary accommodation of a first-rate club house, the institution has a well-supplied news-room and an extensive library: the cost of the building was raised by £20 and £5 shares, all of which are issued, the former entitling the holder to life membership, the latter to membership on payment of £1 per year; non-shareholders are admitted to the institution on payment of a yearly subscription: a separate suite of rooms has been furnished for lady members, with use of library and various other privileges. Strangers residing at a distance of ten miles or more from the town can have access to the news-room for a month gratuitously, on the introduction of a member.
The Athenaeum Chess Club, established in 1847 and numbering 60 members, meets here every Tuesday and Thursday evening at 7 o’clock; Mr. Thomas Brown is the secretary.
The Sheffield District Incorporated Law society, in which is merged the old Sheffield Law Library (incorporated September 11th. 1875) occupies rooms in Aldine court, High street; the number of members is 134 and the yearly subscription £1 11s. 6d.
The Sheffield Club, in Norfolk street, is an institution conducted on the same principle as the West end clubs of the metropolis: it Is limited to 300 members, who are elected by ballot; the subscription is seven guineas yearly, with fifteen guineas as entrance fee.
Highfield Club, London road, consisting of 300 members, was formed in 1873, and is an institution tor social and recreative purposes; there are reading, refreshment, lecture and card and billiard rooms: adjoining is a large piece of ground which has been laid out as pleasure grounds and a bowling green.
St. George’s Club, Western Bank, has reading, dining, card and concert and billiard rooms, and a pleasant garden: the members now number about 250.
Ecclesall Club in south street, Moor, established in 1870, is an institution for the social and recreative convenience of working men, and has about 400 members: there are reading, refreshment, lecture and ball, and billiard and card rooms.
The Liberal Association Rooms, 19 Angel street, form the head quarters of the Liberal Association, and include reading, coffee, smoking and committee rooms. Mr. Robert Leader is president and Mr. Henry J. Wilson hon. sec.
The Central Rooms of the Sheffield Conservative Club are situate at 97 Norfolk street, and were opened to the members on Monday, May 7, 1877, and contain a secretary’s office, with reading, smoking and conversation rooms. These rooms are not in any sense a club, but are available as a central resort for all the members of the different local Conservative organisations.
St. Peter’s Club, 81 Norfolk street, formed in 1872 for the convenience of tradesmen and clerks, has about 750 members: the building, which belongs to the proprietors of the Theatre Royal, contains reading and billiard rooms, and a table d’hote is provided daily. The annual subscription is one guinea.
The St. Peter’s Chess Club meet every Wednesday, Thursday and Saturday evening at 8 o’clock. Mr. E. Barraclough is president and acting secretary.
The Attercliffe Working Men’s Club is situate in Lord street, Attercliffe; Benjamin Huntsman esq. president.
The Music Hall in surrey street, belonging to a company of proprietors, is now used as a high school for girls, the ground floor of the building being occupied by the Sheffield Library.
“Sheffield Amateur Parliament” was established in 1880, and is intended to promote the art of public speaking by holding debates, conducted as far as possible in accordance with the rules and regulations of the House of Commons: this political association consists of 651 members (303 being Liberals, 251 Conservative, and the remainder Independents), each member paying an entrance fee of 2s. 6d. and a yearly subscription of the same amount: all candidates must be over 20 and under 50 years of age, and reside within ten miles of Sheffield. The first session began on the 1st October, 1880, at the Firth College, where the house meets every Friday evening from that date to the 1st April inclusive. The gallery is open to the public at a charge of sixpence, and is exceedingly well attended.
The Town Hall, in Castle street and Waingate, is a large stone building, erected in 1808 and enlarged in 1833, at the expense of the town trust, and contains court rooms for the borough and West Riding justices, besides others for the use of magistrates, barristers and others: the town trustees, in whom the hall is vested, have granted it to the Town Council on a lease of 500 years, at a nominal rent. The quarter sessions, both for the county and borough, as well as the borough petty sessions, are held here, the latter daily at 12; and for the West Riding district, beyond the boundaries of the borough, on Tuesdays and Fridays, at the same hour.
The Police station, in Castle green, is a building of hard dressed stone, with lofty, spacious and well-lighted rooms for the use of the staff and the transaction of business. There are 34 cells, well constructed, and affording ample provision for the safe custody and proper treatment of more than 70 prisoners. There is a convenient underground communication between the police offices and the town hall. The total cost, including land, buildings and fittings, was between £16,000 and £17,000. The police force, appointed by and under the control of the Watch Committee, comprises chief constable, 3 superintendents, 13 inspectors, 5 detectives, 29 sergeants and 290 constables, with an additional superintendent, detective officer, 2 sergeants and 3 constables.
The General Post Office, in the Old Haymarket, at the corner of Commercial street, opened in 1874, is a handsome building, of Hollington stone, in the Doric style and was erected from designs by James Williams esq. architect to H.M. office of works. On the ground floor are the money order, savings bank and telegraph offices, the first floor being appropriated to letter curriers, and the second to telegraphists, the sorting office being at the rear of the main building. Mr. Thomas Mawson is the postmaster.
The St. Peter’s Club occupies the old Assembly Rooms in Norfolk street, erected in 1762.
The Council Hall is in surrey street, in the building partly occupied by the Free Library, and purchased by the Town Council in 1865 from the trustees of the Mechanics' Institution, for the sum of £4,500. The meetings of the Town Council are held here.
The Cutlers’ Halt, in Church street, a fine building in the Corinthian style of architecture, supported by massive pillars, was erected in 1823, at a cost of £6,500, for the transaction of business connected with the Cutlers’ Company; being also used for public entertainments, and particularly the Cutlers’ Feast, held on the first Thursday in September. The building contains several good suites of rooms, appropriately and elegantly furnished, the walls being graced with a fine collection of paintings, among which are portraits of the Duke of Wellington, the first Lord Wharncliffe, the second Earl Fitzwilliam, J. Hunter esq. Hugh Parker esq. and the late vicar of Sheffield. The building was much enlarged and altered in 1867: the new banqueting hall, a fine apartment in the Italian style, elaborately decorated, being 110 feet long, 50 feet wide, and 50 feet high, has a large gallery for ladies. These alterations cost £8,000. The old dining hall is now used as a reception-room.
The Cutlers’ Company was incorporated by an Act of Parliament, passed in 1624, and altered and amended by subsequent Acts in 1791,1801 and 1814, and has the exclusive right of granting the use of trade marks: the trades included in the provisions of the Act were:-the manufacture of knives, sickles, shears, scissors, razors and other cutlery wares; but no person practising these trades could be admitted a member of the company except those who were sons of freemen, or had been apprenticed to freemen, until the passing of the last Act, which extended the privilege of admission to the company to persons not being freemen of the company or entitled to the freedom thereof on payment of £20, in addition to the stamp of £3 0s. 6d. upon the enrolment: this Act was obtained in 1860, and by its operation the charter is made to comprehend the manufacturers of steel as well as of saws, edge tools and other articles having a cutting edge. The company had no property at its incorporation, but derived an income from various fees, which now exceeds £1,000, arising from the fees paid for grants of trade marks and from divers investments: a sum of a hundred guineas is annually allowed to the Master Cutler towards the cost of the cutlers’ feast given during his mastership, a meeting which for the cutlery district bears the same relative importance as the Lord Mayor’s dinner for the City of London: the present Master Cutler is William Chesterman; Wardens, John E. Bingham and Albert A. Jowitt: the arms of the company are the same as those of the London Cutlers’ Company, the motto being “Pour parvenir, a bonne foy,” rendered, “To succeed in business, keep up your credit.” The principal function of the Cutlers’ Company at present is the granting and registering of Corporate or Trade Marks, with which the owner may mark all articles of steel or iron or of steel and iron combined, such as sickles, shears, saws, edge tools and other articles having a cutting edge and usually known as cutlery: the mark is the absolute property of the person to whom it is granted, whether he uses it or not, but he can only assign by a process analogous to that by which a copyholder transfers his copyhold by surrendering it to the lord to the use of the intended assignee; so the owner of a mark surrenders it to the Cutlers’ Company to the intent that it may be regranted to his nominee, except that the Cutlers’ Company are not bound so to assign it, if, in the exercise of a sound discretion, they think it too nearly resembles another mark already granted: in case of death the mark does not in the first instance pass by the will of the owner, but his widow (if any) is entitled to the use of the mark during her life, independent of any future coverture, and she may sell or let the right to use it during her life, but after her death the will of the husband (if any) takes effect, but if the husband die intestate the mark becomes part of his general personal estate; but by 54 Geo. III. no more than one person of a family may use the mark at the same time; the County Magistrates for the West Riding having summary jurisdiction with power of fine to £20 over any person counterfeiting any cutler’s mark: no person can hold more than one mark by assignment, but if one devolve ob him by succession he may still (subject to certain rules) have another assigned to him: the Company will not grant a mark to a firm or a corporation, but only to an individual: there is no stamp duty on the surrender of a mark: all rights of the Cutlers’ Company are reserved by the Trade Marks Registration Act, 1875. The importance and value of the Corporate Marks may be judged of by the fact that in the balance sheet of one trading firm the Corporate Mark is set down as an asset of the value of £30,000.
The Capital Burgesses and Commonalty were incorporated by a charter of Queen Mary in 1554, under the following circumstances:-During the period immediately preceding the Reformation, as a result of the change which had come over the religious feelings of the inhabitants, the alms and pious largesses by which three priests, assistants to the vicar, had been supported, fell off, and in 1539 were wholly withdrawn, but the vicar and churchwardens, having the control of the lands belonging to the burgesses’ trust, devoted £17 per annum of the revenue thus derived, and then amounting to £27, to the support of three priests: Edward VI.’s Commissioners for the suppression of Colleges in due course visited Sheffield, and finding the priests enjoying this income, seized the lands from which it was derived and confiscated them to the Crown: on the accession of Mary in 1553, the inhabitants petitioned for a restoration of these lands, alleging that they had been left, not for religious, but for secular purposes only, specifying amongst these the repair of “brydges and wayes,” “the releffe of the most nedye and indigent persons,” and “the reparation of the churche:” the Queen accordingly restored the lands by Royal Charter, dated June, 1554, and vested them in “The Twelve Capital Burgesses and Commonalty,” in trust (1), to maintain three chaplains, to celebrate divine ordinances in the parish church of Sheffield, as helpers to the vicar; (2), to repair the parish church, bridges and common ways; and (3) to assist the poor and needy inhabitants: the rents of the estate when confiscated in 1546 were £17; in 1570 (after restoration), £36; 1595, £49; 1620, £100; 1736, £250; 1819, £1,000, and are now £3,000 per annum: in the course of time the revenue was employed almost exclusively for the purposes of the church, and the trustees assumed to themselves the name of “Church Burgesses;” as their income increased, so did the stipends of the three assistant ministers, till they reached £400 each: besides the £1,200 thus paid to the assistant ministers, the trustees pay other sums to the chaplain of the infirmary, organist, sexton, and for the repairs of the parish church. In 1854 the Court of Chancery ordered that £1,600 of the income should be applied to the repair of the parish church and the ordinary expenses of divine worship there, with a payment of £100 to the chaplain of the infirmary, and of £200 and £150 to two curates; the remainder to be applied to the ecclesiastical endowment of certain specified districts, in the following proportions:-Gilcar, £150; Broomhall, £150; Highfield, £100; Dyers Hill, £50 and St. James’, £20; the salaries of the incumbents of other districts being also increased to £150: under the scheme five-sevenths of the net income are applicable to ecclesiastical and the remainder to secular purposes: of this a sum not exceeding £20 is to be contributed to the repairs of bridges and highways and the remainder to the support of the infirmary, dispensary, boys’ and girls’ charity schools, Lancasterian and National schools &c. The present Church Burgesses who elect their own members, are:-Messrs. S. Roberts J.P. Edward Hudson, Sir John Brown J.P. H. I. Dixon, James W. Harrison, Thomas Wilson, Thomas A. Sorby J.P. Wm. Brown, Francis Hobson, Henry Rodgers and Thomas Turner: Mr. John James Wheat is law clerk to the trust; Mr. Thomas James Flockton, surveyor.
The Town Burgesses’ Trust.-The instrument under which this property now regulated by the “Sheffield Town Trustees’ Act” of 1873, is held in trust, consists of a charter granted August 10th. 1297, by Thomas, third Lord Furnival, the original of which is now in the possession of the trustees: some particulars relating to the early history of this trust are given in the account of the estate now administered by “The Church Burgesses and Commonalty:” the control of one-third of the lands and tenements, after the Reformation, was transferred to some of the principal inhabitants, who took the name of “The Burgesses, or Free Tenants of Sheffield:” a decree of the Charity Commissioners, in 1864, limits the number of these burgesses to thirteen, and defines the funds of the trust to be for the repair of Lady’s Bridge, for the cleansing of Barker pool, repairing highways and other charitable and public uses: the trust consists, like that of the Church Burgesses, of property held in trust for the benefit of the town at large: in 1565 the income of the trust (after the withdrawal of a portion for church purposes) amounted to £7 7s. a year; in 1621 to £18 10s. 10d.; in 1702 to £73; and it now produces about £4,800 per annum, of which £1,160 arises from River Don Navigation shares and from land in and near the town: on the death of Mrs. Bailey the town trustees became possessed of the remainder of a bequest of £90,000, left by her brother-in-law the late Mr. Samuel Bailey, the interest of which is to applied to objects of utility not of an ecclesiastical nature: they also hold in trust a bequest of £25,000, left by the late Daniel Holy esq. for the benefit of the North of England Manufactory for the Blind, Manchester road, Broomhill: the trustees have, at various periods, expended large sums in widening the streets and otherwise improving the town, and have promised a handsome sum towards the opening of Norfolk street to the Haymarket: their ordinary expenditure includes the maintenance of the Town Hall, erected by them, and the public pumps, besides making payments to public charities, the ringers, beadle, bellman and liquidating interest on loans. These trustees are elected by the freeholders of the township of Sheffield, and are:-Messrs. Samuel Roberts J.P. (the collector), John Carr, Robert Leader, Thomas Jessop J.P. Sir John Brown J.P., W. H. Brittain, John Webster J.P. Frederick Thorpe Mappin J.P. and M.P. William Wake, James Henry Barber and Henry E. Watson; H. Vickers and son, law clerks; John Thomas Flockton, surveyor.
The Fitzalan building, formerly an exchange and news room, established in 1856, was erected from the designs of Messrs. Weightman, Hadfield and Goldie, and terminates the pile of buildings completed for the butchers’ and poulterers’ markets, occupying the facade towards the Old Market. The exterior, constructed of the durable and beautiful Darley Dale stone, has a facade consisting of a centre and two receding wings; the whole resting on an arcade of three bold openings, with imposts, archivolts and keystones, beautifully carved with emblems suited to the markets: the lower entrances are in the wings, and over the market entrances are two niches, with figures, carved in stone, of Mercury and Vulcan.
The Sheffield Chamber of Commerce, in union with the Association of Chambers of Commerce of the United Kingdom, occupies offices in East parade, and consists at present of about 140 members, including the leading mercantile, manufacturing and banking firms in Sheffield.
The Albert Hall, situate in Barker pool, first projected in 1867, was erected by a limited company, with a capital of £15,000, the foundation stone being laid by the Duke of Norfolk in September, 1870: it is a building of brick with stone dressings, in the Italian style, and contains a concert hall capable of holding about 2,500 spectators: ample ventilation is secured by means of a tower 120 feet high, and there are no less than five staircases available for exit in case of fire. The principal feature of the hall is the magnificent organ by A. C. Coll, of Paris, containing upwards of 5,000 pipes, 76 stops, 16 combination pedals, 4 rows of manuals and a full-sized pedal organ; being one of the finest organs in the north of England. Alderman John Fairburn is president of the company, and Thomas Jessop esq. J.P. treasurer.
New Brunswick Hall, situated near Spital hill, erected at a cost of £3,000, is now used by the “salvation Army” as a place of worship.
The Temperance Hall, situated in Townhead street, is the property of the Sheffield Temperance Association, and has a large room capable of holding 2,000 people and used for public meetings. The building cost £2,500.
Sheffield Medical school, in connection with the University of London, is conducted in a building in surrey street; the pupils attending the General Infirmary and Public Hospital: an institution, first established in 1792, and capable of receiving 180 patients, who are wholly provided for in the house; there being also about 650 out-patients; the Infirmary is open to all strangers, as well as residents, who have not the means of procuring medical and surgical advice: a fever ward has since been built: the funds, derived from annual subscriptions and donations, were Considerably augmented in 1822 by a legacy of £6,873 from the Rev. T. Gisborne, of Staveley, who also left a similar amount to each of the infirmaries of Leicester and Nottingham. The Public Dispensary in West street was built by voluntary subscriptions in 1832, raised for the most part through the exertions of its founder and senior physician, the late Dr. J. C. Hall: the building is of red and white brick, and contains 106 beds. The original buildings have been several times enlarged; the latest addition being that of a hospital added in 1858 and considerably extended in 1869.
The Jessop Hospital for Women, under the name of the Sheffield Hospital for Women, was until recently, situated in Figtree lane, where it was established for the purpose of attending cases of midwifery amongst the poor, and treating diseases peculiar to women. The charity has existed since July, 1864, and having completely outgrown the scanty accommodation of the old premises, a new hospital was erected from the designs of Mr. J.D. Webster, in Leavy Greave road, and is a handsome, capacious and admirably arranged building, sufficient, not only for present requirements, but making ample provision for increase of population in future years. Mr. Jessop, the president of the institution, has generously defrayed the entire cost of the building, and has in addition, furnished it throughout in a very complete and substantial manner. The medical officers are Dr. Edward Jackson, Dr. Keeling Dr. Hime, and Mr. Woolhouse. Miss Andrewes is the matron; Mr. C. Barber is the secretary; and Mr. Charls Warner, the collector.
The Sheffield Public Hospital for Diseases of the skin, situated at 38 Holly street, was established in March, 1880, by Dr. H. J. Hardwicke M.D., M.R.C.P.K. for the benefit of poor people, and its existence is amply justified by the fact that not less than 950 patients were admitted during the first nine months; upwards of 7,000 attendances for treatment and advice being registered during the same period. No one is eligible as a patient who is a member of a family in receipt of £1 per week, or, in case of families exceeding six in number, 4s. per head, nor may any patient remain on the books for longer than six weeks from the date of admission; but if on the expiration of that time, a cure is not effected, he may be re-admitted. This institution is supported entirely by subscription, and is open daily from three to four o’clock in the afternoon, Sundays excepted. Hon. physicians, H. J. Hardwicke M.D. and J. W. Martin M.D.; non. Surgeons, J. Hazard M.R.C.S. and W. D. James M.R.C.S. The committee consists of the Mayor as chairman, with seventeen other gentlemen, including the medical and surgical staff. Auditor, William Nicholson; hon sec. and treasurer, Bernard Parkin.
The Blind Institution in Manchester road, Broomhill, owes its origin to the bequest of the late Mr. Daniel Holy, formerly of Burntstones, Sheffield, who bequeathed to the town trustees a sum of £25,000 in aid of their income, on condition that within a given period a suitable building should be erected for the educational, industrial and physical training of blind young persons of both sexes. In response to an urgent appeal by the trustees, the sum of £15,000 was raised by subscription, and the present building opened on the 24th September, 1879. In addition to a sound moral and religious training, pupils are instructed in reading by means of the Braille and Moon characters, in arithmetic, writing, geography, history, grammar and other subjects; with a view to their self-support in after life, they also go through a course of industrial teaching, and musical instruction is given to those who show an aptitude for it; while the physical development of the pupils is promoted by encouraging suitable games and exercises. Fees become due on the 1st January, 1st April, 1st July and 1st October, and must be paid quarterly in advance, but the first payment will be from the date of admission, parents and friends of pupils who are in a position to pay the cost of a blind child’s maintenance and education will be expected to pay the actual cost thereof during residence; the building is open to visitors every day (except Sunday), between the hours of 10 a.m. and 4 p.m.; and to the parents and friends of pupils once a month on Saturdays, from 1.30 to 5 p.m. but pupils must not be taken from the school or grounds without the permission of the superintendent and matron. Mr. William Wood, formerly master of the Blind school, Upper Avenue road. Regent’s park, and recently of the Earlswood Asylum for Imbeciles, is superintendent, and Mrs. Gover, matron; hon. Sec. Mr. William Rawson Carter, Dixon lane, Sheffield.
The Nurses’ Home, 264 Glossop road, was established in 1871, for the training of nurses to attend on private families. As the funds of the institution increase, it is intended eventually to maintain a certain number of nurses for the exclusive benefit of the poor. The institution is supported by donations and subscriptions. Treasurer, J. H. Barber esq.; honorary secretary, J. Barber; collector, Charles Warner, Church street; lady superintendent, Miss Corban.
Deakin Institution.-Mr. Thomas Deakin, of Change alley, London, merchant, who died in August, 1849, bequeathed £3,000 for the foundation of a “charitable institution in Sheffield,” his native place, “for the benefit of single women of good character, being 40 years of age and upwards, and living in any part of England, but either members of the Church of England or Protestant Dissenters acknowledging the Trinity,” upon condition, however, that the bequest should not be carried into effect unless a like sum of £3,000 was raised by donations. The required amount being accordingly collected, in 1852 the charity was established, under a scheme approved by the Master of the Rolls, and the capital fund has increased by donations, legacies and subscriptions, until it now amounts to over £26,000; donation of £50 constitutes a life governor, and annual subscriptions of £5 5s. after three payments, constitute a governor so long as the subscription is continued. There has been no outlay in buildings nor is there any paid staff of officials, and consequently no expenses for management, except such as printing, advertising, auditing and hire of room for annual meeting. There are now 41 annuitants, of whom 25 receive £25 per annum and the remaining 16 £20 per annum; these annuitants, who are spread over the whole country, are selected by the governors at the annual meetings in October, held in Sheffield: on being elected they enter immediately upon their allowance, without any personal interview or expense; and all these details are so arranged that none need know whence the aid is derived but the recipients. There are at present about 200 governors: His Grace the Lord Archbishop of York is president; The Right Hon. Earl Fitzwilliam and the Right Hon. the Earl of Effingham, vice presidents; Messrs. Thomas William Rodgers J.P. and Henry E. Watson, trustees; Arthur Thomas esq. hon. Secretary.
Sheffield Girls’ Friendly society Lodge, at 186 Hanover street, of which Her Majesty the Queen is patron, is intended to provide a home where members of the society and other young women of respectable character may obtain a comfortable lodging, either for one night or for a longer period at a moderate charge. There are sewing and knitting classes on Monday and Tuesday evenings, to which girls may take clean garments to mend. Materials may be obtained at the Lodge for those who wish to make new articles of clothing. There is also a lending library and a Free registry, and a singing class is held every Saturday evening at eight o’clock. The Lodge is open daily, from 8 a.m. to 9.30 p.m. President, Mrs. Blakeney; treasurer, Mrs. W. Smith; hon. Sec. Miss Aslett.
Hanbby’s Charity.-Mr. Thomas Hanbey, of London, a native of Sheffield, in 1765, left a sum of £8,000 (3 per Cents.), to the Cutlers’ Company, upon trust, to apply the interest of £3,000 to the support of six boys in the Boys’ Charity school, with £10 to the master of the school, and the interest of the remaining £5,000 (about £150 a year) to be distributed in clothes and money to creditable poor housekeepers, being members of the Church of England, aged 50 and upwards, two-thirds of whom must be men and one-third women. The gifts of charity are distributed by the Cutlers’ Company on the 2sth June (Mr. Hanbey’s birthday), when each individual receives £1 in money, a black hat or bonnet, and a blue coat or cloak.
Hadfield’s Charity.-Mr. Samuel Hadfield, of Sheffield, merchant, shortly before his death in 1850, expressed to his brother, Mr. George Hadfield (late M.P. for Sheffield), his desire to leave £3,000 as a provision for the industrious poor of Sheffield, after the manner of Hanbey’s Charity: but dying without making any actual disposition for that purpose, and leaving the bulk of his property to his brother, the latter vested in trustees the sum of £3,000, the interest of which should be annually distributed, after the manner of Hanbey’s Charity, “to all classes and denominations excluded from the benefits of Hanbey’s charity by reason of their not being members of the Church of England:” and this charity is accordingly distributed annually on the 28th June, by the Master and Wardens of the Cutlers’ Company and the Mayor and Aldermen for the time being.
Sanderson’s Charity.-The late Mr. James Sanderson, of Upperthorpe, one of the overseers of the poor for Nether Hallam, bequeathed to the overseers in trust £100, to be laid out at interest, and the income thereof to be given annually to 20 aged poor widows of the township of Nether Hallam, at the feast of St. Thomas the Apostle. The trustees, having subscribed the sum of £80, and added thereto a further amount of £24 then at their disposal, purchased a piece of freehold ground, at the back of the Crookesmoor vestry offices, and let it as a depot to the Town Council at the rate of £10 per annum. The number of recipients of Sanderson’s charity is increased to 40, each receiving 5s. a year.
Withers’ Charity originated in the munificence of the late Miss Withers, who left £10,000, the income arising from which should be divided annually in pensions of £10 each among widows or single women in reduced circumstances, of the age of 50 years and upwards: the object of the donor in founding this charity being to commemorate her late brother Mr. Benjamin Withers: the trustees who meet annually in October to arrange the list of recipients for the ensuing year, are the incumbent of St. Paul’s (ex officio), Messrs. Thomas William Rodgers J.P. Henry Edmund Watson, Charles Elliott, J. B. Mitchell-Withers, Henry E. Watson and Henry Isaac Dixon.
Aged Female society.-This institution, established for the purpose of distributing money and clothing amongst poor and infirm women of sixty-five years of age and upwards, is managed by a committee of ladies, who visit the poor recipients and collect subscriptions: the income amounts to between £400 and £500, and is distributed amongst poor persons, to the amount of 20s. each, in money or clothing; Samuel Roberts esq. J.P. and J. H. Barber, treasurer.
The General Benevolent society is a charitable organization for the purpose of dispensing relief in food and clothing to deserving persons, irrespective of religious denomination; the vicar is president; and there is a committee composed of a large number of benevolent and pious ladies, who do duty as visitors of the poor.
The shipwrecked Fishermen and Mariners’ Royal Benevolent society, a sister society to the Life Boat Institution, has a branch here.
Mr. George Hounsfield, of High Hazles, who died in 1870, left the sum of £20,000 to the Church Burgesses in trust, the interest to be applied yearly in pensions of £30 each to men, unmarried women, or widows in reduced circumstances but not having been in receipt of parochial relief, recipients must be not less than 50 years of age, resident in England or Wales and members of the Established Church; by the direction of Mr. Hounsfield’s widow, to whom the use of the fund had been secured during her life, the first distribution took place on July 1st, 1870. The pensioners, numbering upwards of 20, are eligible for re-election annually.
The Irow, Hardware and Metal Trades’ Pension Society was established in 1843, for the purpose of granting yearly pensions of 20 guineas each to deserving and necessitous members of those trades, or their widows: this institution is supported by subscribers in all parts of England, and has its office at 5, New Bridge street, London: since its foundation 193 persons have been elected pensioners, of whom 107 are now recipients, viz. 50 men and 57 women, whose united pensions amount to £2,130 per annum: of this number 20 pensioners are resident in Sheffield and its neighbourhood, where there are about 300 subscribers to the society’s funds, which, though large, require a considerable augmentation to meet the demands of an increasing number of highly-deserving applicants. Collector for Sheffield district, Francis Wood.
Samuel Bailey Esq. of Norbury, who died the 18th of January, 1870, left the residue of his personal estate to the town trustees of Sheffield, to invest the principal and apply the annual income “for such objects of public utility in Sheffield, or for such other charitable purposes (not being of an ecclesiastical nature) as the general annual income of the trust funds belonging to them as such trustees in trust for the town of Sheffield as aforesaid, are applicable.” on the 14th April, 1870, John Hopkinson and Martha his wife, claiming to be next of kin, filed a bill in chancery against the town trustees and the executors, but afterwards withdrew it on finding that there were nearer relatives living. The town trustees then commenced a friendly suit against the executors under the will, Messrs. J. H. Barber and William Fisher, to obtain the direction of the Court as to the disposal of the money, when it was decided that £80,000 out of the residuary estate should be paid to them, and a life interest in £10,000 to the testator’s relative, upon whose death in January, 1880, the principal reverted to them.
The North of England Manufactory for the Blind was established in 1860, in accordance with the benevolent design of the late Miss Harrison, of Weston, with a view of assisting the indigent blind to earn a living by their own industry; the articles manufactured by the inmates, consisting chiefly of baskets, brushes, mats, matting and rag carpets, are sold at the depot; from 20 to 30 men and women are employed in the manufactory, which is situated in West street.
Shrewsbury Hospital, Norfolk road, was founded in 1673, by Henry, Earl of Norwich, Earl Marshall of England, according to the will and direction of his great grandfather Gilbert, Earl of Shrewsbury, and formerly occupied the site of the present Corn Exchange and Haymarket, but the original buildings were pulled down in 1827, when the alms people were removed to the present hospital: the patronage of the hospital is vested in the Duke of Norfolk, and its funds now afford comfortable dwellings to 20 poor men and the same number of poor women, with a weekly allowance of 14s. to each man and 10s. 6d. to each woman: they have also a load of coals every three months, a blue coat or gown once in two years, and a purple gown or coat every seven years. Besides the inmates of the hospital 60 out-pensioners receive 7s. a week. The founder directed that “the persons to be elected shall be taken or chosen out of the town or parish of Sheffield, if any can therein be found fit: the poor tenants thereabouts of the said Earl Marshall and his heirs to have the preference.” The Rev J. Stacye M.A. Christ’s College, Cambridge, is governor and chaplain of the hospital and has a commodious house and £100 a year from the hospital funds.
Hollis’ Hospital, Newhall street, was founded in 1703 by Thomas Hollis, a wealthy and benevolent merchant and Nonconformist in London, but a native of Sheffield, who purchased the first Dissenting meeting house in Sheffield, called the New Hall, and a house adjoining, which he converted into dwellings for sixteen poor women, widows of cutlers and others connected with the trade of Sheffield; in his will he made no provision for the maintenance of the hospital, merely desiring that it might be continued, a request religiously fulfilled by his descendants, and the income of the trust is now £700 a year. Besides stipends to the ministers of Upper, Nether and Fullwood chapels, and the Presbyterian ministers and schoolmasters of Rotherham and Doncaster, sixteen alms women receive 7s. per week. A salary is also paid to the governor and to the schoolmaster, who reads prayers to the alms people and conducts a school of upwards of 200 children.
The Licensed Victuallers’ Asylum, for the support of distressed and decayed victuallers and their widows, is situated near Grimesthorpe, and was instituted August 1st, 1844, the first stone being laid May 17th. 1848, by the late Mr. R. Bentley, and the first inmates elected May 17th. 1850; it was originally contemplated that the building should consist of a centre and two wings, the centre to contain seven houses and the wings four houses in each; from lack of funds, however, the central portion only was erected: since the year 1860 the institution, as existing, has been found quite inadequate to meet the numerous and urgent claims made upon it, but its position, owing to the rapid increase around it of houses and large manufacturing establishments, having become an extremely unfavourable one, it was determined to abandon any idea of extending the original buildings, and to erect a new and larger asylum on a more convenient site. The first stone of the new buildings was accordingly laid by Lord Edward Cavendish on the 6th June, 1877, and the asylum opened on Thursday, July 24th. 1879, by the Right Hon. J. A. Roebuck M.P.: it now consists of twelve houses, together with a large central room, serving at once for committee purposes, as a library and reading room, and for united devotional exercises; the entire cost, inclusive of site, an adjacent field, and two semi-detached dwelling houses, amounts to nearly £13,000. Each widow or Unmarried inmate of the asylum has an allowance of £20 per year and each married couple £28 a year for life; the houses are also supplied with coals and gas and have attached to them plots of garden more than sufficient to provide the inmates with vegetables for their own consumption; only such persons are eligible for admission as have been members for three years, and in case of a male, have attained 55, or if a widow, 50 years of age, and declare themselves not possessed of an income of £20 a year: five widows are also maintained as out-pensioners, each of whom receives 5s. a week, and one married couple, receiving a weekly allowance of 7s. 6d. A monument was erected in 1853 at a cost of about £100, raised by subscription, to the memory of Alderman T. Wiley, one of the most active and liberal supporters of the charity, who died 14th October, 1851. Mr. George skinner, 42 Fitzwilliam street, is the secretary to the committee.
The Sheffield Workmen’s Cocoa and Coffee House, in the London road, the generous gift of Frederick Thorpe Mappin esq. M.P. of Thornbury, and opened on the 9th of April, 1877, is a building of simple but effective design, constructed of brick with stone dressings, and contains on the ground floor coffee and reading rooms, with a service bar and cooking kitchen in the rear. A spacious staircase leads to the upper floor, on which are placed the card and draught and billiard rooms. Messrs. Hadfield & son were the architects.
In 1877 a Cafe Company was formed, under the Limited Liability Acts, and has opened eleven cocoa and coffee houses similar in character to that of Mr. Mappin, which are proving commercially successful.
“British Workman” public houses have been established in several parts of the town, a “Home” in Pea croft and a “Workman’s Rest” in Pond street for the parish of St. Paul.
The savings Bank, established in 1819, and for many years carried on in a small building in surrey street, was removed to Norfolk street in 1860: the present buildings are in the Italian style, from designs by Messrs. Thomas Flockton and son, and were erected at a cost of about £5,400, paid out of the surplus funds: the bank is open daily from 10 to 3 o’clock; on Saturday evenings from 5 to 7.
The Sheffield and Rotherham Joint stock Banking Company Limited, established in 1836, has its offices in Church street and was opened for business June 2sth. 1867; the building, designed by Messrs. Flockton and Abbott, is in the Classic style, the lower floor containing the banking room, being of the Doric order, with columns of polished red granite: the upper story is Corinthian, and has a sculptured frieze, with supporting columns of the same material as the lower.
The Gas Works at sheaf Bridge were commenced in 1818-by a company, with a capital of £40,000 in £20 shares: the works at the end of Effingham street were built in 1836—7 by another company, with a capital of £80,000 in £25 shares; both these companies were united by Act of Parliament in 1844, under the name of the Sheffield United Gas Light Company: in 1851 another gas company formed under the Joint stock Registration Act, with a capital of £60,000 in 12,000 shares of £5 per share, built works at Neepsend, and laid down pipes without any Act of Parliament; although in June, 1853, its further extension was restricted, it continued to supply the district until June, 1855, when it was amalgamated with the old company by an Act of Parliament: the consolidated company has now large manufacturing stations at Shude hill, Effingham street, and Neepsend: their offices, situated in Commercial street, opened May, 1875, are built in a Venetian type of early Renaissance from the designs of Messrs. M. E. Hadfield and Son, at a cost, exclusive of fitting, of about £25,000; the principal facade being 131 feet in length: T. Roberts is manages; John Young, engineer; and William Bark, chief accountant.
The offices of the Local Board of Health are in Tudor place.
Sheffield Water Works Company.-The original waterworks of Sheffield were in the hands of private individuals, who from time to time laid wooden pipes into the town from various sources of supply in the immediate neighbourhood; and this primitive mode of supply was sufficient for the requirements of the town for more than a century: in the year 1829, however, it was decided on the formation of a company, to take over the interest of the old proprietors, obtain an increased supply of water from more distant sources, and distribute the water throughout the town on principles more in accordance with modern ideas: an Act of Parliament was therefore obtained in the year 1830, incorporating a company for the above purposes, with a capital of £100,000: under the powers of this Act the company constructed a large service reservoir at Crookes to contain 21 million gallons; a conduit or watercourse from Redmires to Crookes; and a large storage reservoir at Redmires, to contain the surplus or flood waters of the Wyming brook: a second Act of Parliament was obtained in the year 1845, authorising the creation of a capital of £50,000, and the construction of two more storage reservoirs adjoining the original Redmires reservoir; and two reservoirs on the river Rivelin to be vested in the mill owners as compensation for taking the waters of the Wyming brook for the use of the town: in the year 1853 a fresh Act of Parliament was obtained, repealing the former Acts and re-incorporating the company, with an additional capital of £150,000, and authorising the construction of three large reservoirs to store the upper waters of the river Loxley in the neighbourhood of Bradfield: under the powers of this Act the company re-constructed the Godfrey service Reservoir, at Crookes moor; made a tunnel under Crookes, and a conduit to the river Rivelin, to convey the waters of the Rivelin reservoirs to Crookes moor for the use of the town; by this Act the mill owners' reservoirs on the Rivelin were vested in the company, and in lieu thereof the company were placed under obligation to send seven cubic feet of water per second down the river for the use of the mills: for a similar purpose the quantity of 10 cubic feet per second had to be sent down the river Loxley before any water could be taken from that gathering ground for the use of the town: in pursuance of their powers the company proceeded with the construction of a tunnel under Stannington ridge, and a large storage reservoir in Bradfield Dale, known as Dale Dike reservoir: this reservoir, nearly 80 acres in extent and intended to contain over 700 million gallons of water, was completed in the early part of 1864 and allowed to fill with water: on the night of the 11th of March, 1864, the embankment gave way, owing to the excessively wet weather having loosened the steeply inclined side of the valley upon which the outer foot of the bank rested, and in a few minutes the greater part of the immense body of water contained within the re servoir had rushed out in an overwhelming torrent, carrying death and destruction into the valley of the Loxley and Don: the flood extended to a short distance beyond Rotherham, or for a distance of about 14 miles, carrying away 12 bridges and seriously damaging 6 others; of various structures, 111 were totally destroyed; 293 seriously damaged, and 4,267 slightly damaged or flooded; large tracts of land and roads were washed away, and 238 lives were lost: the company’s liability not being disputed, they obtained an Act of Parliament conferring powers to raise capital, authorising an extra charge of 25 per cent, for 25 years upon the water rates, and appointing commissioners to assess the damages claimed by the sufferers: the total amount of the claims made against the company was £445,164 14s. 5d.; composed of £387,166 17s. 3d. for loss of and injury to property; £46,221 4s. 0d. for loss of life, and £21,776 13s. 2d. for bodily injury: in the sessions of 1866 and 1867 the company obtained powers to raise more capital and largely extend their works, including a large storage reservoir on the river Loxley, called Damflask reservoir; and two reservoirs named Broomhead and More Hall reservoirs on the river Ewden.
The reservoirs now completed will afford a supply of water, supposing no rain to fall for a period of six consecutive months, of 10 million gallons of water per day, sufficient for a population of over half a million inhabitants; and when the whole of the authorised works are carried out, the available supply of water for the use of the town will be increased to upwards of 15 million gallons per diem: the offices of the company in Division street, form a building in the Italian style, erected from the designs of Messrs. Flockton & Abbott: the facade consists of a lower arcade with columns of polished red Aberdeen granite, and fine sculptured heads emblematical of the business of the company: the upper story consists of plain stone work, with a bold cornice surmounted by Classic urns: the total share and loan capital of the company paid up to the 31st December, 1880, was £1,608,000.
The stamp Office and the Inland Revenue and Tax Offices are at Norfolk chambers, Norfolk street.
The offices of the Sheffield Fire Office (established 1804), with which the Alliance (London) Life and Fire Office is now incorporated, are in George street, and were erected in 1811.
The North of England Fire and Life Insurance Company, established in 1844, is now amalgamated with the Liverpool and London and Globe Insurance Company, which has an office in Norfolk street.
The Royal Fire and Life Insurance Company’s office is in 26 George street.
The Fire Brigade consists exclusively of members of the police force, fifteen in number, who reside in Holly street, with a superintendent, holding his appointment directly from the Corporation. The fire brigade depot is in Barker’s Pool, and has at its disposal one steam and three manual fire-engines, with a fire escape, and other apparatus. At the branch police stations, all of which are in telegraphic communication with the depot, hand pumps are kept for pressing emergencies.
The establishment of the Sheffield Bath Co. Limited, Convent walk, Glossop road, is now complete, and includes a fine swimming bath 78 feet by 30 feet, containing about 70,000 gallons of filtered water, surrounded by marble pavement, or ambulatory, upon which open about 40 dressing rooms. The second class bath is that which has long existed on the Victoria street side. There are also ladies’ and gentlemen’s Tursish. Russian, slipper, vapour and medical baths, replete with every convenience. The cost of the building and furnishing was £22,000. Mr. W. Richards is managing director; Mr. T. G. Shuttleworth. Wharncliffe chambers, Bank street, secretary.
The Sheffield Turkish and Public Bath Company Limited, formed in 1866, has premises in Norfolk street, to which considerable alterations have recently been made, adding greatly to the comfort of bathers. The capital of the company amounts to £5,000, in £5 shares, held by about 80 shareholders.
The Corporation Public Baths were erected in 1869, under the Acts passed in 1846—7, entitled “The Baths and Washhouses Acts,” 9th. 10th and 11th Victoria, and are situated on the north side of the Borough Bridge. They comprise a large swimming bath capable of being warmed at pleasure, 53 feet by 32 feet, and 28 tepid private baths, with a house for the bath keepers. The cost of erection, including fittings, was about £2,300. The baths were opened by the then Mayor (Thomas Moore esq.), on the 7th of September, 1869. The Corporation Public Bath. High street, Attercliffe, is a commanding building of stone, opened in May, 1878, and comprises a large swimming bath and a number of private baths. Swimming is taught.
There are large Cricket Grounds at Bramall lane, Hyde park, Newhall, Sandgate and Langsett road. Near Lodge Moor is a race course of about 70 acres, opened in August, 1875, and formed by the Sheffield Racing Company, Limited, who have a capital of £15,000 in 500 shares of £30. The company have also 17 acres of land above the Water Company’s conduit which they farm. The land cost £8,400 and the formation of the race course nearly £2,000. Mr. George Ward, of Furnival road, is secretary.
The Botanical Gardens.-This beautiful place of resort, containing about 18 acres of freehold land, was first opened on the 29th of June, 1836, and cost, including the land, about £18,000. The gardens were laid out by Robert Marnock, one of the most celebrated landscape gardeners of that day, whose pronounced success at Sheffield led to his subsequent employment in arranging the Botanical Gardens, in the Regent’s Park. The gardens are well kept, and include a noble range of conservatories 300 feet long, and a large glazed pavilion 120 feet long and 33 feet wide, for exhibitions, promenades and other like purposes, and are open daily from morning till night, and on Sundays from one till dusk to proprietors and subscribers only. Being admirably situated in one of the most picturesque suburbs of the town, with a gentle slope towards the river, these gardens form a delightful and highly popular resort for the neighbouring residents, and are highly valued. In 1844, the company being involved in difficulties, sold the gardens for £9,000 to a new company formed for their purchase. Fresh capital was raised by the issue of 1,800 shares of £5 each, the new proprietors being subject to an annual subscription of 10s. 6d. on each share. A family ticket is issued for every share, the holders of more than one share being entitled to nominate a non-proprietor for a family ticket for one year, for each extra share, from the 1st of May, when the subscriptions become due. Strangers resident more than seven miles from Sheffield are admitted free on the introduction of a proprietor, either personally or by an order. Mr. Alderman Tozer is president of the society and chairman of the committee; Mr. T. Marshall, solicitor, 5 St. James’s street, secretary; and Mr. John Ewing, curator.
The subscription Bowling Green is situated in Broomgrove road, and was opened May 1st, 1851, at a cost of about £500, raised in £5 shares. There is another subscription bowling-green at Pitsmoor, one at steel Bank, and others at Bramall lane, Norfolk Park and Nether Edge.
The Sheffield Gymnastic and Athletic Club, formed in 1875, has a gymnasium in Sharrow vale.
The Theatre Royal, situated at the corner of Tudor street.
Arundel street, was first erected in 1773, by a company of shareholders; in 1855 it was enlarged and the interior refitted at a very great expense, and in 1880 was almost entirely rebuilt at a cost of £8,000, from the designs of Mr. J. C. Phipps F.S.A, of London: it has been considerably heightened, and consists of a number of private boxes, dress circle, upper circle, pit and gallery, seating about 2.000 persons. Mr. E. Romaine Callender is the lessee.
The Alexandra Theatre, a substantial stone fabric, opposite the Cattle Market, was built in 1836—7 and will seat near 4.000 people. Balls and concerts are held occasionally at the Cutlers’ Hall, the Albert Hall, in Barker’s pool, and at the Bath saloon. The Alhambra Palace is in Charles street. There are several music societies in the town, both vocal and instrumental. New Brunswick Hall, situated near Spital hill, erected at a cost of £3,000, is used for concerts and lectures, and will seat 800.
Parks.-Norfolk park, consisting of about 20 acres of pleasure ground, is, by the kind permission of his Grace the Duke of Norfolk, open daily for the use and recreation of the inhabitants of Sheffield; it was planted by the late Duke’s father as a place of recreation for the public.
Weston Park and Public Museum was thrown open to the public in 1875. The property was acquired by the Town Council in the year 1873, being purchased for the sum of £15,750, from the trustees of the late Miss Elizabeth Harrison. The park, including the area occupied by buildings, measures 12 ½ acres, being situated in the western suburb of of the town, only about 1 mile distant from the parish church, and is adorned with fine forest trees of many years’ growth. The buildings of Weston Hall, under the direction of E. M. Gibbs esq. have been, with certain additions, adapted to the requirements of the museum, which has become the receptacle of the collections formed by the Sheffield Literary and Philosophical society, and presented by that body to the town, and contains also numerous gifts from private collectors. The most distinctive feature of the museum is the “Bateman Collection” of antiquities, a famous collection, consisting principally of British specimens, long preserved at Lomberdale House, near Youlgreave, Derbyshire, and transferred to the Sheffield Corporation on loan for an indefinite period by its present owner, Thomas William Bateman esq. of Middleton Hall, Derbyshire, by whose father and grandfather the collection was formed, with labour and at considerable expense. Among other donations to the museum are several portraits of local celebrities. The statue of Ebenezer Elliott, a bronze figure by Burnand, of London, on a granite pedestal, which formerly occupied a prominent situation in the Market place, where it was originally placed in 1854, at a cost of £600, has been removed to this park, and the grounds are also adorned by a fine column commemorative of the late Godfrey Sykes, an artist of more than local reputation, who began his career in the school of Art in this his native town; towards the eastern side is a small lake. An Observatory, fitted with an equatorially-mounted telescope presented to the town by Miss Barker, has been erected in the park, and is open to the public, under certain restrictions, and is under the charge of Mr. Howarth. curator of the museum.
Firth Park was presented to the inhabitants of the borough of Sheffield in 1875 by the late Alderman Mark Firth. then Mayor, to whose princely liberality there are not wanting other enduring memorials. The estate of which the Firth Park forms part was purchased by him from the trustees of the late William F. Dixon esq. and is situated a short distance to the north of the Sheffield and Wakefield turnpike road, contiguous to Page Hall, and about two miles from Sheffield parish church. The park contains in round numbers 36 acres, about a quarter of which consists of wood and plantation. A building with lofty clock tower has been erected upon it near the principal entrance, containing a park-keeper’s house, three rooms, and a covered verandah for refreshments and shelter. There is ample space for cricket and other games and a large playground for children. A carriage road traverses the estate, the further end of which is adjacent to shire green; and the parishioners of Ecclesfield are taking steps to make this road a public highway. The park was formally opened to the public by H.R.H, the Prince of Wales in August, 1875. The formation of the park and its approaches and the erection of the buildings upon it were entrusted to Messrs. Flockton and Abbott, architects, Sheffield.
Recreation Grounds.-The Duke of Norfolk has presented to the town three plots of land in Parkwood Springs; Carlisle street east and Attercliffe for recreation purposes. These amount to 26 acres, and are being levelled and fenced at the joint expense of His Grace and the Town Council.
The Masonic Hall, in surrey street, opened July 18th, 1877, is a building in the classic style, and contains, on the ground floor, a banqueting room, and above it a lodge room with an arched roof springing from a cornice running round the room, ornamented with moulded ribs and panels, and carved bosses. The walls are relieved with columns, with foliated capitals. The east end is occupied by a raised dais of three steps: and along the north and south sides runs a raised platform, and at the west end is an organ. The building is the property of the Masonic Hall Company Limited' with a capital of £10,000 in 2,000 shares of £5 each, Messrs. Scargill and Clarke were the architects.
In the town are many Friendly societies, including Freemasons, Odd Fellows, Druids and Foresters.
The various masonic bodies meeting at the hall, surrey street, and their times of meeting will be found in the following table. An asterisk denotes the annual meetings.
There are five public drinking fountains in Sheffield, situated as follows:-in front of the Town Hall, in Castle street, the Free Library; on Sheffield Moorhead; on Shalesmoor; in Broad lane, and in Weston park.
The Sheffield and the Hallam and Ecclesall Harriers are maintained by subscription.
The Barracks, completed in 1854, occupy a site of 25 ½ acres, and contain quarters for five field officers-two cavalry, two infantry, and one commanding officer, either of cavalry or infantry, according to seniority; quarters for 28 officers, and a mess-house each for infantry and cavalry; besides rooms for 918 non-commissioned officers and men; hospitals for 90 patients; married soldiers’ quarters (detached) for about 90 families; stabling for 56 officers’ horses and 204 troop horses, and veterinary infirmary for 16 sick horses. There are also a school, riding-school, canteen, two non-commissioned officers’ mess-rooms, garrison provost, two orderly rooms, ball-court, wash-houses, cooking-houses, library, reading-room, infant schools, schoolmasters’ quarters and other conveniences. The building is of stone in the Tudor style, with a chapel at one end, with entrances from the Langsett and Penistone roads. The old Barracks in Penistone road, built in 1794, were sold in 1855, and the site is now partly built upon.
The Volunteer Artillery Drill Hall, Edmund road, was built for the use of the 4th West York Artillery Volunteers, and is the property of a joint-stock company: the foundation-stone was laid by the Duchess of Norfolk, on the 25th September, 1877, and the building opened on the 2nd June, 1880. The roof is constructed in one span, without pillars. There is a lofty drill room, 108 feet long and 90 feet wide, and a gun shed the same length, but narrower. The large hall will hold 12,000 persons, and is capable of seating 2,500. In addition to serving the purpose for which it was built, it is let for public meetings, concerts and balls, for which it is well adapted. Messrs. M. E. Hadfield and son were the architects; Mr. Joseph Hardy, 9 Norfolk row, is secretary to the Company.
The she squadron of the First West York Yeomanry Cavalry comprises two troops, of which Earl Fitzwilliam is colonel. The first corps of Hallamshire Volunteers was sworn in on the 27th June, 1859; it now numbers seven companies of 646 men, being stronger than at any time since the corps were formed, and is under the command of Lieut.-Colonel T. E. Vickers; the Right Hon. Earl of Wharncliffe is honorary colonel. The head quarters are in Eyre street, the drill ground being in Matilda street. A Company of Engineer Volunteers has also been formed in connection with the school of Art, whose head quarters are at 103 John street, Bramall lane. There is also a strong Artillery Volunteer Corps, with a depot in the new Drill Hall, Edmund road, of which the Duke of Norfolk is hon. colonel, and Nathaniel Creswick esq. the lieut.-colonel; this corps, in 1867, won the Queen’s prize at the annual artillery competition at Shoeburyness.
The Crimean Monument, situate at the head of south street, Moor, is commemorative of the Sheffield soldiers and sailors who fell in that war: the first stone was laid by the Duke of Cambridge, and the monument, erected from a design by Mr. Goldie, is 59 feet high and is surmounted by a statue of Queen Victoria as “Honour,” the cost of the structure being about £1,000.
The Cholera Monument, commemorative of the ravages made by the Asiatic cholera on its first outbreak in this town in 1832, consists of a cross, erected in the cholera burial ground, situated in front of the Shrewsbury Hospital, in Norfolk road, Park; the foundation stone was laid by James Montgomery, the poet, in the year 1834. Nearly 1,500 people were attacked by the malady, and upwards of 400 died, amongst whom was the master cutler for the year, Mr. John Blake.
The Montgomery monument, a beautiful tribute to the memory of James Montgomery, stands above the poet’s grave in the general cemetery, and consists of a statue designed by Bell, and cast in bronze by the Coalbrookdale Company, at a total cost of £1,000 raised by subscription; the monument was inaugurated in July, 1861, and bears on the pedestal appropriate inscriptions.
Sheffield Fat Cattle Market.-The virtual suspension of the Rotherham cattle fair, in consequence of the oppressive cattle-plague restrictions, led to the establishment of a fat stock market in Sheffield, which is now a permanent institution, held on Mondays in the cattle-market. Three markets are held during each week, namely, on Monday for the sale of fat stock; on Tuesday for store cattle; and on Friday for sheep.
The Markets held on Tuesday and Saturday are very well supplied with provisions, corn &c.
There is a weekly corn market. The old Corn Exchange, built in 1830, had for sometime past become much too small for the requirements of the trade, representations were therefore recently made to the Duke of Norfolk, under whose direction a new exchange is being erected on the further side of the market, occupying, in fact, the site of the original Shrewsbury Hospital: the new structure, now nearly completed, is built from the designs of Messrs. M. E. Hadfield & son, and comprises the new Corn Exchange, a central covered court with four entrances, one in each facade, 150 feet long by 75 feet wide, with an open roof so arranged as to admit a north light, and supported by pillars of Hopton Wood stone, with arched principals; eastward there are a series of five three-light windows, and the settling and retiring rooms are all conveniently placed: the principal facade of the building fronting the old Corn Exchange is 224 feet in length, and the frontages towards Broad street and the Canal warehouse in each case are 135 feet; on each side of the entrances on the ground floor are arcades with shops; at the north-west corner will be a commercial hotel and restaurant on a large scale; the Norfolk estate offices will occupy the chamber floor of the south and west wings, and on the east front will be shops and offices for wharfingers &c.; the whole structure is cellared; the design of the exterior of the building is of the Late Pointed or Tudor type, the materials being thin red bricks of the best description, relieved by stone facings from the Bole Hill quarry, near Treeton, the roofs being covered with Broseley tiles; in the centre of the principal front is a massive tower, through which, by a flight of ten steps, the great hall is approached; this is vaulted in stone; and has entrances right and left to the estate offices and the various suites of chambers; above this vaulted gateway a spacious fire-proof muniment-room is being constructed for the reception of the deeds and records of the Norfolk estate at Sheffield; the whole will probably be completed during 1881.
The Hay Market is immediately adjoining the Corn Exchange.
The Smithfield Cattle Market and fair ground are situated near the Victoria railway station.
The wholesale Fish Market is in Shude hill at the junction of Broad street and Pond street.
There are markets for calves every Thursday and Friday at the Yellow Lion inn, Old Hay market.
Joseph Matthews is superintendent of the markets; office, 24 Norfolk Market hall.
The Weights and Measures Office is situated in Bower spring.
The Duke of Norfolk is lord of the manor and high bailiff of the liberty of Hallamshire. A Court Leet and view of frank pledge is held at the Town Hall, on Wednesday in Easter week, at which inspectors of flesh and fish are appointed for the Duke’s manor of Sheffield. William Wake esq. is the manor steward.
There are five daily and four weekly newspapers in Sheffield; the “Daily Telegraph,” the oldest daily in the provinces, was established June, 1855, William Christopher Leng and Co. proprietors; and the “Independent,” established in 1619 as a weekly, and commenced a daily issue about twenty years ago, on the repeal of the paper duty, Leader & sons, proprietors; both papers publish weekly editions with supplements. The “Sheffield Evening star and Daily Times,” established June, 1869, has incorporated with it the “Sheffield Times,” first published in 1846; the “Iris,” in 1794; and the “Mercury” in 1807; and is published by R. E. Leader. The “Sheffield Post,” established in 1873, is published every evening and weekly on Saturday by Mr. H. H. Murphy. “Sheffield sporting Tissue and Daily Bell” (sporting), Mrs. Sarah Ford, proprietor. James Montgomery, the celebrated Christian poet, was proprietor and editor of the “Sheffield Iris” from 1795 until 1825.
Dr. Short, a medical writer of the last century, resided here; and it was while practising at Sheffield that Dr. Buchan wrote his ”Domestic Medicine.” The Rev. Joseph Hunter’s valuable history of Sheffield and Hallamshire, has been re-issued under the editorship of Dr. Gatty. Chantrey was born in the neighbouring village of Norton.
The name of Hallam or Hallum seems to indicate a Frisian origin, and to be derived from the great tribe of the Hailing or Halsing. of the previous history of Sheffield during the Welsh or Roman period, there are few traces. A celt was once found near Broomhead, and there likewise is a Welsh tumulus or barrow called the “Apron full of stones.” The trench called Bardike is supposed to be of remote origin. Stretching from the camp at Wincobank is a well-defined Roman road, called to this day the Roman rig; and about 3 miles from this place, on the banks of the Don, is the fine Roman rectangular camp, called Templebro’, supposed to be the ad fines of the iter of Richard of Cirencester. In 1761, a manumission plate of the time of Trajan, was found near the Stannington side of the Rivelin. Some of the iron mines of Yorkshire are supposed to have been worked by the Romans, and afterwards by the Early English or Anglo-Saxons, but no traces of such working have been identified in the neighbourhood of Sheffield, though there are many beds of ancient scoriae.
During the period of the later kings, before the Norman invasion, Hallamshire was chiefly possessed by the family of Waltheof, who for five generations had been Earls of Northumberland and allied to the kingly race. One Waltheof married Judith. niece of William the Norman, but was nevertheless beheaded in 1075, when his lands were retained by the Countess Judith. From this alliance Hallamshire descended to the St. Liz, Earls of Northampton. The manors constituting Sheffield were, however, held of the Countess Judith. by Roger de Busli, who possessed Grimesthorpe, Hallam, Attercliffe and Sheffield. It is not known in what manner these possessions came into the House of Lovetoft, or Lovetoft. In the reign of Henry II. the heiress of this family married Gerard de Furnival. At this early period the castle of Sheffield was in existence and regularly garrisoned by its lords, but the date of its erection is not known, By the Lovets an hospital for the sick was founded on the site still called Spittal Hill, a foundation which was abolished by Henry VIII. A bridge over the Don then existed, and a church: and a market was held in the town. The earlier members of the family of Furnival were Crusaders, and their descendants acquired considerable power and were summoned to Parliament. Maude de Lovetot, the heiress, wife of Gerard de Furnival, lost her husband and her eldest son Thomas, in the Holy Wars; the younger son, after interring his kindred, returned home, but the widowed mother feeling disquieted that these remains should lie in unchristian ground, the pious son went back and removed the relics, which were safely transported and buried under a splendid tomb in Worksop Priory, as is duly commemorated by the rhyming chronicler of that house. In the later years of the second Thomas de Furnival, a charter was obtained from Henry III. for the erection of a new castle at Sheffield, in consequence of the castle and town having been destroyed in the baronial wars. A succeeding Thomas de Furnival obtained for Sheffield a fresh grant of a market and fair by charter of Edward I. dated 12th November 1296; the lord further granting to the burgesses a charter exempting them from many feudal tenures, and constituting them a free borough, regulating the court baron, and exempting them from toll within the precincts of Hallamshire. There was at that time a seneschal of Hallamshire, the castle and lordship of Sheffield being held of the king in capite by the service of rendering yearly two white greyhounds.
Joan, Lady Furnival, married Thomas Nevill, who in the 9th of Richard II. obtained a confirmation of the grant of a market and fair. By the marriage of her daughter Maude the inheritance was carried to the Earls of Shrewsbury, by seven of whom it was held. George, Earl of Shrewsbury, in the reign of Henry VIII. built a magnificent manor-house in the park. The ruins covered two or three acres of ground. In 1529 Cardinal Wolsey lodged twelve days here. There are yet some interesting remains, forming a group of rustic cottages.
George, sixth Earl of Shrewsbury, had for twelve years the custody of Mary Queen of scots, and about 1571 conveyed her to the castle of Sheffield, having with her a train of thirty persons. In 1573 she was removed for a few days to Sheffield Manor, in the ruins of which a window is still shown, from which it is said she attempted to escape. In the autumn of 1573 she was allowed to visit the waters of Buxton and to go to Chatsworth. In 1577 she was allowed to visit Buxton twice, and returning to the manor there framed her will. In 1580 she was again at Buxton, in the summer of 1581 at Chatsworth and in 1582 at Buxton for the last time. Subsequently she remained in captivity in Sheffield Castle, finally removing on 3rd September, 1584. In the decline of his life the Earl built for himself the splendid monument now remaining in Sheffield Church; with an inscription by Foxe, the martyrologist. In 1606 his granddaughter, the Lady Alethea Talbot, was married to Thomas Howard, Earl of Arundel and surrey, thus conveying the lordship of Hallamshire to the princely family of Norfolk.
During the civil war, the Howards strove, but ineffectually, to hold Sheffield Castle for the King; and the town being taken by the Parliamentarians, was strengthened by entrenchments. On the advance of the Earl of Newcastle at the head of a large army, Sheffield was abandoned by the Parliamentary garrison and occupied by the Royalists, who appointed Sir William Saville governor, by whom cannon were cast in the neighbouring iron factories for the defence of his work: to him succeeded Thomas Beaumout esq. After the Battle of Marston Moor, on the 2nd July, 1644, Major -General Crawford was sent by the victorious army to besiege Sheffield Castle. The castle was then garrisoned by a troop of horse and 200 foot and defended by a wall six feet thick, a wet ditch eighteen feet deep, and ten pieces of ordnance. On the 6th August, two batteries were raised against the castle, but the besiegers had no pieces of sufficient weight speedily to reduce the castle and therefore delayed in order to get up heavier guns. The castle, however, surrendered on a second summons and the large supplies collected therein were left to the new garrison. The governor, officers, and soldiers were allowed to march out with drums, colours and goods, the officers keeping their swords, pistols and horses. The gentlemen within the castle were allowed the same privilege. This surrender of the castle took place on the 11th of August, 1644.
Colonel John Bright was then appointed governor of Sheffield and afterwards Captain Edward Gill. The estates of the house of Howard at this time sequestered, were afterwards restored. In 1647 the Parliament passed a resolution for dismantling the castle, which was effected in 1648. The Castle Hill, Castle Green and Castle Folds mark its site. The Earl of Arundel and surrey proposed to restore the remaining portion as a residence, but nothing was done. The manor house does not appear to have suffered during the civil war, but in 1706 this house was dismantled. Sheffield Park was likewise abandoned.
In 1666 Sir William Dugdale, Garter King at Arms, held the last visitation at Sheffield for the registration of the armorial bearings of the gentry.
The trade of Sheffield took its origin from the manufacture of iron in the neighbouring districts; but in the fourteenth century it had already become known by its cutlery, for Chaucer alludes to Sheffield whittles, in Queen Elizabeth’s time sufficiently esteemed for the Earl of Shrewsbury to present a case of them to Lord Burghley. The cutlery trade was then regulated by a fellowship and a company of cutlers and makers of knives, most likely of ancient organisation. A jury of cutlers used likewise to be named by the court leet, the cutlers’ marks being then assigned by the lord’s court. A fund was raised for the poor of the corporation from entrance and other fines. In 1624 the trade at Sheffield had so advanced that the Cutlers’ Company was incorporated by Act of Parliament and jurisdiction given to it within Hallamshire and six miles around it, and in 1638 the company was enabled to build a hall. But the town was so poor in 1615 that, of a total population of 2,207,725 were paupers, there being only 260 householders able to maintain themselves, for Sheffield did not enjoy in those times that almost entire monopoly of the cutlery trade which she at the present possesses. This country had, in fact, an import trade in knives till the reign of Elizabeth. and in the articles enumerated in the Custom House books of the reign of Henry VIII. are “Knyves of Almayne, knyves of France and knyves of Colloyne.” Stowe informs us that in the fifth year of her reign the Queen laid some restrictions on this import trade, in order to encourage the London manufacturers, London being at the time the principal mart for the finer species of cutlery. Now, it is notorious that a very large portion of what is sold as fine London cutlery in the metropolis, both scissors, knives, and razors are “Sheffield made, Both haft and blade.’’
In the beginning of the eighteenth century the trade of the district has made so much progress that the number of persons engaged in it was estimated at 6,000 and the yearly value of goods above £100,000. 1,500 tons of Hallamshire manufactures were yearly sent from Sheffield to Doncaster for shipment. At that time the only library consisted of a few books kept in the vestry room.
In 1720 and 1721 it was proposed to make the river Don navigable to Tinsley, but the Act was not carried till 1726, and the necessary operations, at first entrusted to the Corporation of Doncaster and the Corporation of Hallamshire Cutlers, were in 1732 transferred to a private company, but it was not until 1815 that the navigation was extended from Tinsley to Sheffield. From 1700 to 1800 the industries of the town continued to increase, in general slowly, but occasionally with a stride which formed an epoch in their history. This period was distinguished by two notable discoveries made nearly at the same time by two Sheffield men and destined to have an immense effect on the growth of the town-the discovery of the art of silver-plating by Thomas Bolsover in 1742, and that of making cast steel by Benjamin Huntsman at a later date.
The manufacture of silver plate followed these and in 1773 an assay office was opened in the town, since which, as much as 6,000 lbs. weight of silver has been hall-marked here within a year. The refining of the precious metals was likewise introduced by Mr. John Read, who Settled at Sheffield in 1765. About the middle of the century the Britannia metal manufacture was established, the lead works on the Porter were set up and the first public brewery begun. At this period a newspaper was started, but without success, and the only country paper circulating in Sheffield was the “Northampton Mercury.” in 1733 the assemblies were held in the hoys' charity school, but with the reign of George III. a new era began; a handsome assembly room was built, a theatre opened, a bank established and a subscription library founded. It is recorded that a person named Broadbent was the first to establish a foreign trade in the year 1747. The first steam engine in Sheffield is said to have been erected by Messrs. Procter and Co. in the year 1785, and was an atmospheric one; the diameter of the cylinder being about 40 inches and the boiler was of globular construction: it was erected for the use of a grinding wheel near what has since been known as “The Old Ponds Engine.” After the completion of the engine some considerable time elapsed before any grinder could be induced to engage the empty troughs: and it was much longer before steam power became general. Hitherto Sheffield plating had consisted in affixing a plate of silver to an inferior metal, but the invention of electro-plating by means of which the manufacturer is enabled to produce at a comparatively trifling cost articles which cannot be distinguished from silver, has given a new and powerful impulse to the trade of Sheffield.
In 1784 the then Lord of Hallamshire, who took particular interest in the town, obtained an Act of Parliament authorising the construction of new and improved markets and likewise laid out the new part of Sheffield between Alsop Field and the Sheat, in a regular manner: attempts had been made to construct water works, though unsuccessfully, as far back as the year 1697, but it was not till 1782 that enlarged and efficient works were set up, and in 1785 William Jessop, an eminent eng neer, was called upon to report on the means of effectually applying the water power of the Hallamshire streams.
In 1802 an Act of Parliament passed, enabling the Dukes of Norfolk to sell portions of their Sheffield estates, under which many portions of the town have passed into the hands of freeholders.
Brightside Lane, Pitsmoor and Crabtree are included with Sheffield.
INSURANCE COMPANIES & AGENTS
Insurance Companies (Branch Offices).
Alliance British & Foreign Life & Fire (William Wake, chairman; Evan Roger Owen, resident sec.)
British Equitable Life (Jsh. Everatt, dist. agt.), Change alley.
Briton Life (James Tasker, district manager), Albany rd.
General Life & Fire (Samuel Shaw, district manager.)
Liverpool London & Globe Fire Life (Joseph Bright, local sec.), 44 Norfolk street.
London & Lancashire Fire Life (Green, Boddy & Co. agents), Hallamshire chambers, 21 ½ Church street.
North British & Mercantile (Newman H. Hunt, district agent), 12 Norfolk row.
Prudential Industrial Life (John George, district superintendent), 8 Change alley.
Queen Fire (Samuel Oldfield, resident sec.), 25 Church street. See advertisement.
Refuge Friendly society Limited (Life) (H. Adams, district manager), Union street.
Royal Fire & Life (Macredie & Evans, agents), 26 George st.
Royal Liver Friendly society (George R. Glossop. M.N.), 78 Fargate.
Accident (Wing, Wing, Lilley & Co.), Prideaux chambers, Change alley.
Accidental, S. Cocker, jun. Sunny hank; & H. H. Earl & son, St. James street.
Alliance Life & Fire Insurance Co. Sheffield Agents:-Andrew James, Bank st.; Armstead & Oakes, St. Peter’s close; F. Bedford, Queen St.; J. S. Bartlett, Queen St.; A. Bennett, Campo la.; Broomhead, Wightman & Moore, George st.; Calvert & son, George St.; W. Cotterill, savings Bank, Norfolk st.; N. Creswick, East parade; F. Dale, George st.; A. Dearman, George st.; Downing & son, Watery st.; I. Ellis, George st.; Fowler & son, st. James st.; G. Franklin, Norfolk st.; S. L. Levick, 10 Paradise sq.; H. N. Lucas, Church st.; Charles Nodder, 23 Church st.; Parker & Brailsford, North Church st.; E. Richmond, 40 Spital hill; J. W. Sawyer, Change alley; J. C. Shaw, Norfolk street; Smith. Hinde & Co. Bank st.; Samuel Smith. George st.; Toothill & son, St. James' row; J. Townend, Paradise st.; Vickers, son & Brown, Bank st.; B. Wake & Co. Castle st.; Wake & sons, Bank st.; J. Watson & sons, Assay office, Fargate; Watson & Esam, Bank st.; Webster & styring, Hartshead; E. Winder, jun. Norfolk Estate office, Corn exchange; J. U. Wing, Change alley; J. Winterbottom, Union st.
British Empire Mutual Life, J. Andrew, jun. 52 Bank street; J. C. Burrell, 5 King street; A. C. Alderson, 25 Change alley; F. Hewer, 337 & 339 Shalesmoor; J. Johnson, 276 High street, Attercliffe.
Commercial Union, W. Dronfield, 7 Kearsley road, Highfield; J. Edey, 27 Change alley; H. M. Hurst, London & Yorkshire bank; J. Walker, 125 Weston street; Scargill & Clark, 11 East parade; G. Talbot, 21 Church street.
County Fire & Provident Life, J. B. & R. Roberts, 66 Queen street; E. Whitworth. 6 Vicar lane; A. C. Piggott, London & Yorks Bank & B. Merrill, 118 Norfolk street.
Economic Life, H, Bramley, 6 Paradise square & J. Ellis, 19 George street.
General Fire & Life, Allott, Hadfield, Kidner & Howson, Hartshead chambers; E. S. Foster & son, 11 St. James row & W. H. Smith. 10 Figtree lane.
Guardian Fire Life, J. T. Glossop, 13 St. James row.
Life Association of Scotland, G. Franklin, 187 Norfolk st.
Lion Fire, W. J. Ward, Carver street; H. Cavill, 76 Vale road, Park Wood springs; J. Tasker, Britonville, Albany road, Sharrow.
Liverpool, London & Globe, Burdekin, Pye-Smith & Benson, 41 Norfolk street; Wightman & Nicholson, 25 Change alley; Anty & sons, 66 Queen street; Wilson & Masters, Wharncliffe chambers, Bank street; H. Toothill, jun. 249 Rockingham St. & C. Warner, 23 Church st.
London Assurance Corporation, Binney, sons & Wilson, 66 Queen street & G. H. Day, 323 Penistone road.
London Guarantee & Accident, B. Merrill, 118 Norfolk street; J. T. Glossop, 13 St. James row; J. E. Darling, 6 Times buildings, Bow st.; G. Franklin, 187 Norfolk st; Tasker & shuttleworth. Wharncliffe chmbs. Bank st.
Manchester Fire, S. Cocker, sunny bank, Broomhall park; G. Dawson, Midland Banking Co.; E. Winder, Norfolk Estate office.
National Guarantee & Suretyship Association Limited, Watson & sons, 71 Fargate; Macredie & Evans, 26 George street.
National Provident, F. Richards, 61 Market place North British Mercantile Fire Life, Newman H. Hunt (district agent), 12.
Norfolk row; J. Clarke, 22 Norfolk row; Furniss & son, Church street; S. Marshall, 14 St. James street; G. L. Smith. North Church street; A. S. Binney, Queen street; G. T. ernell, Bank street & D. H. Porrett, Bank street.
Northern, Knox & Burbidge, 15 St. James row; E. E. Liddell, George street & T. H. Wilson, 49 Norfolk street.
Norwich & London Accident & Plate Glass Insurance Co. J. Clarke, 22.
Norfolk row; Macredie & Evans, 26 George St. & S. A. Oliver & Brother, 19 East Grove road.
Norunch Union Fire, C. Seward, 13 Carver street; W. H. Beckett, 18 Norfolk row.
Ocean, G. Heathcote, 26 Change alley; W. F. Hemsoll, 14 Norfolk row; G. Franklin, 187 Norfolk street.
Phoenix Fire, H. H. Earl & son, 9 & 13 St. James street & W. Holland, Albert road, Heeley.
Provident Life, D. A. J. Crombie, 17 Old Haymarket.
Queen, Tasker & Shuttleworth. Wharnecliffe chambers, Bank street; Macredie & Evans, 26 George street; C. J. Hinchliffe, 9 St. James row; J. S. Hodgson, 24 Bank st.; B. Greaves, 20 Norfolk row & Ebenezer H. Raworth. 2 Upper Hanover street.
Railway Passengers’, J. S. Bartlett, 85 Queen street; S. Cocker, jun. Sunny bank; J. B. Curtis, Midland station; S. P. Lloyd, Victoria station & S. Shaw, 14 St. James row.
Royal, Macredie & Evans, 26 George street; A. Moss, 30 Bank street; B. Freeborough, 30 Bank street; J. C. Gleadhill, 14 York street; J. Archer, 21 Church street; H. Howe, Prior court, High street & G. Maltby, Don villa, Attercliffe.
Royal Exchange, J. W. Barber, Alliance chmbrs. George st.
Scottish Equitable Life, W. Bark, Gas Co.'s office, Commercial street; H. Howe, Prior court, High street; H. N. Lucas, Church street; B. Smith. 30 Norfolk street; J. W. Pye-Smith. 41 Norfolk street; P. Smith. Bank buildings, George street; A. Wightman, Bank chambers, George street & W. M. Urquhart, 17 Old Haymrkt.
Scottish Union & National Fire & Life, J. Harrison, Fern bank, Glossop road; Smith & Gill. 14 Norfolk row; F. E. & S. Smith. 1 George street & O. Johnson, Weston Park view, Winter street.
Scottish Widows’ Fund, J. Watson & sons, 71 Fargate; T. G. Shuttleworth. Bank street; A. Dearman, Alliance chambers, George street & G.H. Hovey, jun. 44 Angel st.
Sovereign Life, Hy. Brown, 6-b, Norfolk row; Edmund K. Binns, Figtree chambers, 23 Figtree lane & J. Hirst, 18 Harwood street.
Standard Life, H. H. Earl & son, 9 & 13 St. James street; W. Fretson & son, 4 Bank street; H. Vickers & son, 28 Bank street & H. M. Hurst, London & Yorks Bank.
Sun Fire, W. & S. Short, 10 East parade & F. Wever, 103 Norfolk street.
Temperance Provident Life, W. J. Clegg & sons, Victoria chambers, 14 Figtree lane & D. T. Ingham, south St. Moor.
Union, Younge, Wilson, Nixon & Hughes, 11 East parade.
Westminster Fire, F. Warbnrton, Post office; W. F. Corker, 19 Figtree lane; E. Parkin, 42 New Porter street; G. Green, 12 Clarke St.; E. Gibson, 160 Gibraltar st.; G. H. Genn, 339 Pitsmoor & J. Parker, 177 Brook hill.
Westminster & General Life, E. Parkin, 42 New Porter street & C. Nodder, 36 Angel street.
Yorkshire Fire & Life, E. Drury, 24 George street.
POOR LAW UNIONS
Sheffield union comprises the four following townships:-Sheffield, Attercliffe-cura-Darnall, Brightside Bierlow & Handsworth. with a population in 1871 of 162,271.
Board day, Wednesday.
Meetings held at the Sheffield Union offices, West bar.
Sheffield, Richard Searle, chairman; John W. Wilson, vice-chairman; Stephen Bacon, Jeremiah Robertshaw, Saml. Hoyland, John Wilson, Fretwell Hudson & Samuel Henry Burrows.
W. G. Ward, master; Annie Ward, matron; Lewis G. Hunt, surgeon.
Ecclesall Bierlow Union
Ecclesall Bierlow union comprises the following townships:-Ecclesall, Nether Hallam, Upper Hallam, Norton, Totley, Dore & Beauchieff; the four latter are in Derbyshire; total population in 1871, 87,432.
Board day, Wednesday.
Meetings held at the Union, Union road, Sharrow.
Ecclesall Bierlow, John Fairburn, William Hutchinson, William Ibbotson, George Bassett, Sir John Brown, exofficio chairman.
Nether Hallam, Thomas Jessop J.P., & Joseph Rodgers.
Upper Hallam, Alfred Gatley.
Beauchieff, Stephen Sampson.
Dore, Joseph Hancock.
Norton, William Twigg & Frederick W. Sorby.
Totley, Rev. J. T. F. Aldred M.A.
Town hall, Waingate.
Chief Constable, John Jackson.
Superintendent, Detective Department, Charles Battersby.
Warrant Officer, supt. John Gilley.
Chief Clerk, supt. G. Mackley.
Fire Brigade, supt. John Pound.
Inspectors, M. Bird, Central division; John Pinder Twibell, Attercliffe division; Samuel Smith. Brightside division: William Toulson, Broomhill division; Jacob Bradbury, Ecclesall division; John Moore, Walkley division.
Sheffield General, Cemetery road & Ecclesall road, William Wainwright, registrar & sec; Rev. Samuel Parkes, chaplain; Rev. Thomas S. King, Nonconformist chaplain; Edward Kitchen, sexton & lodge keeper.
Sheffield New, Intake road, Henry P. Collinson, clerk to the burial board & registrar.
St. Mary’s, Matlock road, Bole Hill Walkley, Rev. Thos. Smith. chaplain.
St. Philip’s Parochial Burial Ground, Old Parkwood road, Rev. James Russell M.A. chaplain; William Herringshaw, sexton.
Attercliffe, Samuel W. Kitching, clerk to the Burial board; Rev. George Depledge M.A. chaplain; Rev. John Calvert, Nonconformist chaplain.
Brightside Bierlow, Burngreave street, Thomas Collinson, clerk to the Burial board; George Beck, superintendent; Rev. Thomas Hulme, Rev. Samuel Charton, Rev. Thomas Rigby, Rev. Thomas Wilkins & J. B. Draper, chaplains; Rev. Dixon Naylor, Nonconformist chaplain.
Darnall, Benjamin Yonle, clerk to the Burial board; Rev. William Pearson, chaplain.
Catholic (St. Vincent’s), Rivelin Glen.
Superintendent of Markets, Joseph Matthews; office, 24 Norfolk Market hall.
Norfolk Market Hall, Old Haymarket.
Fitzalan Market Hall, Market place.
Castle Folds Wholesale Fruit & Vegetable Market.
Cattle Market, Blonk street.
Hay Market, Smithfield, Blonk street.
Corn Exchange, Exchange street.
Market Constables, Richard Gibson William Lockwood, William Henry Dawson, Peter O’Rourke & John Roadhouse.
Free Library, surrey street.
Chairman-Robert Leader esq.
Branch Free Libraries..
Brightside Branch, Ellesmere road.
Highfield Branch, London road.
Athenaeum, 23 George street.
Secretary & Librarian-Mrs. Webster.
Sheffield subscription Library.
President-Rev. John Stacye M.A.
Honorary secretary-Edward Birks.
Librarian-Miss Ann Manlove.
Sheffield District Incorporated Law society (with which is connected the old Sheffield Law Library), Aldine court, High street.
President-William Wake esq.
Vice-President-William Smith esq.
Hon. Treasurer-B. P. Broornhead esq.
Hon. Secretary-Herbert Bramley esq.
RELIGIOUS & CHARITABLE INSTITUTIONS
Aged Female society.
President-Samuel Roberts J.P.
Treasurer-J. H. Barber.
Hon. Sec.-Rev. Samuel Chorlton M.A.
Treasurer-Henry Wilson esq.
Clerk to Trustees-J. J. Wheat, 8 Paradise square.
British & Foreign Bible soc. Depository, 23 Church st.
Church Extension society.
Committee room, Church of England Institute, St. James’s street.
President-The Archbishop of York.
Vice-Presidents-Earl Fitzwilliam K.G. & Lord Wharncliffe.
Chairman-The Bishop of Sodor & Man.
Vice-Chairman-Rev. Canon Blakeney M.A.
Treasurer-Charles Macro Wilson esq.
Hon. Sec.-Chas. Edmond Vickers esq.
Bankers-Sheffield & Rotherham Bank.
Convent of Notre Dame, Springfield, Convent walk.
Lady superior-Marie Durieux.
Content of sisters of Charity, 142 Broad lane.
Lady superior-Sister Josephine.
President-His Grace the Lord Archbishop of York.
Vice-Presidents-Rt. Hon. Earl Fitzwilliam & Rt. Hon. Earl of Effinghum.
Sheffield Amateur Parliament.
Firth College, Bow street.
The House meets every Friday evening, from the 1st of October to 1st of April, and consists of 654 members, 303 being Liberals, 251 Conservatives & the remainder (100) Independents.
Head quarters, Furnival chambers, Norfolk street.
President, George Wilson esq. J.P.
Secretary, Mr. Christopher Forrett.
Registration Agent for Sheffield District of south-West Riding, Mr. J. C. Shaw.
Registration Agent for Borough of Sheffield, Mr. Christopher Porrett.
Junior Conservative Association.
Head quarters, Queen street chambers.
President, Samuel Roberts, jun. Esq.
Joint Hon. Secs. Messrs. Arnold M, Wilson & Cecil A. Coombe.
Head quarters, Angel street.
President, Robert Leader esq.
Hon. Sec. Henry J. Wilson esq.
Registration Agent for Sheffield District of south-West Riding, Mr. Benjamin Bagshawe.
Agent for the Borough of Sheffield, Mr. J. C. Skimer.
Junior Liberal Association.
Wentworth house, Holly street.
President, Frank Mappin esq.
Secretary, Walter Graville.
Athenceum, 23 George street, M. M. de Bartolome M.D. president; Mrs. Webeter, see. & librarian.
Athenceum Chess, 23 George street, W. Shaw, president; G. B. Cocking, treasurer; Thomas Brown, sec.
Attercliffe, Benjamin Huntsman esq. J.P. president; Thos. Johnson, treasurer; William Jackson, sec.
Ecclesall, Holly Green house, south street, Moor, George Kaye, sec.; William Hickson, steward.
Highfield Workmans Cocoa & Coffee House, London road, George Atkinson, manager.
St. George’s, Western bank, James Walker, sec.
Sheffield, 46 Norfolk street, Henry Woods, steward.
St. Peter’s, 81 Norfolk street, Elias Needham, sec.; Thos. Burns, steward.
St. Peter's Chess, 81 Norfolk st. E. Barroclough, president.
Langsett road & Owlerton road.
Staff Paymaster, Royal Artillery, Sheffield District, Major John Mahoney C.M.G.
Barrack Master, Commissary David Dunbar.
Garrison Chaplain, Rev. H. A. Goodwin.
Sheffield Volunteer Force.
Yeomanry Cavalry-Sheffield squadron.
1st W. Y.-Head Quarters, Doncaster.
Colonel, Right Hon. Earl Fitzwilliam K.G.
Major, The Hon. C. W. FiwtzWilliam.
Surgeon, John Kiernan.
Veterinary Surgeon, B. Cartledge.
A Troop, Captain Harry William Verelst.
B Troop, Captain Thomas Jeffcock.
Fourth West Riding Yorkshire Artillery.
Head quarters, Drill hall, Clough road, St. Mary’s road. Lieut.-Col. Nathaniel Creswick.
Majors, T. C. Newton & H. Hutton.
No. 1 Battery, Captain B. Shepherd.
No. 2 Battery, Captain John Wilcock.
No. 3 Battery, Captain Arnold Winder.
No. 4 Battery, vacant.
No. 5 Battery, Captain Harry J. Steel.
No. 6 Battery, Captain Thomas Gould.
No. 7 Battery, Captain Thomas F. Cocker.
No. 8 Battery, Captain John Wilcock.
Adjutant, Captain Walter Cotton R.A.
Quartermaster, Robert B. Streatfeild.
Surgeons, George S. Taylor & Lewis G. Hunt.
Acting Chaplain, Rev. John Edward Johnson M.A.
Brigade sergeant-Major, Charles Birchall.
First West Riding Yorkshire Engineers. Head quarters, 106 John street, Bramall lane.
Lieut.-Col. Henry D. Lomas.
Quartermaster, John Lunn.
Surgeon, Thomas W. Hime M.B.
Hon. Chaplain, Rev. Canon J. E. Blakeney D.D.
Sergeant-Major, W. J. West R.E.
Sergeant-Instructor, S. Mahony R.E.
Hallamshire Rifles-Second West Riding Yorkshire.
Head quarters, 73 Eyre street. Drill ground, Matilda st.
Depot, 75 Eyre street.
Lieut.-Col. T. E. Vickers.
Adjutant, Capt. Thomas W. Best.
Quartermaster, Charles H. Hills.
Surgeons, G. Atkin & A. Hallam.
Resident Sergeant-Major, Charles Fair.
Sergeant Instructor of Musketry, Charles Gorman.
PLACES OF RECREATION & AMUSEMENT.
AIbert Hall, Barker’s Pool, Fargate.
Alexandra Theatre, Blonk St. William Brittlebank, lessee.
Alhambra Palace, Charles st. Samuel Sweeney, proprietor.
Bethsada Temperance Room, Polka street, Pyebank.
Criterion Music Hall, 64 High street.
Cutlers’ Hall, Church street.
Fitzalan Rooms, Old Haymarket.
Firth Park, Firth Park road.
Grand Circus, Tudor street, Drake & Pearson, proprietors.
Mechanics’ Hall, Tudor street, Wm. Armitage, hon. sec.
Music Hall, surrey street.
New Theatre Royal, Tador street, E. Romaine Callneder, lessee.
Public Recreation Grounds, Carlisle street east.
St. George’s Museum, Bell Hag road, Walkley, Henry Swann, curator.
Sheffield secular Hall Co. Limited, 213 Rockingham st.
Sheffield skating Club, Adelphi hotel, 13 Arundel street, Joseph Gillott, president; H. Howe, hon. Sec.
Sheffield Skating Rink Co. Limited, Gell St. Glossop rd.
Sheffield steel skating Rink, Commercial street, Horatio Henry Udall, proprietor.
Temperance Hall, Townhead st. Thomas Liddell, hall keeper.
Temperance Hall, 67 Duke street, Park.
Weston Park & Museum, Western bank, Elijah Howarth. curator; Daniel Bates, park keeper; William Chapman, museum keeper.
Wostenholme Memorial Hall, Queen street.
Clarkehouse road & Ecclesall road.
President, Alderman Edward Tozer.
Vice-President, William Fretson.
Secretary, Thomas Marshall.
Curator, John Ewing.
Upper Lodge Keeper, William Pickering.
Lower Lodge Keeper, Edwin Atkinson.
Cricket & Foot Ball Clubs.
Sheffield Football Association. President, John Charles Shaw.
Vice-Presidents, Walter skinner & John Charles Clegg.
Hon. Sec. & Treasurer William Peirce Dix, 71 Fargate.
Clubs of the Association.
Albion-Nottingham street; W. T. Teather, hon. Sec. (ground, Abbeydale road.)
Alliance—51 Trafalgar street; W. H. Seagrave, hon. Sec. (ground, Norfolk park.)
All saints Victoria—9 Grimesthorpe road; G. C. Alflat, hon. Sec. (ground, GrimeBthorpe road.)
Attercliffe-school hill, Attercliffe; William Barker, hon. Sec. (ground, Brightside lane.)
Brincliffe—28 Victoria road, Broomhall park; J. Bradbury, hon. Sec. (ground, Hunter’s bar.)
Broomhall—13 Penley street; C. Mills, hon. Sec. (ground, Sheaf house, Bramall lane.)
Eldon (St. Jude's)—34 Abbeydale road; Arthur Smith. hon. Sec. (ground, Brocco bank.)
Endcliffe-Clarendon house, Brincliffe; A. Forster, hon. Sec. (ground, Sharrow vale.)
Exchange-Randall hotel, Randall street; S. Oabaldiston, hon. Sec. (ground, Quibells field.)
Fir Vale—67 Page Hall road, Pitsmoor; J. B. Thompson, hon. Sec. (ground, Piper lane, Pitsmoor.)
Hallam—131 Crookes; J. V. Bradshaw, hon. Sec. (ground, Sandygate.)
Heeley—6 York street; J. E. Deans, hon. Sec. (ground, Meersbrook park, Heeley.)
Lockwood Brothers—72 Myrtle road, Heeley; J. Coombs, hon. Sec. (ground, Myrtle road.)
Millhouses—70 Bramall lane; W. Lawton, hon. Sec. (ground, Millhouses.)
Newfield-Cook place, Foster road, Heeley; J. Fidler, hon. Sec. (ground, Penns’ road, Heeley.)
Norfolk—27 Weston street; George Cropper, hon. Sec. (ground, Quibells field.)
Oxford—9 Regent street; H. H. Stones, hon. Sec. (ground, Ecclesall road.)
Providence, 206 south street, Park; J. R. Harvey, hon. Sec. (ground, Hyde park.)
Pye Bank—129 Nottinghom street; T. E. Masdin, hon. Sec. (ground, Fox street.)
Staveley, Staveley; George B. Marples, hon. Sec. (ground, Staveley.)
Surrey—91 Fitzwilliam street; J. J. Dowd, hon. Sec. (ground, Queen’s road.)
Walkley-Summer street; J. A. Frost, hon. Sec. (ground, Peniston road.)
Wednesday-Midland hotel, Cross Turner street.
Littlehales, hon. Sec. (ground, Bramall lane.)
White Cross—46 Barber road; F. Wostenholme, hon. Sec. (ground, Dark lane, Crookes.)
Yorkshire County Cricket Club, M. J. Ellison esq. pres.; J. B Wostinholm, sec. (ground, Bramall lane.)
Collegiate Football & Cricket Club, Collegiate school, Charles Booth. hon. Sec.
Cornish Place Football & Cricket Club, Cornish inn, George Gill, hon. Sec.
Pitsmoor Cricket & Football Club, ' Black Swan, ’ Snig hill, William R. Wake, hon. Sec.
Norton Football & Cricket Club, ‘Cross scythes, ’ Norton.
Sheffield Football Club, Black swan hotel, Snig hill, William Anthony Matthews, hon. Sec.
Shrewsbury Cricket Club, Adelphi hotel, 13 Arundel street, James A. E. Paine, hon. Sec.
Willow Cricket Club, Nether Green, Upper Hallam.
Hallam Cricket Ground, Sandgate.
Hyde Park Cricket & Race Ground, St. John’s rd. Park.
Newhall Recreation Ground, Nelson street, The Sheffield Racing Co. Limited, proprietors.
Queen’s Hotel Cricket & Race Ground, Langsett road, Alfred Peat, proprietor.
United Cricket Ground, Bramall lane, Wm. Wright, keeper.
Brincliffe Oaks, Oakhill road, Nether edge, Edward Twivey, proprietor.
Nether Edge Proprietary, Nether Edge road.
Norfolk Proprietary, Bramall lane.
Pitsmoor Bowling Green, Roewood lane, Pitsmoor.
Pitsmoor Subscription, Shirecliffe lane.
Prince of Wales, Ecclesall, Mrs. Ann Elise, proprietress.
Ran Moor, James Worrall, proprietor.
Sheffield Bowling Green Co. Broomgrove road.
Steel Bank subscription, Townend street, Henry T. Hides, hon. Sec.
Upverthorpe, Hand lane, Common side, Crookes, Charles Wade Barber, proprietor.
PLACES OF WORSHIP, with times of service.
*** V. Signifies Vicarage, P.C. Perpetual Curacy.
|Name||Locality||Incumbent||Curates||Patron||Value||Pop||Hours of Service|
|St. Peter’s parish church, V||Church street||Rev. John Edward Blakeney D.D. Canon of York & Rural Dean Rev. Samuel Earnshaw M. Axhapln||Rev. A.G. Tweedie B.A Rev. C. Clementson MA Rev. Jas. Henry||Rev. A. Hamilton-Gell & the Simeon’s trustees alternately||1,000||19,727||10.30||6.30||wed. 8 p.m.|
|All saints, V||Ellesmere rd||Rev. J. B. Draper||Trustees||230||12,604||10.30||6.30||wed. 7.30 p m|
|Christ Church, Attercliffe, V||High street||Rev. George Depledge M.A||The Vicar||300||11,706|
|Christ Church, Heeley,V||Gleadlqs rd||Rev. Henry Denson Jones B.A||The Crown & Archbishop alternate||160||7,197|
|Christ Church, V||Pitsmoor||Rev. Samuel Chorlton M.A||Rev. James Lewis B.A||The Crown & Archbishop alternate||300||8,594||10.30||6.30|
|Sale Memorial Church (St. Luke’s)||South street, Park||Rev. Frederick Williams B.A,||Rev. John Williamson BA||Five trustees||260||7,346||10.30||6.30||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|Holy Trinity, Wicker, V||Nursery St||Rev. Thos. Rigby B.A||Rev. Andrw. Pryde||Church Patronage society||300||13,296||10.30||3.15||6.30||wed. 7.45 p.m.|
|Holy Trinity. V||Darnall||Rev. Wm. Pearson||Trustees||200||4,868||10.30||6.30|
|St. Andrew’s, P.C||Sharrow||Rev. P. Wildman Goodwyn M.A||Rev. C. J. P. Blundell||The Archbishop, the Vicar, Sir John Brown||250||5,171||11.0||6.30||wed. 8 p.m.|
|St. Barnabas, P.C||London road||Rev. C. A. Goodhart M.A||Church Burgesses||300||10.30||6.15||wed. 7 p.m.|
|St. Bartholomew’s, V||Bright street, Carbrook||Rev. James W. Merryweather M.A||Bishop of Sodor & Man||270||10.30||6.30||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|St. George's, V||St. George’s terrace||Rev. Henry Arnold Favell M.A||Rev. E. F. Forrest B.A||The Vicar||400||12,603||10.30||3.00||6.30& 8.15||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|St. James’s, V||St. James St||Rev. Jas. Battersby||The Vicar||360||4,646||10.30||6.30||wed.7.30 p.m.|
|St. John’s, P.C||St. John’s rd||Rev. Jas. Gilmore||Rev. Benjamin Birkbeck||250||9,293||10.30||6.30||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|St. John the Evangelist, Ranmoor, P.C||Ranmoor Park road||Rev. Edmund B. Chalmer D.D|
|St. Jude’s V||Cupola street||Rev. John Edward Johnson M.A||Rev. Chas. Marriott||The Crown & Archbishop alternate||300||5,946||10.30||6.3 0||wed. 8 p.m.|
|St. Jude’s, V||Eldon street||Rev. George W. Turner M.A||Rev. James Card-well M.A||The Crown & Archbishop alternate||300||6,121||10.30||6.30||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|St. Luke’s, V||Garden street||Rev. Samuel Geo. Potter D.D||Rev. John William Tolbot||The Crown & Archbishop alternate||300||6,611||10.30||3. 0||6.30||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|St. Mark’s, Broomfield, V||Glossop road||Rev. Wm. Milton M.A||Rev. W. M. Tomlinson M.A||Church Burgesses||600||8,470||10.30||6.30||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|St. Mary’s, V||Bramall lane||Rev Abbot Roland Upcher M.A||Rev. Edward Bonfellow M.A||The Vicar||600||20,000||10.30||6.30|
|St. Marys, Walkley, V||South road||Rev. Thos. Smith||Trustees||200||6,149|
|St. Matthew’s, V||Carver street||Rev. Chas. Robt. Job B.A||The Crown & Archbishop alternate||300||4,713||10.30||6.30||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|St. Matthias, V||Summerfield street||Rev. George Wm. Clapham||Church Patronage society||400||10.30||6.30||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|St. Michael & All Angels, Neepsend, V||Burton road||Rev. Thos. Wilkins||The Archbishop, the Vicar, Earl of Wharncliffe & B. Wake esq||200||5,543||8.00 & 10.30||3.30||6.30||wed. 8 p.m.|
|St. Paul’s, V||Norfolk street||Rev. Wm. Hugh Falloon B.A||Rev. Edward G. Cranswick||The Vicar||600||6,457|
|St. Philip’s v||Infirmary rd||Rev. Jas. Russell M.A||Rev. John P. Corts B.A Rev, Charles J. Parmeter B.A||The Vicar||300||17,000||10.30||3.15 mnthly||6.30||wed. 7.30 p.m. & Fri. 10.30 a.m.|
|St. Silas’s, V||Hanover sq||Rev. H.H. Wright||Rev. Wm. Chas. Hawksley B.A Rev, John. James Dyson M.A||The Church Burgesses||340||11,019||10.30||3.00||6.30||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|St. Simon’s, V||Eyre street||Rev. Wm. Odom||Rev. Geo. Roper B.A||Trustees||200||6,163||10.30||6.30|
|St. Stephen’s, V||Fawcett st||Rev. Robt. Dauglas M.A||Rev. J. H. Schofield||Hy. Wilson esq||450||4,876|
|St. Thomas’s, V||Crookes||Rev. Charles G. Coombe M.A||Trustees||300||4,534||11.0||6.30|
|St. Thomas, V||Grimesthorpe||Rev. Thos. Hulme||The Crown & Archbishop alternate||130|
|Shrewsbury Hospital||Norfolk Road, Park||Rev. John Stacye M.A, chaplain||150||10.30|
|St. Andrew’s (Presbyterian)||Upper Hanover street||Rev. James Breakey||10.30||6.30||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|Society of Friends’ Meeting House||Meeting House lane||10.30||6.30||thurs.10.30 a.m.|
|General Cemetery||Cemetery road||Rev. Samuel Parkes|
|Jewish Synagogue||North Church street||Israel Mirons, reader||3.00||daily 7.30 a.m.|
|St. Marie's||Norfolk row||The Very Rev. Canon Walsh aw Rev. John Hewison Rev. Guard de Finance||7.30, 9, & 10.30||3.00||6.30||daily, 7 a.m. & 8.30 p.m. (except Wed. & Thur.); Wed. & Thur. 8 p.m.|
|St. Vincent||White croft||Rev. John J. Myers Rev. James Fitzgerald, Rev. Maurice Quish, Rev. Cornelius Hickey, Supt. Rev. John Stein Rev. John Mallen||8, 9,30 & 11.00||6.30||daily at 7 a.m. & 8 p.m.|
|St. Wilfrid's||Shoreham street||10.0||6.30||thurs. 8 p.m.|
|St. Charles||Attercliffe||Rev. Joseph Hurst||8.30&||10.30||6.30||thurs. 7.30 p.m.|
|St. Catherine||Andover street||Rev. Luke Burke||9.0&||10.30||6.30||daily 8 a.m. & Thur. 7.30 p.m.|
|St. William’s||Lee croft||Priests of St. Marie's||8, 9.30 & 11.00||3.00||6.30||wed.& Fri. at 8 p.m.; other days 8.30 p.m.|
|Cemetery road (General)||Rev. James Maden||10.30||6.30|
|Glossop road||Rev. John Bailev B. A||10.30|
|Leigh street, Attlercliffe||Rev. Robert Ensoll||10.30||6.30||mod.&
Wed. 7.30 p.m.
|Portmahon (Particular)||Rev. William Turner||mon.& Wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|Townhead street (Particular)||Rev. Richard Green||10.30||6.30|
|Queen street||Rev. Peter Whyte||10.30||6.30||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|Burngreave road (Wicker)||Rev. Alfred Phillips||10.30||6.30||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|Norfolk street (Nether)||Rev. Walter Lenwood B.A. LL.B||10.30||6.30||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|Howard street||Rev. R. Murray||10.30||6.30||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|Mill lane, Carbrook||Rev. Thomas Warren||10.30||6.30||mon.& Wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|Cemetery road||Rev. Thomas Samuel King||10.30||6.30||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|Westfield terrace (Mount Zion)||Rev. J. Lewis Pears||10.30||6.30||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|Old street||Rev. Walter Lenwood B.A., LL.B||7.0||mon.& Thur. 8.0 p.m.|
|Pitsmoor road (Burngreave)||Rev. William Evans Darby||10.30||6.30||mon.& Wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|Garden street||Rev. Isaac Hall||10.30||6.30||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|Newbould lane (Broom park)||Rev. Cornelius Curtis Tyte||10.30||6.30||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|Zion lane (Zion)||Rev. John Calvert||10.30||6.30||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|Albert Tcrrace road (Tabernacle)||Rev. Thomas William Holmes||10.30||6.30||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|Langsett road||Rev. Robert Snowden||10.30||6.15|
|Methodist New Connexion|
|North Circuit. Scotland street||10.30||6.00||mon. 7. 0 p.m.|
|Shortridge street, Attercliffe (St. Paul’s)||10.30||6.00||mon. 7. 0 p.m.|
|Owlerton, Penistone road||10.30||6.00||thurs. 7.0 p.m.|
|Potter hill||Rev. A. C. Bevington, superintendent||2.30||6.00||tues. 7 0 p.m.|
|Hunshelf||Rev. W. Shaw||10.30||2.30|
|Malin Bridge||Rev. George Bradshaw, supernumerary||10.30||6.00||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|Ecclesfield||2.30||6.00||tues. 7. 0 p.m.|
|Thornhill, Rotherham||2.30||6.00||wed. 7. 0 p.m.|
|Wilton gardens, Masbro'||2.30||6.00||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|South street, Moor||Rev. J. C. Watts D.D. Superintendent||10.30||6.15||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|Talbot street, Park||Rev. J. Shaw||10.30||6.00||tues. 7. 0 p.m.|
|Broomhill (Glossop road||Rev. Thomas Addyman||10.30||6.15||wed. 7. 0 p.m.|
|Andover street||Rev. William Gillis||10.30||6.00||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|Walkley road||Rev. W. Cocker D.D||10.30||6.00||tues. 7.30 p.m.|
|Wallace road||Rev. B. Turncock||10.30||6.00||alternate Tue. 7.30 p.m.|
|Hollow Meadows||Rev. J. Stacey D. D||3. 0||6.00||tues. 7. 0 p.m.|
|Cambridge street (Bethel) Intake||Rev. W. R. Fallas, superintendent||10.30||6.00||mon. 7. 0 p.m. Tue. 7. 0 p.m.|
|Mosborough||Rev. G. G. Martindale, supernumeraries||2.30||6.00||wed. 6.30 p.m.|
|Killamarsh||Rev. W. Ward. supernumeraries||2.30||6.00||wed. 6.45 p.m.|
|Halfway house||Rev J. Hirst, supernumeraries||2.30||6.00||wed. 6.45 p.m.|
|Beighton||2.30||6.00||wed. 6.45 p.m.|
|Stanley street (Bethersde)||10.30||6.00||thurs. 7. 0 p.m.|
|Weigh lane, Park||10.30||6.00|
|Attercliffe common, Carbrook||10.30||6.00||tues. 7.30 p.m.|
|Shire green||Rev. F. R. Andrews, superintendent||2.30||6.00||mon. 7.30 p.m.|
|Crabtree, Pitamoor||Rev. J. T. Parr||2.30||6.00||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|Meadow hall||Rev. W. Watts, supernumerary||10.30||2.30||6.00||thurs. 7.30 p.m.|
|Industry road, Darnall||10.30||6.00||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|Stocksbridge||2.30||6.0||tues. 7.15 p.m.|
|Petre street||Rev. P. Millson, superintendent Rev. Arthur Ward||10.30||6.00||tues. 7.0 p.m.|
|Carlisle street east||10.30||6.00||wed. 7.0 p.m.|
|Burn Cross Chapeltown||10.30||6.00||tues. 7.0 p.m.|
|Thorpe Hesley||2.30||6.00||tues. 7.0 p.m.|
|Grenoside||2.30||6.00||wed. 7.0 p.m.|
|Newhall||10.30||6.00||thurs. 7.0 p.m.|
|Grimesthorpe||10.30||6.00||wed. 7.15 p.m.|
|Brightside||2.30||6.00||tues. 7. 0 p.m.|
|High green||2.30||6.00||thurs. 7.0 p.m.|
|Hoyle street||Rev. William Clayton, superintendent Rev. J. Lindley||10.30||6.00||tues. 7.0 p.m.|
|Langsett road||10.30||6.00||thurs. 7.30 p.m.|
8. 0 p.m.
|Woodland view||2.30||6.00||tues. 7.30 p.m.|
|John street||Rev. J. Barfoot, superintendent Rev. W. Barker Rev. John Hurst, supernumerary||10.30||6.00||mon. 7.0 p.m.|
|Sheaf street, Heeley||10.30||6.00||tues. 7.30 p.m.|
|Dore||2.30||6.00||wed. 7.0 p.m.|
|Norton||6.00||mon. 7. 0 p.m.|
|Dronfield||2.30||6.00||tues. 7.0 p.m.|
|Coal Aston||2.30||6.00||wed. 7.0 p.m.|
|Edmund street, Hodgson street||3. 0||6.15||mon. 7.30 p.m.|
|Cross Turner street. Suffolk road||6.15||tues. 7.30 p.m.|
|Norfolk street||Rev. Eli Fay||10.45||6.30|
|Crookesmoor road, Upperthorpe||10.45||6.30|
|United Methodist Free Church|
|Surrey Street Circuit|
|Upper chapel, Eckington||10.30||6.00|
|Hackenthorpe||10.30||6.00||thurs. 6.30 p.m.|
|Carbrook, Attercliffe||10.30||6.00||mon. 7.30 p.m.|
|Wales||10.30||5.45||wed. 6 p.m.|
|Bradway||6.00||wed. 7 p.m.|
|Mount Tabor Circuit|
|Wellington street||Rev. Charles Crabtree||10.30||6.15||mon. 8 p.m.|
|Shrewsbury Road Circuit|
|Shrewsbury road, Park||Rev. Levi Clayton||10.30||6.00||mod. 7.30 p.m.|
|Brunswick road (Lopham street)||10.30||6.00||fourth Wed. in month. 7.30 p.m.|
|Upper Hanover sreet||Rev. John Adcock Rev. Robert Brewin Rev. J. H. Allchurch Rev. B. J. Tungate Rev. Robert Bushell, general missionary sec||10.30||6.15||tues. 7.30 p.m.|
|Pyebank||10.30||6.00||thurs. 7.30 p.m.|
|Oak street, Heeley||10.30||6.00||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|Cherry Tree hill (Union road)||10.30||6.00||tues. 8 p.m.|
|Oxford street||10.30||6.00||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|Thorpe Hesley||2.30||6.00||thurs. 7 p.m.|
|Darnall||10.30||6.00||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|Walkley (Cundy street)||10.30||6.00||tues. 7.30 p.m.|
|New Grimesthorpe||10.30||6.00||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|Wadsley Bridge||2.45||6.00||wed. 7. p.m.|
|Norton||10.30||6.00||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|Carver Street Circuit|
|Carver street||Rev. David Barley, superintendent Rev. John D. Stevens Rev. Thos. Hardwick Mawson Rev. J. H. Beech Rev. William H. Dallinger F.R.S||10.30||6.15||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|Fulwood road (Wesley)||10.30||6.15||thurs. 7.30 p.m.|
|Ranmoor||10.30||6.15||alternate Tue. 7 p.m.|
|(Wesley College Chapel)||10.30||6.15||tues. 7 p.m.|
|Crookes (School road)||10.30||6.15||wed. 8 p.m.|
|Storrs||10.30||2.30||thurs. 7 p.m.|
|Stannington||10.30||6.00||mon. 7 p.m.|
|Spring hill, Common side||6.30|
|Lower Bradfield||10.30||2.30||thurs. 7 p.m.|
|Norfolk Street Circuit|
|Norfolk street||Rev. John Pearson, superintendent Rev. David Thomas Rev. W. Cowell Brown Rev. Frederick Elton Rev. Dixon Naylor Rebv. George Ayre Rev. Samuel Merrill, supernumerary||10.30||6.30||thurs. 7.30 p.m.|
|South street. Park||10.30||6.30||thurs. 7.30 p.m.|
|Ellesmere road||10.30||6.30||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|High street, Attercliffe||10.30||6.30||thurs. 7.30 p.m.|
|Princess street, Attercliffe||10.30||6.00||mon. 7 p.m.|
|Don road, Brightside||10.30||6.00||thurs. 7 p.m.|
|Carbrook||10.30||6.00||thurs. 7.30 p.m.|
|Darnall||10.30||6.00||alternate Tue. 7 p.m.|
|Brightside||10.30||6.00||tues. 7 p.m.|
|Grimesthorpe||10.30||6.00||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|Woodhouse||10.30||6.00||thurs. 7 p.m.|
|Blackburn||2.30||6.00||thurs. 7 p.m.|
|Rev. H. Hastlins, supt Rev. James Crabtree Rev. James Morrison Rev. T. F. Hulme Rev. T. G. Keeling, supernumerary||10.30||6.00||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|Brincliffe (Montgomery, Union road)||10.30||6.15||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
. 7.30 p.m.
|Heeley (Wesley) (Thirlwell road)||10.30||6.15||thurs. 7.30 p.m.|
|Hollinsend||10.30||6.00||tues. 7 p.m.|
|Greenhill||3.00||6.00||mon. 7 p.m.|
|Gleadless||3.00||6.00||tues. 7 p.m.|
|Totley Normanton||3.00||6.00||mon. 7 p.m. Tue. 7 p.m.|
|Shalesmoor (Ebenezer)||Rev. George Edward Young, Superintendent. Rev. Richard Jenkins Rev. John Aldred Rev. Dixon Naylor||10.30||6.15||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|Burngreave road||10.30||6.30||thurs.7.30 p.m.|
|Wadsley bridge||10.30||6.00||tues. 7 p.m.|
|Fulton road, Walkley||10.30||6.00||thurs. 7.30 p.m.|
|Oughtibridge||2.30||6.00||thurs. 6.45 p.m.|
|Wadsley||10.30||6.00||mon. 7 p.m.|
|Thurgoland||10.30||2.30||tues. 7 p.m.|
|Hillsborough||10.30||6.00||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|Brightholmlee||2.30||6.00||mon. 6.45 p.m.|
|Grenoside||10.30||6.00||tues. 7 p.m.|
|Southery||2.30||6.00||wed. 7 p.m.|
|Cranemoor||2.30||6.00||tues. 6.45 p.m.|
|Stocksbridge||10.30||6.00||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|Wilson street, Harvest lane||6.00||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|Sheffield Union House||6.00|
|Park (Mount Gerizim)||Various||10.0||6.00|
|Heavy Gate road, Upper Walkley (Mount Olivet)||Various||10.30||6.00|
|Greenhead (Mount Zion)||Various||2.30||6.00|
|Hampden view, Walkley||Various||6.00|
|Surbiton street, Attercliffe (Ebenezer)||Various||10.30||6.00|
|Orchard street, Attercliffe||Various||10.30||6.00|
|Fulwood road (Mayfield)||2.20||6.00|
|Brethren Meeting Room||Cavendish street||10.30||2.30||6.30||mon.& Thur. 7.30 p.m.|
|Brethren Meeting Room||St. Mary's road||6.30||thurs.7.30 p.m.|
|Calvinist, Darnall||Owler Greave road||Rev. John Henry Stimpson||10.30||6.00||tues.& Thur. 6 a.m.; Wed. & Fri. 9 a.m.; Tue. 7.30 p.m.; Thur.& Fri. 7 p.m.|
|Catholic Apostolic||Victoria street||Various||10.0||5.0|
|Christadelphia Meeting Room||Howard street|
|Latter Day saints’ Meeting Room||Princess street||2.00||8.00|
|Salvation Army Meeting House||Spital street||11.0||2.00||6.00|
|Salvation Army Gospel Hall||Thomas street|
|Church of England Missions Rooms|
|St. Mark’s||Ashgate road, Broomhill||3.00||6.30|
|St. Paul’s||Charles street||Mr. C. C. Burrows, evangelist|
|Baptist||Walkley road, Walkley|
|Baptist||Norwich street||10.45||6.30||wed. 8 p.m.|
|Congregational||Court 7, Carlisle street||Various||6.30|
|Primitive Methodist||Martin street||Various||6.00||wed. 7.30 p.m.|
|United Methodist Free Church||Greystock street||10.45||6.00||wed.
|Wesleyan Methodist||Fitzwilliam street||10.30||6.30|
|Wesleyan Methodist||Pond hill||6.30|
|Wesleyan Methodist||Sheldon street||7.0|
|Wesleyan Methodist||Susses, street||6.00|
SCHOOLS & COLLEGES
Sheffield school Board.
Offices, Leopold street, Church street; board meetings held on the first and third Thursdays in each month.
Skelton Cole (chairman) Batty Langley.
Rev. Canon Blakeney D, D. Dr. Henry M. Shera (vice-chairman.)
Samuel Henry Burrows Alfred Taylor.
W. Greaves Blake Jonathan Taylor.
Charles Doncaster Alderman Edward Tozer.
Michael J. Ellison Henry J. Wilson.
Richard W. Holden John Wilson.
Clerk, John F. Moss.
Treasurer, J. H. Barber esq.
Solicitor, William Smith esq.
Surveyor, Charles John Innocent.
Finance & General Purposes (meet on the Tuesday before each Board meeting).
Buildings Committee (meet on the Monday before each Board meeting).
School Management (meet second & fourth Thursday in each month).
Central Higher school, Orchard Lane.
Principal, Alexander F. McBean M.A.; teachers, William Ripper, Miss E. H. Proudfoot, John Ed. Taylor, Miss L. D. Murdoch, Caleb George Cash, George Hirst & Miss Florence Simms.
Junior Department, sckoolmistrets, Miss H. M. Ramsay; infants’ schoolmistress, Miss A. W. Taylor.
Attercliffe, Baldwin street, Mark R. Wright, master; Miss Margaret Clark, girls’ mistress; Miss Martha Hams, infants’ mistress.
Brightside, Jenkin road, Albert Riden, master; Arthur Thos. Drew, second master; Miss Annie Fullerton, mistress.
Grimesthorpe, Upwell street, Miss Emma Walker, mistress.
Girls’ Charity, Mount Pleasant, Sharrow lane, Miss Sarah Taylor, matron; Miss Mary Ann Hammerton, mistress; Miss Emily Bradshaw, infants’ mistress Heeley Foundation, Gleadless road, Heeley, William Truelove, master; Mrs. Mary Louisa Truelove, mistress.
Holy Trinity, Johnston street, Henry W. Walpole, master; Miss Annie Wilkinson, mistress; Miss Martha Ward, infants’ mistress.
Lancasterian, Bowling Green street, Thomas Whitehead, master; Mrs. Jane A. Hirst, mistress; Miss Martha Dennis, infants’ mistress.
Middle Class, Watery street, A. G. Winnill, master; Mrs. E. Winnill, mistress.
Neepsend, Boyland street, James Robinson, master; Mrs. Theresa Eliza Robinson, mistress.
Park, Bard street, Park, George Henry Wood, master; Mrs. Kale Matthews, mistress.
Park (Infants), school street, Mrs. Lilly Hooson, mistress.
Pitsmoor, Charles Cusworth. master; Mrs. Hannah Truelove, mistress.
St. Barnabas, Alderson road, Miss Amelia Holmes, mistress.
St. Barnabas, Cecil road, Thomas Dixon, master; Miss Hannah Taylor, mistress; Miss Annie Gill, infants’ mistress.
St. George’s, Beet street, Sanderson Newlove, master; Miss Alice Marden, mistress; Miss Ann Revill, infants’ mstrs.
St John’s, Cricket Inn road.
St. Jude’s, Milton street, Joseph Booth Marshall, master.
St Jude’s (Moorfields), Copper street & Cupola street, James Dash Perkins, master; Mrs. Emma Smithies, mistress.
St. Luke’s, Garden street, George Morgan, master; Miss Rosa S. Horne, infants’ mistress.
St. Luke’s, Dyer’s bill, Granville street, William Barker, master; Mrs. Sarah Maria Barker, mistress.
St. Marys (girls & infants), Mortimer street & Matilda la. Miss Harriet Badger, mistress.
St Mary’s, Hermitage street, James Christian, master; Miss Emma Wilkinson, mistress; Miss Gertrude Turner, infants’ mistress.
St. Mary’s, south rd. Walkley, John Vickers, master; Miss Sarah Jane Marshall, mistress; Miss Elizabeth Brammer, infants’ mistress.
St. Matthias’ Parliament street, Thomas Abbot, master; Miss Mary Jane Harvey, girls’ mistress; Miss Jane A. Perks, infants’ mistress.
St. Paul’s British, Shortridge street, Attercliffe, Cornelius Bennett, master.
St. Paul’s (infants), Charles street, Mrs. Eliza Hulme, mistress.
St. Puul’s, Cambridge street, William R. Hulme, master; Miss Mary Brightmore, girls’ mistress; Miss Annie Banner, infants’ mistress.
St. Peter’s, Queen street, George Dyson, master; Mrs. Mary Ann Mason, mistress; Miss Fanny Saunders, infants’ mistress.
St. Philip’s, Hoyle street, Miss Emily Frances Parkin, mistress; Miss Priscilla Lee, infants’ mistress.
St. Silas, Hodgson street, George Henry Pullan, master; Mrs. Mary Pullan, mistress; Miss Sarah Elizabeth Briggs, infants’ mistress.
St. Simon’s, Matilda street, Moor, Bennett Wood, mstr.; Mrs. Jane Siddall, mistress.
St. Stephen’s, Finlay street, Dawson Edeson, master; Mrs. Emma Edeson, mistress.
Sharrow Moor (endowed), school lane, Sharrow, Henry Whitehead, master.
Union Workhouse, Rock street, William Searle White, mstr.; Miss Hannah Hunt, mistress; Miss Fanny Vaux, assistant matron.
United Methodist Free Church Christian & Educational Institute (Day & Sunday school), Tudor place, Charles Cann, master; Miss Annie Milner, mistress.
Brunswick, Hermitage lane, William Watts slack, master; Miss Martha Mabbott, infants’ mistress.
Chapel Walk, Fargate, Miss Sarah Ellen Mason, mistress.
Duke street & south street, Park, William Armitage, master; Miss Fanny Parkinson, mistress.
Ebenezer, Ebenezer street, William Thomas Pepper, mstr.; Miss Susan Hewitt, mistress.
Ellesmere Road (senior girls), Miss Annie Bridges, mistress.
Gleadless Road, Heeley (infants), Miss Dorcas Palmer, mstrs.
Petre Street, John Thorpe, master; Miss Margaret Seale, mistress.
Princes Street, Sargent Smith. master.
Ran Moor, Miss Maria Rowse, mistress Red Hill, Thomas Green, master; Miss Emily Shearstone, infants’ mistress.
Thirlwell Terrace, Heeley, William Petch, master; Mrs. Helen Petch, mistress.
Convent of Notre Dame (boarding & day), Cavendish st. Marie Durieux, lady superintendent.
St. Charles, St. Charles street, Attercliffe, Thomas McLoughlin, master; Miss Mary Midenham, mistress; Miss Annie Anderton, infants’ mistress.
St. Edmund’s, Edmund road, Chas. Fredk. Martin, master.
St. Marie's (girls & infants), St. Mary’s road, sisters of Notre Dame, teachers.
St. Vincent, White croft, Francis MacDonnell, master; sisters Mary, Josephine, Cecilia, Frances & Stanislaus, mistresses.
St. Wilfrid’s, Storeham street, Miss Martha McCree, mistress; Miss Catherine Kelly, assistant mistress.
St. William’s, Hawley croft, sisters of Notre Dame, tchrs.— Kelly's Directory of the West Riding of Yorkshire (1881)
Surnames Found in Sheffield
|Rank||Surname||No. of People||% of Population|